Posts Tagged ‘history’

8 of our guys killed…

Posted: October 5, 2009 by datechguy in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

…in a battle in the war in Afghanistan.

You know I wonder how many of the other guys were killed?

Remember the battle of Mogadishu? The enemy lost anywhere from 10 to 60 times dead as we did, and that is a loss?

You know it would be nice if the media wouldn’t play cheerleader against our army, but then again we made fun of the president over the Olympics so I guess we’re even.

Just a thought. The number of Americans killed in that battle is the same number that were killed at Lexington Green in April of 1775. If the same media and pols where in charge at that time Joe Scarborough would be in trouble for his Queen on Trampoline line this morning and we would be flying the Union Jack over our public buildings.

Update: It’s the top story at Michelle’s

Just across the river and the bridge that spans from where I live is Water Street. It’s was once the Italian section of town known as “The Patch”. It is also the place where there are three Catholic Churches all within 600 yards of each other. The First is Immaculate Conception parish located right on the river and one of the most beautiful churches in the area. The second is St. Bernards, the oldest Catholic Church in Fitchburg. The Third is my parish St. Anthony di Padua, which just celebrated its 100th anniversary last year and is still about 50% made up of the children and grandchildren of the Italian Americans who founded it.

As you can see from the google map link barely 1/2 a mile separates the three.

With three parishes so close it is VERY likely that at least one and more likely two of us will get the chop with next years parish closing. Immaculate Conception buries more people than they baptize so it doesn’t look good for them.

St. Anthony’s & St. Bernard’s morning mass are at 7 a.m., due to the schedules of the wife and kids 7 a.m. is more tricky for me so for the indulgence I mentioned yesterday I went to Immaculate Conception as their thrice weekly morning mass is at 8:15.

A few weeks ago someone mentioned to me that they offer the mass in Latin there. I’m 46 so I have no living memory of it. (My mother tells me St. Anthony went to English before I was born. I’ve always wanted to attend one. It is a connection to centuries of Catholic tradition and history, both of my boys either took or are taking Latin in high school and frankly I’m curious.

So today after earning the Plenary indulgence for the Mother in law (if that doesn’t get you in her good graces nothing will) I asked the priest if the Latin Mass was offered. (I know the web site says so but it looks like that web site hasn’t been touched since the day it went up). To my surprise Fr. Thien confirmed it.

And apparently if I had been paying more attention I would have known it already. Fr. Z’s blog mentioned it here, and commented on the first Latin mass celebrated in June:

It is one thing to have A MASS celebrated, even at a convenient time and place. It is entirely another to have the whole life of a parish and access to all the sacraments with the older forms – in a community of people who have the same aspirations – opened up for you.

La Solette Journey Covered it as well.:

Father will hear confessions at 7:30am before Mass, and the Rosary will be prayed aloud at that time. Father will also hold spiritual conferences and traditional devotions, and administer the Sacraments according to the Extraordinary Form of the Roman Rite.

Hmmm his name is Melanson, I used to live near a bunch of Melansons when I was 5 years old.

Ad Majorem Dei Gloriem covered it too:

“I think it’s fair to call this the beginning of the restoration of the immemorial Holy Mass codified by St. Pius V to the church of the Immaculate Conception. I’m glad to say that our (my family’s) hopes were high, but we were entirely unprepared for the palpably sacred ambience that persisted in the church throughout the sacred liturgy and which accompanied us right out the door and into the church hall (where I spent most of my time talking about the Mass, I think). It brought back a flood of memories of the best days I’d seen when I was a boy and the blessed years we had the privilege of going to Mass at Holy Trinity in Boston (where our two girls were baptized). I had the distinct impression that Father, the altar servers, and the choir were actually praying (not acting out roles) as they solemnly carried out their offices with unaffected reverence.(emphasis mine)

That is the single most powerful statement that I’ve ever heard said about a mass. If that is not a reason to attend I’d like to know what is.

Ironically I would not have been able to attend that first mass even if I knew about it since I’m involved in a monthly parish activity at St. Anthonys that takes up my mornings on the last Sunday each month (all are invited).

While writing this post I called my 84 year old mother and told her about it, she mentioned how when she was younger everyone wanted it in English because the didn’t want to learn Latin but is very interested in going this week. She also reminded me of the fact that our pastor will be leaving for Italy for a week starting Friday and neither her nor my boys are serving this month.

If that’s not a sign I don’t know what is, so I think I’ll be attending Immaculate Conception this week and might consider going once a month for the Latin Mass.

This is a lesson. I should pay more attention to my own neighborhood instead of always concerning myself with the events of the world or the blogoisphere.

From a post on Jan 20th:

I remember Glenn Reynolds saying that the best part of the Democrats taking power is they will suddenly be willing to support the war on terror. Lets hope he is right.

I guess this was wrong as we see the cut and run left of the Bush administration suddenly deciding that Afghanistan is no longer the “good war”.

We are seeing posts like this:

No problem! The policy makers will find some way to get them there. Why at all send them to Afghanistan to die, why not recreate some ops. in mid-Manhattan and send them to their grave Mr. McChrystal? Or would that not be considered as dying for honor?

The title of that post was Wanted 40,000 more to die in Afghanistan is itself dishonest, but I don’t expect better.

It’s is just a bunch of Neo-cons:

Ignoring the overwhelming Democratic-voter opposition to the Afghanistan war threatens to cost Barack Obama the support of young people and anti-war voters who helped make him president. It could destroy any possibility of achieving his robust domestic agenda as well. President Obama needs an exit strategy instead of an escalation strategy.

It’s a graveyard I tell you:

From the time of Alexander the Great and Genghis Khan to the British, Soviets and now the US and NATO, Afghanistan’s poppy fields, barren plains and rugged mountains are filled with the ghosts and treasuries of would-be conquerors. Sooner or later, America, Canada and NATO will meet the same dismal fate as everyone who went before them.

On Morning Joe they are united in calling it Vietnam.

And of course there is Newsweek:

One of history’s enduring lessons is that Afghans don’t appreciate it when outsiders tell them how to govern their affairs—just ask the British or the Soviets. U.S. success in overthrowing the Taliban seemed to suggest this lesson no longer applied, at least to Americans. That quickly proved an illusion.

I remember when liberal blogs were even insulted by the suggestion that they advocated withdrawal:

Yesterday on The O’Reilly Factor, former administration official Dan Senor told guest host John Kasich that “many leftist centered activists, political activists” — such as MoveOn.org — believe “we would be better off” if the United States withdrew from Afghanistan.

But when pressed by Kasich, Senor couldn’t name any progressives who have advocated pulling out from Afghanistan and admitted that MoveOn.org has called for withdrawal from Iraq, not Afghanistan.

Doesn’t anyone remember what democrats were saying just one year ago?

Al Qaeda in Afghanistan:

Obama on Afghanistan

During the Debates:

Ya think we (as in the country) might have bought a candidate and a party that might not have meant what they said?

We always get the government we deserve

…well maybe groupie is the wrong word but ya gotta love it when he says something like this:

I remember wanting to ask Rep. Charles Rangel a question, years ago: Whom do you consider the better man: Ronald Reagan or Fidel Castro? (At the time, Rangel was pounding Reagan as a racist villain, basically, and, of course, Rangel has long been one of Castro’s best friends and biggest defenders in the American political establishment.) In fact, I might like to ask him still . . .

Of course, you could ask José Serrano, Maxine Waters, Chris Dodd — a million of them.

I propose a test: substitute Chavez for Castro and ask this of every prominent liberal celebrity who visits him. (or throw in the Castro question too) This question should be a Sine qua non for any press coverage.