Posts Tagged ‘double standards’

There are two Americas, the one that pays taxes and the one that doesn’t.

What is it with the Obama administration and tax cheats? First Obama puts a tax delinquent in charge of the IRS, and then he nominates another revenue renegade to be his secretary of Health and Human Services. Sure, he’s against tax cuts for the rich, but rich Democrats who ignore their taxes are welcome in his cabinet.

As always we get the government we deserve and if we as Americans accept this then its our own fault. On a political level if the republicans can’t exploit this, biased media or no, then we have no business in politics.

Is anyone really surprised about this:

They said Obama, who pledged during the campaign to overturn the law, does not want to ask lawmakers to do so until the military has completed a comprehensive assessment of the impact that such a move would have on military discipline. Then, the president hopes to be able to make a case to members of both parties that overturning the 1993 law would be in the best interest of national security.

After all nobody who has advocated repeal has studied this for 15 years. This is so phony but not as phony as the issue itself. With control of congress the Democrats could have repealed this two years ago if they choose, but they were afraid of the elections and they and colleges loved the issue as a club to use against ROTC. Via Glenn and yes the lack of speed is deliberate.

Promoting this from this post’s comments:

Ivan says I am wrong about Rendition and writes:

Datechguy,

Read the order:

” “1. No State Party shall expel, return (“refouler”) or extradite a person to another State where there are substantial grounds for believing that he would be in danger of being subjected to torture.

2. For the purpose of determining whether there are such grounds, the competent authorities shall take into account all relevant considerations including, where applicable, the existence in the State concerned of a consistent pattern of gross, flagrant or mass violations of human rights.”

It’s pretty clear. And this is pretty much a 180 from the bush administration when we extradited prisoners to places like Egypt and Jordan to be tortured. Even national review and glenn reynolds has had to backtrack a bit on this:

First: Looking at both NRO and Instapundit, NRO mentions the other article while Instapundit says “possibly” not much of a retraction if any.

Second: Reading what you have it would seem to me that the law mandates things be examined but the people doing the stuff decide what weight to give stuff. Plenty of room for interpretation.

Third: This is an administration made of of ex Bill “depends on what the meaning of the word is is” Clinton people. I’m sure they will interpret words by their clear meaning.

Fourth: You have an administration that in only 3 weeks has appointed a Treasury secretary that doesn’t pay its taxes. Whose answer to another potential cabinet officer with similar issues is “Nobody’s Perfect” and who deliberately disabled fraud prevention measures on contributions. Yeah they’re going to respect the law as written.

Fifth: You already have human rights groups twisting into pretzels to defend him and a protective media. Who is going to pursue this stuff if it happens? Why would this administration have any fear of it?

Sixth: Without such pressure how long will it take such cases even if brought to make it through the courts?

Your interpretation isn’t quite the move the mountain into the sea level but in my opinion it isn’t far off.

Hey he could prove me wrong, we’ll see.

Update:
Dissenting Justice has my back:

After reviewing much of the pro-rendition liberal pushback, I have collected my thoughts and written a response. Here’s a summary: the liberal defense is strained, dishonest, surprisingly nuanced, and contrary to true progressive politics because it elevates “party” over principle.

Over to you Ivan.

Update: Talk left agrees with Ivan.

I wonder why

Posted: February 2, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news, personal
Tags: ,

For reasons that are beyond me I not motivated to work on my taxes. Considering the fine job our chief tax cheat Secretary of the Treasury is doing, the motivation provided by Sen Daschle and the leadership shown by the administration on simulating the economy I can’t see why.

Update: This might have something to do with it too.

Update 2: Nobody’s Perfect? Are these guys that lame?