Posts Tagged ‘history’

Avalon Hill’s Republic of Rome: Amazon Review

Posted: August 25, 2009 by datechguy in gaming, hobbies
Tags: ,

republicofrome My review of the Classic Avalon Hill Boardgame Republic of Rome is available on Amazon.com Here.

I simply can’t recommend this game enough particularly if you are a political junkie on either the right or the left. If possible try to play it with a mixed group like I do and watch the factions move and act.

I understand there will be a new version coming out sometime soon. I’m sure they will simplify the rules a bit but I hope they keep the spirit of the game. This review suggests so. But why take chances, if you can get the original one?

Let’s look back at some early posts I did over the first three months of the blog. I’m going to be busy today so it’s a quick filler post thing:

Back in December the Jammie Wearing Fool predicted that the birth of Bristol Palin’s son would be the death Knell of the Trig Truther Movement, at the time I said this:

You have to think of people who follow conspiratorial type stuff as people following a religion. Excuses will be followed by clarifications but in the end the belief will not be dropped, remember William Miller and the 2nd coming.

The only thing that will be missing is the tax-exempt status. (Believe me the collection plate WILL exist).

The other McCain, Dan Riehl and Aaron Gardner prove me almost totally right but Anne Briggs proves the last sentence wrong as she didn’t use her Trig Truther fame to improve the Amazon Rankings of the book (#2,761,947 as of this morning). No collection plate there.

Speaking of a collection plate back in January I did a post on the New Quarter Sovereign coin offered by the British Royal mint and said this:

The glory of the British Empire is long past but if you want a chance to get something to remember it by the quarter sovereign is a solid and inexpensive choice. The mint is getting £47.95 each for them at the current exchange rate that works out to around $63 each for a gold coin in it’s first year of issue.

I grabbed 3 since that’s all I can afford, If I had a job I’d grab 10.

In case you forgot the design:

Same design used for all size sovereigns

Same design used for all size sovereigns

Not only has gold gone up and the Royal Mint raised its price to £65 but the exchange rathttps://datechguy.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.phpe is now favoring the pound so I hope you jumped on the coin when you had a chance. It’s still worth getting as a first year issue gold coin.

I posted quite a bit about Israel going into Gaza. I mentioned this about the cease fire:

It is now up to the Palestinians are they going to stop the rockets or are they going to go through all of this again. That is when we will know if the war is actually over or not. It also remains to be seen if Israel is going to be willing to go back in during an Obama administration.

Well looking at the blog The Muqata which live blogged the war along with Israellycool looking under the category “Qassam Rockets” there is not an entry newer than Jan 18th that mentions a launch. The section under “Gaza” doesn’t either.

It looks like the war is over, but once the Palestinians are done killing each other I’m sure they’ll manage to try again.

Also in January I decided I arrived because of an increase in Spam. I’ve actually had a drop in spam lately but I’ve had an increase in comments so I guess a few more people are reading me, if you are thanks.

Considering the political landscape this post is Ironic, I hit Marc Ambinder over suggesting it was a bad idea for Republicans to vote against the stimulus bill due to the 70% Obama approval. I said this:

This is the same advice that might have been given to republicans in the first two years of the Clinton administration. Not taking it gave them control of the house for the first time in 40 years.

Anyone who thinks a vulnerable republican congressman who goes along with this plan will survive a primary challenge is silly. Remember our democrat friends were the same ones who told us McCain was the man to win with.

Bold prediction time: Anyone who thinks Obama will have approval ratings in the 60’s in two years is dead wrong. They will not be above 50%. It would not surprise me to see his ratings in the low 40’s.

That one is looking pretty good (I even used the battered wife example later in the post that Glenn uses today) and the Bold prediction is not looking so bold these days. One note, the first two sentences were in a block quote, I either missed the link or I accidentally put it in the block. I can’t find the quote elsewhere online so it might be mine but I should be more careful.

Another post that looks like it could have gone up this week is this one:

The question then is why? Why make the big deal, and why the big fuss over republican votes when the democrats have the power and the votes? Easy.

They want cover, they want power but not responsibility. They want someone to blame. They remember 1994 and the Clinton Tax increase. They also know that this country is still a 51-49 country and that the blue dogs in the house are not going to keep their seats if they go too far left.

Mark my words when things get worse (they will) the congress will get worried. In 2010 with the recovery hasn’t taken place (much too soon) Democrats in congress will be trying to deflect blame and ask for patience.

Remove the word “stimulus” and replace it withhealthcare” and it could go up now.

