Posts Tagged ‘media bias’

Hawaii vs Pa-12

Posted: May 23, 2010 by datechguy in elections, opinion/news
Tags: , , ,

I’m not going to go deeply into the the Hawaii special election since I have to catch my ride to the airport but I will leave you with this question:

In Pa-12 a republican loses a special election in a district where A republican hasn’t won since 1972, although it has gone back and forth in presidential elections over the last decade. The election takes place on the same day as he faces a contested primary. That is a sign the Republicans are in trouble.

In Hawaii a republican wins a special election in a district where a republican hasn’t won since 1990 in a place where Democrats have not lost on the presidential level since 1984 and the district where the president is born and took 70% of the vote, and it is due to democratic infighting.

Why is one due to infighting and the other not? Why is one a sign of Republican weakness and the other not a sign of democratic weakness?

My latest article Theory vs Practice is now up.

The article talks about the Rand Paul issue and the Rookie mistakes he made this week. It looks like he will have to learn the McCain/Spector lesson the hard way

As always you can find all my examiner articles here. Every time you visit its like hitting the tip jar for a penny or two.

Update: Smitty links and begins a debate, thanks.

Looking at the Morning Joe crew without Joe talking about Rand Paul with nothing remotely resembling a counter balance today is very instructive.

This crowd is practically giddy going over the Rand Paul stuff and the Wall street bill. There is not even a pretense of pretending to show the other side of the argument.

When they had on democratic chairman Tim Kaine talking about the subject they were like a bunch of guys at a bachelor party drooling around a pole dancer.

It was enough to get me to change the channel today.

Update: It was apparently so bad that they had to call up Joe Scarborough to provide balance. Joe designs it cleared up but rightly states that he (Paul) did this to himself. It is rather amazing the rest of the panel is questioning Joe in the same way that they would with a “guest”. They are really pressing him.

Apparently these are words that will always go together as long as this president is in the White House.

How Mika could announce this with the word “unexpectedly” at this point is beyond me.

Now on Morning Joe has Warner (D) of Va on explaining how the unemployment numbers don’t actually count.

Give me a break.

Who want to make book that if the president loses in 2012 the word “unexpectedly” disappears.