Posts Tagged ‘irony’

Via LGF and Mere Rhetoric we find out why Peres’ speech is so important:

Human rights groups argued Wednesday that a detailed probe into Hamas’s firing of Kassam rockets at Israeli communities is not necessary, because it constitutes such a “blatant” war crime. By contrast, Israel’s actions are more complex, and therefore do require such investigation, they said.

With Israel it is much more complicated apparently;

“With Israel things are more complicated because Israel states it does not deliberately target civilians and that it safeguards them. With Israel, you have to investigate each specific incident because even if a civilian is killed in an attack, it doesn’t mean its necessarily a war crime.”

Hamas however says not so fast:

Hamas spokesman Fawzi Barhoum was quoted by AP Wednesday as saying Hamas attacks on southern Israel towns are “a means of self-defense.” “Those are not civilians. They are all soldiers,” Barhoum said of the residents of southern Israel. “We are firing at places that bring us the F-16s, the warplanes and the tanks.”

But Micha’eli dismissed Barhoum’s statements as absurd. “No credible human rights law expert would accept that excuse,” she added.

This explains why they are not investigated but it doesn’t explain why they are not condemned or protested. The less that these guys make of this stuff the more they are ignored and forgotten. If these “blatant” crimes are ignored by the NGO’s then as far as the world community is concerned they don’t exist.

Love the graphic….

Posted: February 5, 2009 by datechguy in fun, opinion/news
Tags: ,

… this is a great way to illustrate how the press and others look at President Obama.

I mean cripes my next door neighbor has a new sticker on her car “Yes we did”. I’ve seen people keep bumper stickers on after winning, I’ve never seen a victory sticker before.

I mentioned this morning while Morning Joe blogging that I didn’t care for Andrea Mitchell. Its for reasons like this:

During MSNBC’s live coverage on Tuesday of the sudden resignation of Health and Human Services nominee Tom Daschle, reporter Andrea Mitchell suggested to Republican Senator Jim DeMint that the American public will see this as the GOP having “brought him [Daschle] down.” The Democratic nominee resigned over a growing controversy which revealed that the former Senate majority leader owed $140,000 in back taxes. (He has since paid them.) Mitchell sympathetically described talking to the ex-senator: “I just got off the phone with Tom Daschle. And it was an emotional conversation. He was clearly- it sounded as though he were tearful, overwrought.”

So let me get this straight. Tom “Tax cheats should be prosecuted to the full extent of the law” Daschle didn’t pay 140k in back taxes. The GOP objects and he ends up withdrawing and this is a BAD thing?

I certainly hope the GOP gets blamed for this.

Update: Added the missing “l” and Doris Kearns Goodwin is in that turf today.

There are two Americas, the one that pays taxes and the one that doesn’t.

What is it with the Obama administration and tax cheats? First Obama puts a tax delinquent in charge of the IRS, and then he nominates another revenue renegade to be his secretary of Health and Human Services. Sure, he’s against tax cuts for the rich, but rich Democrats who ignore their taxes are welcome in his cabinet.

As always we get the government we deserve and if we as Americans accept this then its our own fault. On a political level if the republicans can’t exploit this, biased media or no, then we have no business in politics.