Posts Tagged ‘double standards’

Via Israellycool Rowan Laxton a high-ranking British diplomat. Who made the big mistake:

Stunned staff and gym members allegedly heard him shout: ‘F**king Israelis, f**king Jews’. It is alleged he also said Israeli soldiers should be ‘wiped off the face of the earth’.

His rant reportedly continued even after he was approached by other gym users.

After a complaint was made to police, Mr Laxton was arrested for inciting religious hatred through threatening words and behaviour and bailed until late next month.

His big mistake was not saying publicly what a lot of Europeans actually think. At the rate things are going hated of Jews is going to outstrip Soccer as the favorite sport of Europe. His mistake was saying it while being a white European, not a Muslim.

If he had converted he might have had a chance to avoid charges but believe me if he was not a white European the other people in that Gym would have been too afraid to say a word.

That’s a real horrible thing to say, what’s much more horrible is it is true.

I’m not a fan of speech laws, I think this idiot should have the right to be as much of an idiot as he wants but if you are going to have stuff like this, enforce it on everyone.

Illegal Aliens. The Mafia parallel

Posted: February 9, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

Can you find a parallel between illegal aliens and the mafia? I see one that should exist.

One things you notice about mafia or any large organization is the acceptance of the threat of organized crime and jail. This is one of the dangers of the job. The mafia guys all know that arrest and jail comes with the turf, they try to avoid it but they know that it is the price for the money.

It’s not a source of whining it is the way it is.

One of the things that hit me about illegal immigration and angers me is the idea that the risk of arrest and deportation is unfair. That we are somehow wrong in enforcing the existing laws.

I’ll say this bluntly: If I was in Mexico and had kids I’d do everything i could by hook or crook to get here. If I had a pregnant wife I’d do all I could to get my kid born in the US and be a US citizen. Particularly with the violence and drug wars that are going on now. The laws of the US be damned! I’d also take advantage of anything or anyone that kept me here too. I don’ blame them.

But likewise they shouldn’t blame us for having and enforcing the laws. This is part of the risk. If you are going to do this don’t expect us to be celebrating you for breaking the law. Don’t expect bailout money and don’t expect things to change at home when people run away from it either.

If you want the rewards then you have to accept the risks that come with it.

Update: Was this post timely or what:

An Arizona man who has waged a 10-year campaign to stop a flood of illegal immigrants from crossing his property is being sued by 16 Mexican nationals who accuse him of conspiring to violate their civil rights when he stopped them at gunpoint on his ranch on the U.S.-Mexico border.

Roger Barnett, 64, began rounding up illegal immigrants in 1998 and turning them over to the U.S. Border Patrol, he said, after they destroyed his property, killed his calves and broke into his home.

What a crock.

Funny how the Axis of Evil countries…

Posted: February 9, 2009 by datechguy in internet/free speech
Tags: ,

…always seem to be where stuff like this happens:

4 Iranian bloggers will receive a total of 124 lashes and 8 and a half years in jail for “spreading lies” and “propaganda against the regime” among other charges.

I’m sure the Obama administration will speak out against this crime against free speech on the internet any moment now, anyone , anyone? Bueller?

The talking point: Hypocrites

Posted: February 9, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: ,

It looks like the new talking point is that the GOP are hypocrites and have to business being critical of the bill.

Note that the argument is not that they are wrong it is now all about the spending of the last 8 years. Lets ignore the fact that the Fannie Mae mess is a wholly owned subsidy of the Democratic party.

Lets ignore the money for Acorn

A multi-million dollar liberal non-profit activist conglomerate reportedly under federal investigation may get a big piece of the economic recovery stimulus pie now under consideration by Congress.

It’s the Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now – the infamous ACORN.

That’s right. ACORN, the activist group that has been implicated in voter fraud and registration deception in at least 14 states may get the financial bailout it needs to pull off another round of schemes in the next election season.

Or that the Tarp money has gone God knows where:

“What remains almost entirely opaque, however, is what has been done with the TARP money,” Barofsky says in January letter to Sen. Christopher Dodd, D-Conn., chairman of the Senate Banking Committee. “If the American taxpayer is to be expected to fund this extraordinary effort to stabilize the financial system, it is not unreasonable that the public and its representatives in Congress have some understanding as to how those funds have been used by the recipients.”

Ignore all of this; Lets just remember that the GOP spent money poorly so this bill should pass. If we fall for this we deserve everything we get out of it.