Posts Tagged ‘double standards’

because they will ignore Fox when they point it out and they and other networks will not report it.

They are marketing to a niche. That niche will make excuses for stuff like this. It will not cost them anything.

I can’t help but remember a bit from Bernie Goldberg’s book Bias where they the video of a story concerning looting after a hurricane because all the people being arrested were black. The reporter was beside himself pointing out that all the police were black too as the nation being covered was predominantly black.

Well if your primary worry is not to be #1 you can make a good living off a niche market.. They will do just fine….

…unfortunately.

Update: Added links of others who commented on it.

Update 2: I still think they will get away with it. Their customer base doesn’t care.

After looking at all those civil war weapons etc yesterday I was reminded of something from Ken Burns Masterpiece The Civil War that quoted a New York Tribune at the time:

It is not too much to say that if this Massachusetts 54th had faltered when it’s trial came two hundred thousand troops that for whom it was a pioneer would never have been put into the field…But it did not falter…

Then there is Jackie Robinson:

If Robinson failed, white owners, not to mention fans, who had resisted integrating baseball, would use his performance as “evidence” to support their stance. Every time he stepped on the field, Robinson strapped his race to his back and carried it on his journey with them.

Now we have President Barak Obama. He doesn’t have the experience or service record of a Charlie Rangel, or the moderate record of a Harold Ford Jr. He doesn’t have the civil rights background of a John Louis but he is the man in the White House.

In terms of experience and qualification any of the three men I’ve just mentioned are far superior to president Obama in every respect, but to an organization like the NAACP it doesn’t matter. Barak Obama is the first black president of the United States and the first black president (no matter who he would have been) can’t be allowed to fail for fear that Americans will consider a black man unqualified for the highest office in the land. And if Ken Gladney needs to be beaten, called a Nigger and put in his place to help prevent that failure so be it.

The problem is that they are looking at President Obama and what drives him backwards. He’s not a Black man who happened to be part of the Chicago Machine. He is a Chicago Machine Pol who happens to be black and THAT makes all the difference.

The tactics he uses and the items he supports are driven by that machine background. His race doesn’t mean squat, that’s why the Gladney story isn’t all over the news. If what happened to Gladney advances his goals, like a good machine pol he’s all for it.

…doing the reporting American reporters don’t want to do:

I asked Sheehan about the fact that the press seems to have lost interest in her and her cause. “It’s strange to me that you mention it,” she said. “I haven’t stopped working. I’ve been protesting every time I can, and it’s not covered. But the one time I did get a lot of coverage was when I protested in front of George Bush’s house in Dallas in June. I don’t know what to make of it. Is the press having a honeymoon with Obama? I know the Left is.”

She is still dead wrong about the war and I won’t forgive her for the Chavez stuff but damn it she is an honest opponent.

I was at the 1st National Review reader thingy in Boston during the 2004 convention. I saw but never approached Mr. York. The more I read about his the more I regret it.

Update: Hotair notices

Barney Frank isn’t worried…

Posted: August 19, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , , ,

…about facing people in his district. Why should he?

Don’t forget back in 1990 the people in his district didn’t mind a gay prostitute operating out of Frank’s apartment. The media has almost totally ignored his part in Fannie mae and Freddie Mac.

Why would he have any sense that this is going to change now?

We always get the government we deserve, in Massachusetts doubly so.

Update: You think they would know better than to use phony doctors by now.