Archive for the ‘personal’ Category

My neighbors confound Fr. Feeney

Posted: January 2, 2010 by datechguy in catholic, personal
Tags: ,

Back in the 40’s and 50’s the Catholic Church in Boston was plagued with scandal, but of a much different nature that the recent ones.

A priest named Fr. Leonard Feeney was teaching that only Catholics could be saved. This was and is in direct contradiction to Catholic teaching. He spread these teachings through the St. Benedict’s Center.

The Church took action in 1949 to suppress this doctrine and finally after repeated attempts to get him to recant excommunicated him in 1953.

And that round about method brings us to my Jehovah Witness neighbors across the street.

Before I could even offer to help they had not only cleared their front but with a snowblower and a shovel started to clear mine. Within 5 minutes the three of us had the front all done.

When I came back from the wings I was shocked to see that my driveway (which is on another street our property is an “L” was ALSO snowblowed including a path all the way to my back stairs and door.

This is on a day when they have a million things to do, and this behavior is so typical of them that I can’t even express it.

Theologically their doctrines are not sound but I’ll tell you this, they have the basics, love of God and love of neighbor down pat.

Fr. Feeney would not have cared for them, but I’ve got to say God has blessed them.

For a clearer understanding of the points that refute Feeney see the Catechism of the Church on Baptism here and on Mortal sin here.

Had to run a batch of raw wings to a friends house where they will be cooking them (brown sugar recipe). Much to my shock the main roads are all clear and the secondary roads are all done excellently.

That doesn’t sound like Fitchburg to me but I’ll take it.

A promising sign!

Two important open house notes…

Posted: January 1, 2010 by datechguy in fun, personal
Tags:

Note #1 Storm or no storm the open house is on, if necessary we will see about college style crashing.

Note #2 The widow across the street is getting married tomorrow (congrats) so they will be needing their side of the street for reception (at home) so if at all possible park on the odd side of the street or at the Romano’s parking lot.

6 hours in…

Posted: January 1, 2010 by datechguy in doctor who, personal
Tags: ,

2010 seems pretty much the same so far, except for the continual Doctor Who Marathon until part 2 of the End of Time on BBC America.

And in an hour or so the cooking and the main cleaning begins.

I’m sure the year will get more exciting as it goes on.