Archive for the ‘personal’ Category

Splitting headache

Posted: March 13, 2009 by datechguy in personal
Tags:

One sick kid and splitting headache. Blogging will be light.

Time Lord’s have bills to pay too

Posted: March 11, 2009 by datechguy in doctor who, employment, personal
Tags: ,

Was checking out Colin Baker’s blog and found myself empathizing with this paragraph:

If ever I post blogs on this site regularly, you should worry for my well being. It will mean that I have time on my hands and am not working. And not working, while I have two daughters at University and one still at school is, believe me, bad news!

Sometimes people forget that just because someone is on TV they don’t make big money automatically.

A tale of Two letters

Posted: March 9, 2009 by datechguy in catholic, personal
Tags: ,

I mentioned the letter I sent to the Bishop of Worcester Mass. concerning my visit to Anna Maria College and the letter I received in response from Anna Maria’s president Jack P. Calareso.

I stated that I would hold off putting up my letter until I talked to him to get permission to put his response up. I’m pleased to say that he has not only given that permission AND said he would welcome questions or comments from readers about the college AND referred me to specific posts at his blog , AND sent me a copy of an article of his from the Catholic Free Press.

Anyway the letters are below the fold with a few comments after them… (more…)

The Curt Jester uses my favorite phrase in an article about another priest who needs a visit to his confessor:

The only reason to be Catholic is because it is true – that’s it.

He elaborates:

I just don’t understand what their ecclesiology can possibly mean other than just being a form of Catholic tribalism. If I believed what they believed of the Church I would denounce the Church as evil and would want no part of it. The Protestant so-called Reformers were at least honest in realizing their theology of the Church was quite at odds with the Church.

This is what drives me nuts about pseudo Catholics. When I sin I tend to know I’m sinning. It bothers me and my inability to conquer it is painful and embarrassing particularly when I’m trying to teach my kids. These guys along with people like Andrew simply re-define sin so they can have their sin without the guilt. I know I need confession, and I know I need the prayers of my fellow believers if I’m going to win the race. These guys are trying to convince themselves that they’ve already won. Madness.

But in the end it will be little comfort to me or anyone else if we all suffer the same fate. This is why we have lent to help us from that fate.