Posts Tagged ‘irony’

…asks Mika on Morning Joe concerning Charlie Rangel?

I think she is smart enough to know the answer, he has a “D” next to his name, he is a personable fellow and a combat vet from Korea. He is a longstanding powerful black congressman.

All of these things preclude scrutiny from the MSN.

After all it precluded scrutiny concerning others.

School is back and I have to be up with the youngest so that means I’m up and turned it on Morning Joe.

And I couldn’t believe my eyes:

First of all my irony meter is going off the scale.

They started with teasing Mika about this headline:

Disgraced former Gov. Eliot Spitzer has been privately talking with friends about a possible comeback, and is considering a run for statewide office next year, several sources told The Post.

Less than 18 months after he left Albany in a prostitution scandal, Spitzer has held informal discussions in recent weeks about the possibility of making a bid for state comptroller or the US Senate seat currently held by Kirsten Gillibrand, sources said.

They were teasing Mika about the “second coming” headline pretty bad. Then they were outraged over Chris Brown first didn’t remember his assault of his girl, then Did remember after the bad press from the interview.

Barnicle commented how people were outraged by Michael Vick over his dogs while this guy didn’t serve a day for beating a woman.

These are all valid points but I have one question for these people:

WEREN’T YOU THE SAME GUYS WHO JUST SPENT THE LAST WEEK LIONIZING TED KENNEDY? WEREN’T YOU THE SAME PEOPLE WHO DIDN’T COMPLAIN ABOUT HIM NOT SERVING A DAY IN JAIL? Didn’t you not bring up his womanizing in the 80’s and stuff? Not a one of you would have suggested he shouldn’t have been re-elected over this stuff.

Ted Kennedy is the patron saint for celebs who are not punished and for pols who don’t have to resign. Spitzer, Brown and Sanford can trace their legacy directly to the unwillingness of anyone to act on Kennedy and the honor he was given. If Ted didn’t even lose his senate seat and missed the democratic nomination by a hair why should any of these guys go away no matter what they do?

MSNBC, NBC, CBC, CNN, CNBC, ABC et/al have no business being upset about anything. If they want to know why these people feel they can do what they want and get away with it without punishment, watch your tapes from last week then ask who are their enablers.

Update: David Price Jones shows why his is paid to write and why I’m typing in my pajamas:

Normally speaking, ordinary people would never tolerate someone like him as their elected representative. To present himself as a tribune of the people was the only possible protective covering available to him. That he was successful in this respect, and comes to be buried in Arlington with the president speaking at the graveside, is really the only arresting feature of his career. He has enjoyed the sort of lifelong allowance that once would have been made for a corrupt eighteenth-century English duke. It is hard to believe that he was ever sincere in the populist causes he took up, declaiming about righting wrongs only to go home and commit plenty more wrongs of his own without having to account for them. That’s champagne socialism for you, and it seems a taste everybody and anybody can get drunk on.

What is going on in healthcare illustrates the real difference between the Democratic and Republican Caucus.

The Republican Caucus is more homogeneous. There may be individual members with particular opinions or agendas but as a rule it is easier to hold together. They are united by a common set of basic values. That doesn’t mean they won’t violate them easily (as has been amply demonstrated) but the A smaller majority of republicans are can act is a single direction because they generally look in a single direction.

The Democratic Caucus is actually a conglomeration of many different groups, based on race, sexual preference, and others, quite a few of the anti-anti’s other groups from environmentalists, feminists, to pacifists, to socialists et /al.

The problem here is that some of these groups are by nature diametrically opposite of one other, For example the democrats for reasons I still can’t explain tend to get 90% of the black vote, but that same community is highly religious and mostly protestant. To expect that they were going to support Gay Marriage in California was very funny, but of course the left KNEW this but didn’t dare attack a member of the grand coalition so instead the Mormons and little old ladies with crosses were the target.

As the Hispanic (do the descendants of the former Spanish colonies of South America actually call themselves “Hispanic” or is that another term made up by us?) community increases democrats hope to gain votes, but these are also VERY Catholic people, a lot of them are better Catholics then what we have here now. They also come from a society that still celebrates the Macho. (have you every actually WATCHED Spanish language TV? Feminists would be marching in the streets over it if that was the fare on ABC, NBC, CBS et/al. It’s spike TV on steroids!)

Given this situation it is no wonder that democrats can’t get a bill out on their own. The various caucus have different beliefs, different agendas and most importantly different voting bases.

The actual fact is that the people in the safest districts are the biggest advocates of health care “reform” so they have the least to lose except in a primary. The problem is the leadership knows that a primary challenge in those districts will likely not hurt democratic prospects there.

They DO know that in the blue dog districts those seats ARE at risk, particularly in 2010 since the easiest time to unseat an incumbent is in their first bid for re-election.

Do you think the leadership is going to risk their Chairmanships in the house over this? I think not.

…as HillBuzz explains:

Sarah Palin is almost single-handedly bringing down Obamacare using only Facebook.

Let that sink in for a moment. The woman the Loony Left demonizes as Anita Bryant 2.0 and Tina Fey lampoons as some sort of space cadet, the woman the Lefties in Chicago constantly make the butt of their jokes or use as a straw (wo)man for whatever they need a villain for, posts remarks on Facebook that fuel Americans’ anger and resentment over the way Democrats are rushing through healthcare reform so recklessly.

The woman these Lefties claim is so, so stupid sure seems mighty smart to us.

Here’s her latest posting on Facebook…it is spot-on, perfect. If anyone doesn’t believe this woman is running for president, we just don’t know what to tell you

The problem with living in an echo chamber is you can’t hear anything else. As Palin supporters we need to take that to heart. Just because we are on her side that doesn’t mean we are immune to this.

Speaking of echo chambers despite the opinions of three guys I respect they totally misread Clift.

True she re-writes history both on social security and medicare but on the campaign:

Obama won the election because his campaign had a great ground game and they had him, a super communicator who made the media swoon.

Poppycock the media didn’t swoon because of Obama’s skill as a communicator. They swooned because they projected onto him a compilation of all their liberal “virtues” and didn’t bother to vett him at all. They saw what they wanted to see.

Despite this Clift finally figures out this isn’t enough:

All the White House has to counter the opposition is Obama, and he’s not enough. The magic has waned. People don’t line up for miles to see him the way they did in the campaign. And judging by the anxiety showing up in the polls, voters don’t trust Obama enough on health-care reform to set aside their historic distrust of government.

This statement also has holes, he has the media and the SEIU, but the media are not believed thanks to stuff like this and this, and the SEIU’s tactics of infiltration or calling Black men niggers and sending them to the hospital if they seem to oppose the president for some reason just doesn’t capture the imagination of the masses.

Clift doesn’t recognize that his stuff is smoke and mirrors but sees that whatever it is, it’s not enough. This isn’t the word of someone at worship, it’s the word of someone who realizes the game is up and has to change. One last tidbit:

“When it comes to taking a punch, I don’t know whether you’re Muhammad Ali or Floyd Patterson,” Axelrod wrote to Obama in a November 2006 memo

Right sport wrong analogy, Obama isn’t Ali or Patterson, he’s Primo Carnera. He’s a cog of the Chicago machine who with the media have fed him a diet of stiffs to get on top.

Of course the comparison might be is unfair to Primo.

Footnote. I never know he was the only man to ever hold the Boxing and Wrestling World Championships.