Posts Tagged ‘double standards’

Hey lets bash what we don’t understand

Posted: January 26, 2009 by datechguy in catholic
Tags: , ,

The press and many blogs have gotten a lot of mileage out of going after the Pope for including Bishop Williamson among the 4 Bishops excommunication was lifted this week.

This guy Williamson is without question a piece of work as Charles Johnson points out he’s both a holocaust denier and a 9/11 truther. He is without a doubt a Nelson award winner.

However those people crying bloody murder know nothing about the Society of St. Pius X, the background concerning excommunication (warning this link is VERY dry) or even what it means. I give Johnson credit for pointing out that the removal of Excommunication doesn’t re-instate him as a bishop but the idea that the Pope is not going to do something toward reuniting tens of thousands of Catholics to the church because one particular Bishop has idiot ideas on non church matters doesn’t wash.

If you want some commentary from people who actually know what all this means check out here here and here and here.

Lifting excommunication gives access to legitimate sacraments. A Catholic knows how important this is. It would literally be necessary for a person to be on the point of death to even receive absolution. If the successor of Peter chooses to loose that danger to their souls its not for anyone else to deny it.

In real terms the idea that a guy like Williamson should not be able to have his excommunication revoked while people like Pelosi, Biden, Kerry, Cuomo and the Kennedy’s and many other Catholic pols who have actively sought to promote abortion and facilitated it doesn’t wash. Any rant from Andrew “I’m a catholic in good standing but I’m in a Gay marriage and the church is evil in it’s beliefs.” Sullivan just shatters the irony meter.

And it looks like there has already been interesting payoffs for the Pope on this

Bishop Bernard Fellay, head of the Society of St Pius X and, as of today, no longer excommunicated, has responded to the Pope’s gesture in the following letter. In it, he describes Benedict XVI as “benevolent” and “courageous”.

I’m beginning to think that the Pope’s gamble will pay off. Sources close to the SSPX tell me that Bishop Williamson has infuriated his episcopal colleagues with his venomous and stupid rant about the Holocaust – but when will they condemn him publicly? Surely they cannot hope to have their suspensions lifted until they have done so.

In fact it has already started:

The head of the Society of St. Pius X has distanced the traditionalist group from statements by Bishop Richard Williamson questioning the reality of the Holocaust. In an interview with the Swiss journal Le Temps, Bishop Bernard Fellay said that he “deplores the fact that a bishop has given the impression of implicating the Society with a viewpoint that is absolutely not ours.”

This combined with moves by the church condemning his statements are likely to put Williamson in a position where he has to publicly rejected by the bishops and faithful of the society to get full communion back. It will also force the society to back up the Church if it chooses to place any sanction on him for his public statements. The Society being forced to backup a church sanction is an enviable place for the Vatican to be.

I suggest keep an eye on Damian Thompson’s blog who is all over it.

UPDATE: Great summery at NRO here.

UPDATE 2: Atlas Shrugs is a fine anti Jihad site and the Simon Wiesenthal Center does good work, but Catholic Theologians they’re not. Isn’t this the same person in a blog war with Charles Johnson over his assertion that Vlaams Belang is too closely related to fascist right groups? (BTW I don’t have a problem with either Geller’s or Johnson’s positions as they are both in my opinion decisions of conscience)

It would seem to me that if the Vatican came down on him before the excommunication he could tut tut it away crying discrimination against the St. Pius X society. He might have even gotten reluctant support from the other three Bishops and members of the society. Instead the exact opposite has happened, now the Vatican has power to put pressure not only on him but the Society has publicly condemned his statements. I suspect a lot more of this to come. This Pope is a lot smarter than anyone gives him credit and nobody will give him any.

Update: BINGO!

The press and Obama

Posted: January 26, 2009 by datechguy in Blame Bush, opinion/news
Tags: , ,

Nordlinger’s column and the new Blame Bush catagory has prompted me to promote this from comments:

As far as the press goes I actually think that there is a chance that the worm might turn on this one. This president has already made it clear that he is above the press by his actions. It is as if he is royalty and bestowing his favors on his faithful subjects. I can’t believe that the members of the press are going to be willing to take this treatment for long. Oh they will keep their mouth’s shut for a while. Their resentment will be whispered and building, but it will take only one prominent reporter on the left to say it aloud and it will come pouring out. I actually have an opinion as to which two reporters/opinion journalists will do it. But I’m keeping that to myself for now.

It will be hard for the press to re-direct their anger to conservatives when we have so little power. Of course as we get nearer to an election their dislike of us may override their abuse, just like the fear of being alone will sometimes keep an abused woman with a violent husband. I think it can’t last for the full four years but it might make it through two. I could be wrong of course. We will see.

The whitehouse will use the Blame Bush stratagem to deflect this when it comes but I think it will come.

Why does this not surprise me?

Posted: January 26, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags:

As I recall Mark Foley text messages resulted not only in resignation but was as far as the media was concerned THE scandal of the 2006 election.

Too bad for Foley he didn’t represent Portland Ore:

In a surprise move (not), Democratic gay mayor Sam Adams told reporters this weekend that he would not step down after lying about having sex with a teen intern who was 17 when they first met.

Hey it’s not like he was TEXTING!

Two points here first in general we’ve already seen that particularly on the federal level scandal is not grounds for any democrat to resign, (Dodd, Rangel, Jefferson and of course Blago), hell we’ve had the president that violation of federal tax laws are not grounds to keep someone out of the office of Tresurary Secretary. I would say if a democrat resigned due to scandal it (Spitzer) THAT would be the surprise.

In particular we’ve already have the precedent that sex with an intern and lying about it are not grounds for removal for office and the precedent that any kind of Gay illicit sexual activity when done by a democrat is not grounds for resignation (Studds and Frank in Massachusetts) unless directly related to security (McGreevey remember was involved like Blago in pay for play he “came out” to play the discrimination card).

The bottom line is gay or straight this is not acceptable behavior for a public official, but if the people of Portland decide that it is not a big deal, it’s their mayor and its on them.

Lovers Tiff

Posted: January 24, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

Bernie Goldberg looks at the dust-up concerning the press DARING to ask Obama questions during a visit. The comments he got from a print reporter on the subject are telling:

As a print reporter who covered the Bush White House told me: When a Republican president takes office reporters think they’re self-appointed prosecutors. But no one wants to prosecute Nelson Mandela. And Obama is a lot more like Mandela, to a lot of reporters, than he is to some run-of-the-mill liberal like Dick Durbin. Let’s just call Obama’s little tiff with the press a lovers’ quarrel.

Mandela? Mandela? Please give me a break. What planet are these people on?

Goldberg should know about this, when it comes to the slobbering love affair between Obama and the media he wrote the book; Literally.

Still I can’t complain it gives another reason to include a Monty Python Clip:

Plus it led to an amazing discovery that I will detail in my next post.