Posts Tagged ‘double standards’

That’s not funny!

Posted: February 8, 2009 by datechguy in Blame Bush, fun
Tags: ,

Comedy is hard, particular when your man is in power:

The old ways are dying hard. Colbert went into the vaults, all the way back to 2000, for a Bush/Gore joke. Jon Stewart did a Bush joke, as well. Ferguson set a record for Day 15; going way last century with a Bill Clinton joke (Clinton will lead the investigation into the accidental showing of porn during the Super Bowl). Stewart and Leno did Joe the Plumber jokes, Letterman did a couple Dick Cheney jokes and a Sarah Palin joke.

You can hear the cricket’s chirp about the president but his cabinet has got a few hits:

The tax situation has been a godsend to Late Night writers. Now they can make fun of the administration without having to actually go after Him. Six out of seven hosts (Kimmel abstaining) found humor in the tax problems of Obama appointments. The funniest was Conan, who suggested the stimulus package could be cut by $50 billion if Obama’s cabinet just paid their taxes.

And of course there is Biden the gift that keeps on giving.

I tend to agree between the domestic policy stimulus bill the rest of the world finding us an easy mark there isn’t very much funny going on.

Hey this is what we voted for we have it coming.

Via LGF and Mere Rhetoric we find out why Peres’ speech is so important:

Human rights groups argued Wednesday that a detailed probe into Hamas’s firing of Kassam rockets at Israeli communities is not necessary, because it constitutes such a “blatant” war crime. By contrast, Israel’s actions are more complex, and therefore do require such investigation, they said.

With Israel it is much more complicated apparently;

“With Israel things are more complicated because Israel states it does not deliberately target civilians and that it safeguards them. With Israel, you have to investigate each specific incident because even if a civilian is killed in an attack, it doesn’t mean its necessarily a war crime.”

Hamas however says not so fast:

Hamas spokesman Fawzi Barhoum was quoted by AP Wednesday as saying Hamas attacks on southern Israel towns are “a means of self-defense.” “Those are not civilians. They are all soldiers,” Barhoum said of the residents of southern Israel. “We are firing at places that bring us the F-16s, the warplanes and the tanks.”

But Micha’eli dismissed Barhoum’s statements as absurd. “No credible human rights law expert would accept that excuse,” she added.

This explains why they are not investigated but it doesn’t explain why they are not condemned or protested. The less that these guys make of this stuff the more they are ignored and forgotten. If these “blatant” crimes are ignored by the NGO’s then as far as the world community is concerned they don’t exist.

I mentioned this morning while Morning Joe blogging that I didn’t care for Andrea Mitchell. Its for reasons like this:

During MSNBC’s live coverage on Tuesday of the sudden resignation of Health and Human Services nominee Tom Daschle, reporter Andrea Mitchell suggested to Republican Senator Jim DeMint that the American public will see this as the GOP having “brought him [Daschle] down.” The Democratic nominee resigned over a growing controversy which revealed that the former Senate majority leader owed $140,000 in back taxes. (He has since paid them.) Mitchell sympathetically described talking to the ex-senator: “I just got off the phone with Tom Daschle. And it was an emotional conversation. He was clearly- it sounded as though he were tearful, overwrought.”

So let me get this straight. Tom “Tax cheats should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law” Daschle didn’t pay 140k in back taxes. The GOP objects and he ends up withdrawing and this is a BAD thing?

I certainly hope the GOP gets blamed for this.

Update: Added the missing “l” and Doris Kearns Goodwin is in that turf today.

These are untapped revenue streams…

Posted: February 3, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

…not cabinet posts.

Earlier Tuesday, Nancy Killefer withdrew as nominee to be the first chief performance officer for the federal government. Her threat to withdraw was first reported by NBC News. The White House later released her letter to the president, which in part stated: “I recognize that your agenda and the duties facing your Chief Performance Officer are urgent. I have also come to realize in the current environment that my personal tax issue of D.C. unemployment tax could be used to create exactly the kind of distraction and delay those duties must avoid.

With Daschle’s withdrawal this gives the Obama administration two new chances to generate revineue for the treasury without raising any new taxes. There must be more Democratic deadbeats out there. He wasted an opportunity with the Gregg nomination. No unpaid taxes. Cripes we are on a roll here.

Hotair asks a relevant question.

Follow the timeline here. Daschle knew he had a tax problem last June; Geithner knew he had a tax problem no later than November. Killefer’s problem dates to 2005. Point being, none of this came as any eleventh-hour surprise to Obama’s vetters … and yet all three were nominated anyway.

Because they are trying to generate revenue streams. And you thought scrappleface was just making a funny. More importantly if John McCain won would any of that money have been paid?