Archive for the ‘personal’ Category

The great beard poll…

Posted: February 27, 2010 by datechguy in fun, personal

I’ve gotten an e-mail or two commenting on my new lack of beard, some have been positive and others negative. I must confess with the exception of an old fashioned barber shave with the hot towels etc, I’ve never liked shaving, my beard is very rough and rarely shaves easy.

However my beard also grows in incredibly gray easily adding 10-15 years to my appearance. In addition my wife absolutely hates the beard.

But since life is short lets have some fun, what do you the readers think.

Here are links to two different photos to compare. Without beard (via Robert Stacy McCain), With beard. (via Miss Attila)

Update: The question has been raised why don’t I just color the beard so it isn’t gray? The answer? I don’t do color, I’m kinda old fashioned, a man is what he is.

Well the cellar is no longer floating…

Posted: February 26, 2010 by datechguy in personal
Tags: ,

…and we’ve cleaned out about half of the cellar, likely we will finish it tomorrow, it’s in pretty bad shape.

That’s going to be a most of the day affair tomorrow but with a fair sized crew it shouldn’t be an issue.

The actual damage isn’t so bad, we had some furnace work that needed doing but the price damage isn’t prohibitive. .

However there was one big scare when wife fell down the stairs. She is very sore and bruised but otherwise to the best of our knowledge unharmed. (I however lost a year of my life seeing it happen).

So blogging will be so so, tomorrow, but then again I didn’t expect to do much blogging today either but still managed to get a batch up.

We have taken a break from the Bucket brigade…

Posted: February 26, 2010 by datechguy in personal
Tags:

…basically if you were here you would have the sight of me in shorts and boots carrying buckets of water from the cellar to outside, while the wife (who has called out today) fills the buckets in the cellar and brings them up to me.

The oldest has put out a blast e-mail/facebook for extra hand, so hopefully we will have a full crew of teens/friends and over the next 36 hours have the cellar cleared of both water and stuff that will grow mold (everyone in the house but me has allergies).

The base plan is to get the water out today and get the furnace back up and running, while tomorrow we will clean out the trash and everything else that has to go. We will of course get what we can get done today. I’m hoping for a lot of the kids friends for that as we will certainly provide pizza etc.

That is the plan for now, I’ll see what blogging I can get in between.

I’m not proud so i’ll take any able body willing to help get this done.

Foot of water in the basement, blogging will be a tad light…

Posted: February 26, 2010 by datechguy in personal
Tags: ,

Went downstairs to add water to the furnace and found that nature beat me to it adding a foot of water to my entire basement.

So blogging will be lighter as I start with the buckets and the maybe grabbing a pump.

Update: It’s amazing how unimportant politics is when you have a cellar to clean out.