Posts Tagged ‘nostalgia’

What a difference a laugh track makes

Posted: April 18, 2009 by datechguy in fun
Tags: , ,

At least that’s what I thought after watching Red Dwarf back to earth online.

It had some decent parts and some really good lines. I thought the interaction between the crew and the public was a bit odd, but then again perhaps the British public is very different with their stars than we are.

Only the really funny jokes rose to the top to make me laugh, the others sort of bounced off. It was a lot like the McHales Navy movie from the mid 60’s. It was funny but the lower end jokes, without the help of a laugh track just didn’t do it.

If you are a fan It is incumbent on you to see it, if not start with the actual season one and move forward or you will find it lame.

Oh and BTW someone on Youtube took two scenes and added a laugh track to them. Once you have finished watching the show, watch this and compare. You will find the laugh track really makes a difference.

Almost an instalance

Posted: April 16, 2009 by datechguy in fun, oddities, personal
Tags: ,

Boy those Boston Tea party photos are pretty popular. I haven’t had this many hits since my instalance.

However since my kids are having computer issues general conversation will have to wait.

Meanwhile those new episodes of Red Dwarf have to be online somewhere.

The one bad thing about the tea party…

Posted: April 16, 2009 by datechguy in baseball
Tags: ,

…was I missed Tim Wakefield’s near no-no.

That complete game by Wakefield was just what the bullpen needed. The value of a knuckle ball pitcher who can eat innings can’t be overstated. And Wakefield has been doing this for the Sox for 15 years through two world series rings. And lets not forget his importance during the 2004 Yankees playoff series.

This article says it best:

Not only was his team reeling from its worst eight-game start in 13 years, but he had just hours earlier milked 11 innings out of his bullpen and had to put Daisuke Matsuzaka on the disabled list. The pitcher who was coming from Triple-A to take Matsuzaka’s spot was traveling all the way from Rochester, with no chance of arriving in Oakland by the start of the game.

So the Red Sox manager was somewhat heartened when Tim Wakefield stopped by his office with a message.

“He poked his head in the door, one of the few moments it was open, and he said ‘I understand my responsibility,'” Francona said. “And it wasn’t flippant. He meant it. Boy, did he ever.”

Just a few hours later, Wakefield had carried a no-hitter into the eighth inning, settling for a complete game 8-2 victory over the A’s.

This is Pete Rose class stuff without the gambling. Who would not want this man on their team?

It’s not possible to have a proper Arthur Carter watch when you can actually watch the president be Carter in this pirate episode.

I woke up on the couch (fell asleep during the ten commandments) and actually saw someone saying we can’t stop this until we address root causes. I had to shut the TV off.

UPDATE: That’s more like it!

As you might have noted above I didn’t give the president any Carter points so there are none to remove. Kudos to the USS Bainbridge and it’s crew, they are worthy of their ships namesake who was once imprisoned by pirates himself after being captured.

In fairness if the president was given blame for the dithering then he also gains credit for the successful operation.

Update 2 Apparently the credit goes to the captain who again got overboard and this time the navy didn’t wait and took out the pirates. So it looks like the Captain Phillips acted while Obama dithered, he is still C in C so he still gets credit for the Navy’s successful finishing off of the pirates.

Update 3: 3:24 p.m. Unbelievable MSNBC is complaining that now the pirates will become more violent. They are bringing up Black Hawk Down, does anyone remember that casualty wise we killed and wounded the enemy more than 15 to 1. The anchor woman calls it great news but the reporter on the phone is all doom and gloom, what if we hurt people they will get angry. My God where do they find these idiots!

Update 4 Jim Miklaszewski of NBC news describes the captain as jumping off the boat to “save his own skin” and says it with in my opinion a derogatory tone (this is a bad thing?). I guess my eyes weren’t deceiving me before, the Captain Phillips being a class act gives all the credit to the USN. I’ll stick with it to see if the tone changes.

Update 5: Apparently the navy attached a towline to keep the lifeboat from drifting to the shore. His repeat of the story doesn’t mention the captain jumping in the water this time, as this is all early all reporting should be considered as preliminary. No nasty tone the 2nd time the story is told.

Update 6: Talk left regrets that loss of life was necessary. Jeralyn’s commentators however are sad for the death of the pirates a great example:

An Example had to be made, or so they say, the glee I’m hearing at the news of the retribution is most unsavory.

I’m not gonna judge until I’ve lived in Somalia, watching all that money float past day after day after day.

Apparently the pirates are the victims.

Update 7: 3:55 p.m. MSNBC claims that president Obama gave the order for force to be used. It’s unclear if she means using the navy, allowing the use of the towline or the actual shooting of the pirates.

Update 8 4:03 p.m. MSNBC continues the anchor suggests the navy shot the pirates as a last resort. TalkLeft will be pleased. Don Surber is pleased too, but due to the combination of a free captain and dead pirates. They are again saying the president approved a rescue attempt, I’m wondering if they gave the approval if an opening to save him come up to jump at it. That would make a lot of sense. Tigerhawk and instapundit are happy too. 4:07 pm. The Anchor just described the pirate in custody as being “taken hostage”!

Update 8: At the press conference NPR’s reporter seems to be trying to find out why we thought the captain was in danger, what was different today from yesterday, after all yesterday he was only being held by armed pirates for ransom. That apparently according to NPR doesn’t constitute having your life in danger.

Update 9: Jim Miklaszewski asks my question concerning standing orders they confirm that it was a general ok to go after things rather than a step by step approval however that was ONLY if he was in imminent danger, good move by the president on that. He is asking pretty good questions taking advantage of the spare press available since most are likely enjoying their Easter Holiday. He presses on the imminent danger business, if I am hearing things right the Captain of the Bainbridge got to decide the definition of imminent danger.

Update 10: NPR confirms that the shots that killed the pirate came directly from the Bainbridge, but can’t confirm if the Captain jumped into the water or just distanced himself enough from the pirates to allow the sharpshooters to finish them off. The shot was apparently made from about 25-30 meters a pretty close shot for snipers in my opinion.

Update 11: Updated the title, NPR is now trying to get the difference between negotiating with pirates and negotiating with terrorists. The captain was tied up inside the lifeboat that suggests that he didn’t jump overboard but that isn’t confirmed yet.

Update 12: RedState says that the president was saved by the Captain’s plunge (assuming it took place). If not then I presume he would have in their mind been saved by the Captain of the Bainbridge, I still maintain that he deserves credit for giving them the green light to act.