Posts Tagged ‘irony’

…on the below the fold story.

I laughed my head off. That caption is perfect and not because of the “Negro” business.

Nothing like great comedy to start a day.

…Al Sharpton and a parade of democrats defending Harry Reid and/or ignoring Bill Clinton on a show that only exists because those same people attacked a shock jock for the same thing.

Sherlock Holmes a matter of perspective…

Posted: December 26, 2009 by datechguy in oddities
Tags: , , ,

Take a look at this excerpt from Loder’s review of the new movie:

Ritchie’s pandering to the action audience (an agenda no doubt reinforced by knock-’em-dead producer Joel Silver) strips Holmes’ world of its style. The director and his production designer, Sarah Greenwood, have taken considerable pains to conjure the dark cobbled streets and plush interiors of Victorian London — as shot by Philippe Rousselot, this is often a great-looking movie. But the sense of prickly wit and gracious restraint that was translated to the screen so well by the old Holmes films — with their indelible performances by Basil Rathbone and Nigel Bruce as Holmes and Watson — is buried in the over-amped frenzy of this new picture. The only real mystery here is how anyone involved could have thought that trashing such a classic would be a cool idea.

And now take a look at this quote from Nigel Bruce’s via IMDB concerning the classic Holmes movies he made with Basil Rathbone:

The stories we did were modernised but the characters of the famous detective and his biographer were kept more or less as originally written by Conan Doyle. Watson, however, in the films was made much more of a ‘comic’ character than he ever was in the books. This was with the object of introducing a little light relief. The doctor, as I played him, was a complete stooge for his brilliant friend and one whose intelligence was almost negligible. Many of the lovers of Conan Doyle must have been shocked, not by this caricature of the famous doctor but by seeing the great detective alighting from an aeroplane and the good doctor listening to his radio. To begin with, Basil and I were much opposed to the modernising of these stories but the producer, Howard Benedict, pointed out to us that the majority of youngsters who would see our pictures were accustomed to the fast-moving action of gangster pictures, and that expecting machine guns, police sirens, cars travelling at 80 miles an hour and dialogue such as ‘Put em up bud’, they would be bored with the magnifying glass, the hansom cabs, the cobblestones and the slow tempo of an era they never knew and a way of life with which they were completely unfamiliar.

What a difference a half century or so makes!

That must be embarrassing…

Posted: December 26, 2009 by datechguy in catholic, oddities
Tags: , ,

I was going to confession on day at St. Leo’s in Leominster when I noticed a poster next to the doors of the church with a complete list of the popes up to John Paul II. When you look at the popes one name jumped out at me. Pope Liberius, the 36th pope.

He was Pope from 352-366 and is unique compared to all the popes that preceded him. He was the first pope on that list who is NOT a Canonized saint.

Today that is not so odd. Of the popes who have lived in the last 500 years only two have been canonized St. Pius X (1903-14) and St. Pius V 1566-72. To find a saint before them you have to go all the way back to St. Gregory VII in the 11th century.

But Every pope before Liberius is canonized and quite a few after him, you have to go to Pope Anastasius II (#50) 130 years later before you find another that isn’t.

I don’t know about you but I’d be very embarrassed by that. The first one not to make the official cut? It’s like being Ronald Dionne only worse.

Now if you know your Catholic theology you know that may not matter, he certainly may be in heaven but the Church has no official position on that one way or the other.

But Come on! Maybe some ancient papal scholar can do some research and decide if it’s worth starting a cause for him.