Posts Tagged ‘obamacare’

“If the US adopts Obamacare, how will the Canadian health care system survive? ”

Geoff Coghlin in a letter to Instapundit concerning the trip of Danny Williams Premier of Newfoundland and Labrador to the US for surgery.

If he was going to travel abroad for surgery, why isn’t he going to Cuba? Haven’t we heard for years how incredible it is?

And why leave the Mecca of Canada for surgery anyway. Don’t they have quality healthcare for all?

Home may be where the heart is but the US is the place to fix it…for now.

…and it would be consistent with his previous actions.

I’m not a lawyer but i’ll wager it’s still a violation of federal law, that’s a Bozo no-no.

However it does looks like this TPM post seems to be confirming Patterico earlier one.

Not enough to retract the Wheel of Fish but we will see.

Oh BTW take a look that the bottom of TPM they seem to be going all O’Keefe all the time, it would seem it is the only card the left has to play these days.

..back around 2005 when Rush was suggesting it?

If that option had been used in 2004-2006, obamacare would be the law of the land right now.

One might argue that judicial nominations are different than other bills, it not a bad argument but it wouldn’t carry the day. The democrats would have done this and the media would have backed it. The problem with playing with rules when you are in the majority is that when you are in the minority they are used against you.

Sometimes the greatest gift you can get is not having getting what you want.

Update: I’m actually shocked that they democrats haven’t managed to pass something, glad but shocked. If they had even the slightest bit of sense I think they would have been much more successfully in a legislative sense.

Some things are worth repeating. Particularly when you see stories like this:

The White House is evaluating whether to take a breather on health care or try to push for passing legislation, but is not convinced Massachusetts voters were trying to block health insurance reform by voting last week to send Republican Scott Brown to the U.S. Senate, Press Secretary Robert Gibbs said Sunday. emphasis mine.

Oh really? Lets take the wayback machine to Aug 17th of last year:

Unless he knows about a special election that the rest of us don’t there are still only 40 Republican votes in the senate and the house has a very large democratic majority. Republicans can’t kill any bill the democrats are willing to pass.

What Mr. Carville wants is cover for his members and the ability to share the blame. If his people really believed this was the right thing to do they would do it. They want cover for this lemon, the Republicans won’t give it so he is trying to make lemonade.

Ironically 9 days later Ted Kennedy was dead and I wrote:

I think that Joe Kennedy or another one of the clan will be put in at that time, I can’t see them risking an election as the environment has never been better for a Republican.

I was wrong about Joe but righter about the environment than I knew.

At the end of August it was noted:

Anyone who thinks that blue dog house members are going to protect their seats by voting in memory of Ted Kennedy is insane…so naturally the New York Times and Washington Post will likely think so.

But the actual congressmen are not that stupid, they know their districts and can count. In 14-15 months Kennedy will still be dead, but the voters who oppose Obamacare will still be alive and voting.

And what is the story today?

Arkansas Rep. Marion Berry is expected to announce his retirement tomorrow morning, according to three sources briefed on the decision.

Berry will become the sixth Democrat in a competitive seat to leave in the last two months but the first to announce his retirement since the party’s special election loss in Massachusetts last Tuesday.

These blue dog dems see the writing on the wall and are heading for the hills. The only reason they were able to get the votes in November was the combination of Stupak (for pro-life cover) and the argument that the bill could be amended in conference. When the initial bill passed the House the last line of my oft updated post was:

Congratulations to the Republican Party for their almost certain election victory coming in 2010.

In the Senate it took breaking rules to get the bill passed (by exactly 60 votes) before Christmas.

And yet last night on his radio show I heard Jimmy Myers say this:

Scott Brown’s election will not stop a Healthcare bill. Healthcare is not dead. Republicans passed all kinds of bills with 55 votes in the Bush years (this is a paraphrase I was driving and couldn’t write it down exactly)

Let me say it one more time:

The democrats KNOW both health care bills are Lemons that serve their own special interests groups over the people they claim to be helping. If they thought for one moment that these bills were good or the country and/or a political winner, they would have passed them and eagerly took the full credit.

If it wasn’t for their initial desire to give the president a victory it never would have managed an initial vote. Now that the president’s numbers are nosediving political survival has overridden President Obama’s needs. Anyone who thinks Nancy Pelosi is going to give up her decreasing chance to retain the speakership for this president is delusional.

As long as Republicans stay united and realize that the worm has turned and the WhiteHouse doesn’t discover my unsaid strategy this is not only going nowhere, but every day they keep this in the news they undercut themselves politically and emphasize their own impotency.

Update: Allahpundit is wrong, Gingrich should know better than this.

Update: And another one bites the dust:

Delaware Attorney General Beau Biden, son of Vice President Joe Biden, e-mailed supporters on Monday morning to say that he will not seek his father’s Senate seat.

Barack Obama is the gift that keeps on giving…to republicans.

But don’t worry democrats; Mr. Sullivan insists you pay no attention to the failures of the man behind the teleprompter.