Posts Tagged ‘obamacare’

Do you know the secret to a successful bluff, once in a while you have to have the cards.

“Get it to the floor. Up or down, baby,” Steele said at a news conference at the state GOP headquarters. “Put it on the table. And if you don’t think you’ve got enough votes to get to 60, you’ve got the nuclear option. You’ve got 51.”

These guys aren’t counting votes on the floor, they’re counting votes to keep their chairmanships in 2010 & 2012 and the pork that comes with it.

Update: Hotair notices but Byron doesn’t think it’s a bluff.

And Byron is VERY smart.

You know once upon a time the NAACP was a great organization that fought for the rights of Black people in a segregated world and helped propel a race that had languished into slavery to realize its full potential. Today Black Americans live better then Blacks in any country in Africa.

As documented in the soon to be released (aug 25) book A Mightly long way (my Amazon review here) the NAACP risked life and limb to protect people like Carlotta Walls Lanier from danger.

What a difference a couple of generations make.

Yesterday Black conservatives protested in front of the St. Louis office of the NAACP to protest their non response to the attacks on Ken Gladney back on the 6th.

Mind you this is a man who was beaten and called a Nigger by a white man, there is some raw film too and the news and film was spread on the net that very day. Nothing.

The response of the NAACP?

“The St. Louis branch of the NAACP will and does accept and investigate all written complaints filed with us, regardless of the complainant’s ideology,” said Claude Brown Sr., president of the St. Louis City NAACP. “We regret that a group has decided to protest outside our office before contacting us or filing such a complaint.”

I don’t recall reading about the written complaint from the young Miss Walls in that book.

You see the beater was a member of the SEIU sent out to help shore up support for Obamacare. As an Obama supporter he is exempt from the normal NAACP procedure.

If you read histories of Jim Crow over and over obscure rules were used to legally deny Black Americans their rights, extra hoops were made to be jumped through and if people managed to circumvent one rule another would appear to stand in their way. It was disgraceful.

In my opinion Jim Crow was the second of three great evils that the democratic party has supported in its long history.

It’s sad to say but the NAACP is using Jim Crow tactics here against a black man who doesn’t believe what they do. Jim Crow now meet Jimmi C. To call it a disgrace is too weak a word.

Update: The Anchoress talks a little thuggery.

Thuggery is such a harsh word. But unambiguous, no?

She is referring to the debate and plan in particular but that’s what has me so riled up.

In Mrs. Lanier’s book she talks about how blacks and whites managed to co-exist, seemingly getting along but there was a price, blacks had to know their place. Once she didn’t know her place then all bets were off.

It seems to be that this is exactly what is going on here with Mr. Gladney. Let’s even make a concession to Wonkette and admit the possibility that Mr. Gladney is whoring this out for a buck or two. Even if that is true the message is still there, if you are a Black man in America your place is behind President Obama, if you get out of that place then we will treat you like we treated the Walls family back at Little Rock.

The left and the media are letting this go for political advantage. That is a historical obscenity and it makes me sick.

who knows?

…on a subject as hot-button as this, after having won a 51/49 election last year, this guy’s clearly taking his electoral life in his hands by saying this out loud.

Well good for him if he actually believes the healthcare plan is right. He’s wrong but at least he’s wrong honest. Remember what President Cleveland said:

What’s the use of being elected or re-elected if you don’t stand for something?

I’ll be very interested to find out if this guy was just playing to the netroots crowd and runs like a rabbit once this starts playing in his district. It won’t take long to find out.

James Carvelle can’t count

Posted: August 17, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: ,

Tip O’Neil when challenged on his assessment of a bill had a stock answer that he often used “I’ve always known how to count”. Apparently James Carville didn’t pick up that skill:

On CNN’s “State of the Union,” Democratic strategist James Carville became the first leading Democrat to suggest publicly that there might be political advantage in letting Republicans “kill” health care.

“Put a bill out there, make them filibuster it, make them be what they are, the party of no,” Carville said. “Let them kill it. Let them kill it with the interest group money, then run against them. That’s what we ought to do.”

Unless he knows about a special election that the rest of us don’t there are still only 40 Republican votes in the senate and the house has a very large democratic majority. Republicans can’t kill any bill the democrats are willing to pass.

What Mr. Carville wants is cover for his members and the ability to share the blame. If his people really believed this was the right thing to do they would do it. They want cover for this lemon, the Republicans won’t give it so he is trying to make lemonade.

I’m surprised the National Review didn’t notice it.

Update:
The NYT can’t count either but Patterico can