Posts Tagged ‘conservatism fights back’

Haven’t really been in the mood to blog lately but I was really taken by the idea the Judge Sotomayor was on the board of an organization that she seems to have no idea what it advocates or believes.

Any normal person who would attempt to make that case would be laughed out of that room.

It is rather amazing to see this going on. Jeff Sessions has been devastating, but unfortunately it will be ignored by the MSM.

After a night of studying Sotomayor’s testimony, Republicans will have more questions about what they view as her misrepresentation of her record. GOP senators know that Democrats are committed to confirming Sotomayor, and, with a 12-to-7 advantage in the committee and 60 votes in the full Senate, they don’t need any Republican support to get it done. But they are troubled by her answers, by her attempts to deny the clear meaning of her words from the past. And that could result in growing, rather than diminishing, Republican opposition. “We heard a lot of things that were not factually buttoned down,” the senior GOP aide said. “If that’s because she and the White House think she has the votes and doesn’t have to answer, then some Republicans are going to be troubled by that.”

I can’t see how any conservative can support this person, and unless a liberal or moderate doesn’t believe that the truth is important or actually believing what you say you believe matters this has to be a problem.

This vote should be a litmus test for conservatives, any republican who can vote for this woman after yesterday’s testimony is not worth our votes or our money.

On the 4th of July I wrote this:

Over the next 15 months there are going to be many congressional candidates all over the country who will be looking for exposure and funds. Imagine if these candidates held A fund-raising dinner featuring the most famous former vice presidential candidate there has ever been. Picture the local/national media coverage, the large crowds and the money raised.

I called it the LBJ strategy since that’s one of the methods that Johnson used to build his power base on capital hill.

Roger Stone calls it the Nixon Plan:

Palin has the most valuable commodity a Presidential candidate can have – a base. Roughly 23% of Americans and 68% of Republicans have a favorable view of Palin. She alone has this kind of intense following. She alone can fill a large hall or small stadium anywhere in Republican Country…

Palin will also be more in demand as a dinner speaker, fundraiser and campaigner than any other Republican in 2011.

And now Governor Palin confirms it herself talking to Time:

In fact, my intention is to go out and to campaign for people who can effect change all across our nation. I can’t do that from the governor’s desk no matter how careful I were to be, because we’ve got lots of double standards hitting us. Other governors probably could travel around and campaign for others and speak candidly, using their First Amendment rights to express what they feel about a person, a candidate, a position. I get hit with ethics-violation charges if I do that.

Be afraid Liberals/Democrats; be very afraid. Oh sorry you already are or you wouldn’t have spent the last 8 months trying to destroy her.

Hotair also has video. And Doctor Zero in the Green Room points out something very important:

One of the crucial factors in McCain’s defeat was voter apathy. A huge number of Bush voters couldn’t be bothered to slog to the polls for him. If Sarah Palin climbs into the ring against Barack Obama in 2012, there won’t be many empty seats in the stadium. If she hits hard enough, I don’t think very many people will care that she has “Ex-Governor of Alaska” embroidered on her boxing trunks. Politics is all about possibilities, not certainties. Even those who feel skeptical about Palin’s chances after Friday afternoon must conclude, from the passionate reaction of the public, that an awful lot of people are very interested in voting for someone like Sarah Palin… and there is no one else like Sarah Palin.

I like his campaign slogan too.

If you are CNN, MSNBC, Jim Braude, Liz Trotta, the DNC, Maureen Dowd, Paul Begala, Kos etc etc etc… you have reached the conclusion that Sarah Palin is doomed Doomed DOOMED! and that anyone who supported her must be a total loon and loser and of course nobody will want to vote for her now since she’s a crazy quitter failure. (They’d like to call her ugly too but nature, physical exertion, and people’s own eyes preclude that attack from succeeding.)

If you are a person who takes all the media says as gospel you might buy that too.

Let me let you onto one little secret. She isn’t after and doesn’t need your vote. Sarah Palin could go to your grandmother’s grave lay hands on the stone and raise her from the dead and you wouldn’t support her. We know that and she knows that.

If she decides she wants to run she has to convince Republicans to nominate her, she already has a large support base, can raise ungodly sums of money and can attract bigger crowds than all the other potential candidates combined without priming the pump a la Mitt.

She has conservatives, she knows she doesn’t have liberals, all she needs to do if nominated is convince enough moderates, and if recent numbers are correct she just needs to convince just under 1/3 of them to go over the top.

She has years to do this all over the country if she chooses. Such action will draw huge crowds and attention and expose people to not the caricature of her that you paint but the actual person who exists.

To quote Robert Stacy McCain:

Just because you don’t know what Sarah Palin is doing doesn’t mean that she doesn’t know what she’s doing.

Bingo!

…and it’s fun watching their heads explode, from the Huff post having to pull an article to the daily beast et/al.

Kausfiles is great, but as the oldest of the bloggers he would be woudn’t he?

The most fun part will be the networks forcing major media people who take this weekend off to come to work and have to cover the person they most love to hate. The Anchoress put it well yesterday:

Watching CNN & MSNBC: One gets the impression they really are dying of curiosity and desperately want to shout out, “WTF is going on here? WHO ARE WE GOING TO HATE NOW? How dare she take herself out of our sites?” 4:33PM

It also means a lot of husbands and wives of bloggers are going to be upset that their mates will be on the PC instead of on the grill, then again we bloggers might have been doing that anyway.

It will be speculation, speculation and more speculation.

I think this is going to force the media to cover every moves she makes for years, She is playing Eddie Kagle to the media’s Smiley Williams from Angel on my shoulder.

The democratic party will be going nuts too, what is her plan, what is her angle? What is the plot? It’s going to drive them all crazy and it will do the same for Mitt “Elect me because I have good posture” Romney too.

Those who say she is this and that can take a lesson from this line spoken on another subject by the Pope yesterday. I’d say it was written for Sarah Palin:

For Paul, said Benedict XVI, “following the prevailing winds and currents of the day is childish.”

Not following the prevailing winds of the day; that’s Palin all over.

Update: “Krytened” explained here.

Update 2: Via Hotair and the Radio Equalizer Rush agrees with the “it’s all speculation” business:

My own speculation is here.