Posts Tagged ‘double standards’

Lets talk blame

Posted: June 1, 2009 by datechguy in oddities, opinion/news
Tags: ,

Well it seems to me that we might now ask if we are going to attempt to blame the murder of Mr. Tiller on all those who disagreed with him and protested him, by that standard are we to blame the various anti-war movements for this shooting?

Granted the details are very different but how many years have groups on the left been shouting haditha or Abu Ghraib? Shall we now blame the Maine Cat Woman for this shooting? By her standard we should.

Both those arguments have one thing in common, the attempt to repress protected speech that the other doesn’t like, and both arguments are equally absurd.

First President in US History to Have Voted to Filibuster a Supreme Court Nominee Now Hopes for Clean Process

If Jake Tapper didn’t exist what would ABC do for an honest media voice?

So while the media keeps the focus on Carrie Prejean’s tits and continue attacks on Miss California’s opposition to Gay Marriage stuff like this is going on:

Riot police violently broke up several gay rights demonstrations in Moscow on Saturday, hauling away scores of protesters hours before the Russian capital hosted a major international pop music competition.

City officials had warned they would not tolerate marches or rallies supporting the rights of gays and lesbians. Activists had targeted Moscow, which was holding the finals of the Eurovision song contest on Saturday, to press their claims that Russia officially sanctions homophobia.

Police seized gay rights protesters as well as some members of religious and nationalist groups that staged counter-demonstrations.

Via Glenn who is sure that president Obama’s administration will get to objecting as soon as Axelrod disposes of other priories.

That’s gotta leave a bruise

Posted: May 15, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

particularly when it comes from Victor Davis Hanson in a column called President Palin’s first hundred days:

The first 100 days of the Palin presidency, according to a consensus of media commentators, have proven a near disaster. Perhaps it was Palin’s scant two years’ experience in a major government position that has eroded her gravitas, or maybe it was her flirty reliance on looks and informal chit-chat. In any case, the press has had a field day, and it is hard to see how President Palin can ever recover from the Quayle/potatoe syndrome. Here is a roundup of this week’s pundit mockery.

Here is one of his examples:

WORSE THAN ‘NUCULAR’
ABC’s Katie Couric summed up the general disappointment with the president’s communication skills. “I tried to warn the American people in that interview a few years back what they would get if they voted for her. Let’s face it: She’s a walking embarrassment. I mean just count ’em up: The mayor of Wasilla thinks Austrians speak some lingo called ‘Austrian.’ Then she tries her hand at Spanish and comes up with some concoction, ‘Cinco de Cuatro.’ Next thing she’ll walk into the window of the Oval Office and expect it to open — oops, she’s already done that. No wonder that when her Teleprompter stalls, she shuts her mouth until it catches up. I’m surprised she managed to get sworn in. And did she think that tasteless ‘Special Olympics’ slur was funny? Or making fun of octogenarian Nancy Reagan’s séances? No wonder Wanda Sykes feels at home.”

Keep this in mind when Nancy Pelosi is calling the CIA a bunch of liars and only her local paper and the Washington Post consider it front page news.