Posts Tagged ‘morning joe’

1. They are not giving Blumenthal a break on the “misspoke” business you can see Mika is simply disgusted because she knows the person and apparently expected better from him. This is consistent with the Allahpundit report of yesterday. Then again even the NYT editorial page didn’t support him.

2. When talking about pa-12 they pointed out that the democrat ran away from Obama. They are not treating it as a victory for the administration.

You would never know it was MSNBC

Update: They are reading the times editorial and are playing it up. You can see Mika is VERY pained over having to say what she is saying but it didn’t stop her from saying it.

On Pa-12 They now are playing up Capehart column saying that Pa-12 is a loss for the president. Exactly right, they are giving lip service to the NYT can’t win one race how will they win 100 business. Maybe when Todd is on they will spin it more

“Is there another regime in existence now that has a worse human rights record over the course of it’s existence?”

Buchanan says no:

Sam Stein Laughs, Woodward laughs, hints that the apology story isn’t true until Mika corrects him, other than Pat nobody will comment on China’s human rights record.

60+ million murdered and Stein & Woodward laugh, and sadly I’m not amazed.

What was the title of my post on the subject? “If you start from the idea they are all Marxists it makes perfect sense”.

Apparently you could say that about the panel today.

…even doing an expose on a front running democrat:

what is striking about Mr. Blumenthal’s record is the contrast between the many steps he took that allowed him to avoid Vietnam, and the misleading way he often speaks about that period of his life now, especially when he is speaking at veterans’ ceremonies or other patriotic events.

Sometimes his remarks have been plainly untrue, as in his speech to the group in Norwalk. At other times, he has used more ambiguous language, but the impression left on audiences can be similar.

Via this tweet by Joe Scarborough. Today Mika is talking about how he has done good work and has wanted this for years and how shocked she is about the story.

HotAir however is shocked that the NYT actually broke the story.

Credit where credit is due: No doubt it pained the NYT to drop a bomb on one of the few surefire Democratic winners this November, but they dropped it anyway.

Smitty is having none of it:

Why are we congratulating the NYT for doing the right thing? Should we as well give Blumenthal a medal for not firing a shot in a theater to which he apparently never deployed?

Smitty must still have scripture on his mind after our discussion yesterday and is remembering Luke 17:10b.

Bob Woodward is going on about what a good job and how relevant the NYT is. I think it really speaks volumes about the times that we expect so little from them that we cheer when they do their job.

Scarborough is talking about his prospects for recovering from this. They are going on about how he should handle it and how he could get though it. Sam Stein in particularly give him some defense but everyone is overlooking something important: His opponent’s real military record

Closing thought, how far has the times fallen for us to be so excited by them doing their job?

Update: Mika is really pained looking at these quotes as he knows and likes the guy and came out and said so. Her reaction and the reality of it has to be seen. She sang the praises of his record, but she is having none of the spin. It’s one of the reasons I like her, she is too honest to try to spin this any other way. Sam Stein however is spinning like mad comparing Cheney to Blumenthal. To my knowledge Cheney never misrepresented his record. On the advice of my wife I will not describe him with the adjective he deserves.

Update 2: Ruby Slippers talks about the implosion

I’ve been mentioning how Morning Joe and Politico et/al seemed to have suddenly discovered Pa-12 when the polls were trending in their direction:

the plan apparently is to set the race now that the polls favor the dems as a possible or probable loss, so if they win, it becomes a HUGE win for democrats and if they lose, well it was a tight race in a conservative district. This is spin.

This weekend I touched on SEIU money and Mark Critz having to worry about Scott Brown being in the house, but I hit the sack without seeing Brinkley’s Robert Stacy’s latest post reporting on the latest poll, quite a difference:

The special election to replace John Murtha looks to be headed for a photo finish, with Republican Tim Burns leading Democrat Mark Critz 48-47 in PPP’s final poll of the race.

And Stacy had this to say about the numbers:

Sestak’s surge in the Senate race is the probably the only reason Critz isn’t trailing significantly in PA-12. In early April, a Quinnipiac poll showed Specter leading by 21 points and Sestak trailed in every poll through the end of April. Five of the six most recent polls, however, show Sestak leading, so Democrats have a lot more incentive to turn out.

With the latest poll showing a 1 pt difference with only a day left we would expect Morning Joe to mention the race again…

…you would be wrong. They talked about PA all right but only about the Senate race, they discussed it in each segment and even brought in Gov Rendell who talked up Arlen Specter. Not a single word about Pa-12, and Rush would say, zip zero nada.

It couldn’t be that seeing the new poll they decided to focus on the Senate race to bump up democratic turnout in the district could it?