Several “linked” posts have particular relevance today. I promoted something from comments:

his president has already made it clear that he is above the press by his actions. It is as if he is royalty and bestowing his favors on his faithful subjects. I can’t believe that the members of the press are going to be willing to take this treatment for long. Oh they will keep their mouth’s shut for a while. Their resentment will be whispered and building, but it will take only one prominent reporter on the left to say it aloud and it will come pouring out. I actually have an opinion as to which two reporters/opinion journalists will do it. But I’m keeping that to myself for now.

It will be hard for the press to re-direct their anger to conservatives when we have so little power.

I hate to admit it but I totally forgot who those reporters were, but we have seen some of this from the base and from reporters, but it is the next line that mattered:

The whitehouse will use the Blame Bush stratagem to deflect this when it comes but I think it will come.

Ok so the White house is having trouble with their base, but I didn’t think they would be so desperate to mollify the base to risk the consequences mentioned in these two posts:

The democrats are all talk and smoke on this subject. They will try to go though some motions to mollify their guys but there is no way at all they will pursue this. It is a high risk move at a time or crisis with the only upside being among fanatics.

My explanation is here, my money quotes:

You can take this to the bank: Any successful attack on American soil during an Obama administration is going to be wholly owned by not only that administration but the Democratic party…

…Any kind of trials will be drawn out affairs and would likely be still going on during a successful attack. How much worse will it be for those who failed to protect the country if those who succeeded in protecting the nation are on trial during their failure?

It was my opinion at the time that the President would offer the pardons as he cares not what the press think. From what I’ve seen about the way the press and the news has been treating not only the incoming president but the outgoing crew even in his last days, I think the smirk is going to win. He is savvy enough to know what this would do to the Democrats they will be forced to either engage their far left base or take the risk I said above. These people won’t do it and it they did it would destroy them. It will be his final victory against them.

All the risks still exist, I think this is sheer panic to change the subject. He has fallen into the final trap laid by George W. Bush.

It was interesting reading those old posts, I’ll do it again when I hit the 1000 post mark or my year anniversary.

UPDATE: I looked at the wrong column, it was 900 comments. Pass me my idiot mittens.

What is going on in healthcare illustrates the real difference between the Democratic and Republican Caucus.

The Republican Caucus is more homogeneous. There may be individual members with particular opinions or agendas but as a rule it is easier to hold together. They are united by a common set of basic values. That doesn’t mean they won’t violate them easily (as has been amply demonstrated) but the A smaller majority of republicans are can act is a single direction because they generally look in a single direction.

The Democratic Caucus is actually a conglomeration of many different groups, based on race, sexual preference, and others, quite a few of the anti-anti’s other groups from environmentalists, feminists, to pacifists, to socialists et /al.

The problem here is that some of these groups are by nature diametrically opposite of one other, For example the democrats for reasons I still can’t explain tend to get 90% of the black vote, but that same community is highly religious and mostly protestant. To expect that they were going to support Gay Marriage in California was very funny, but of course the left KNEW this but didn’t dare attack a member of the grand coalition so instead the Mormons and little old ladies with crosses were the target.

As the Hispanic (do the descendants of the former Spanish colonies of South America actually call themselves “Hispanic” or is that another term made up by us?) community increases democrats hope to gain votes, but these are also VERY Catholic people, a lot of them are better Catholics then what we have here now. They also come from a society that still celebrates the Macho. (have you every actually WATCHED Spanish language TV? Feminists would be marching in the streets over it if that was the fare on ABC, NBC, CBS et/al. It’s spike TV on steroids!)

Given this situation it is no wonder that democrats can’t get a bill out on their own. The various caucus have different beliefs, different agendas and most importantly different voting bases.

The actual fact is that the people in the safest districts are the biggest advocates of health care “reform” so they have the least to lose except in a primary. The problem is the leadership knows that a primary challenge in those districts will likely not hurt democratic prospects there.

They DO know that in the blue dog districts those seats ARE at risk, particularly in 2010 since the easiest time to unseat an incumbent is in their first bid for re-election.

Do you think the leadership is going to risk their Chairmanships in the house over this? I think not.

Ran into a friend of mine who teaches history and current events in a town nearby. We were talking, he is already back to school and the kids come back in a week.

I asked him if he ever heard of Ken Gladeny. He hadn’t.

I told him the story he was shocked.

Update: But they’re still on top of the Mai-Lai Massacre.

If I know him the way I think I know him, (and I’ve known him for 20+ years) he is going to look up the information and verify it. Once he is sure that it is legit I suspect it will show up in a classroom sometime next month.

Slowly and surely the word is going to get out and the reaction against the media for not reporting this is going to dwarf the actual outrage of the act.