Over and over we are shown polls saying that President Obama is incredibly popular, practically an unstoppable force. Considering we have a press corps that won’t challenge him, comedians that won’t joke about stuff like this and people who are so afraid of being called racists that the conversation stops if he is criticized this isn’t a surprise, but thanks to Tim Blair we have this clip to remind us of what a motivated person can do with polling.
Posts Tagged ‘pet peeves’
Lies Damn Lies and Polls
Posted: May 5, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/newsTags: double standards, obama, pet peeves, reality
Last month I commented on why feminists are silent on the what I’ll now call in honor of the other McCain comsoazation on Michelle Obama:
Aren’t we past the point where the main story on a powerful woman is the amount of pearls she wears? I would think so. I wonder what the Reclusive Leftist would say about it?
Well I wonder no longer as she takes on Naomi Wolf on the subject:
But Naomi is no longer a thinking feminist. She is, in fact, so goddamn dumb that I’m convinced The Beauty Myth was ghosted. The paragraph I quote above is followed by two pages of squealing about how fabulous it is that Michelle is a sex object and fashion plate showing plenty of skin. This, according to the rocks in Naomi’s head, represents the maturation of feminism.
Of course Naomi is an easy target, but then again if i was brighter I would have noticed her original post on the subject predated mine by almost two weeks.
When you can’t win the argument cry ***ism
Posted: May 4, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/newsTags: I wish I said that, pet peeves, reality
Via The Other McCain I found this post at Hotmes
Tonight I met Gina and Rachael. I hope I’m spelling both of those correctly, but who knows?
Either way, they wanted to ask me about my schooling. I’m getting my MA. I didn’t say where (Johns Hopkins), just said I was getting it. I told them I just had to write my thesis. The obvious question followed: what am I writing my thesis on?
I carefully explained that I am writing my thesis on the multi-billion dollar industry that is the abortion industry. That the American public is fooled into thinking that this is about a woman’s right to choose, or a child’s right to life but, realistically, this is about a multi-billion dollar industry.
Little did I realize that I was speaking to a Planned Parenthood supporter. Even as I told her that PP brings in one-third of its profits from abortion (over one billion dollars per year) she couldn’t grasp what I was saying.
The post is interesting since the young lady she was talking to didn’t want to hear her “heroes” had feet of clay but I found this comment on the post even more interesting:
you don’t speak retarded? well, what about ignorant, do you speak that?
who uses the word retarded any more? don’t you have a clue how terrible that word is? don’t you know that when you use the word retarded you offend and demean people with special needs? you’re so busy trying to stop abortions, you should take one minute and give respect to those who are living.
something for you to think about.
The rightous offence simply leaps off the page. The actual subject, the arguments and the reality of what happened doesn’t matter, she used the word retarded she much be EVIL.
It seems to me that she could write just as good a thesus on the offense industry. A lot of people make a lot of money being offended and demanding payment because of it. Our friends on the left make careers out of it. (Read Sharpton, Jackson et/al).
More than that however it is meant as a conversation stopper she said retarted can’t trust what she says. He said Negro, must be a racist.
This isn’t offense, this translates into “you shut up” to the person charged and to everyone else “you don’t listen!”.
That is the goal and purpose, don’t be retarded and fall for it. The word retarded is defined as:
Occurring or developing later than desired or expected; delayed.
Gina and Rachel were retarded, they let their ignorance and unwillingness to accept an actual fact delay the their relization of a simple fact.
If you allow Mary’s offence over the use of the word to keep you from reading or conidering Monique’s argument, then you will be retarded from learning too.
And frankly although Bob’s long Josey Wales post is pretty good, I think Monique’s post illustrates the situation better simply by example.
Update: Maybe related I think the same tactic will be used here.
What if Conan the Barbarian was the head of the Republican Party?
Posted: May 1, 2009 by datechguy in hobbies, opinion/newsTags: comics, double standards, pet peeves, still angry left
I’ve always been a DC comics kind of guy, but on occasion I would really enjoy a marvel story and after reading John Hawkins article I thought of What If 43: What if Conan was stranded in the 20th century?
The story was interesting and if you want more detail to the story you can check out this blog, but there is one particular moment that really strikes home.
During the course of the story Conan forms a gang and they break into a museum. When the alarm goes off Captain America shows up and the fight begins.
Captain America being Captain America kicks, punches and hits Conan with his shield. It rocks Conan something nasty. Conan being Conan has a different strategy.
Conan and his gang escape and Captain America is left bleeding at the scene.
This comes back to the Jacksonian way of combat:
Jacksonian America has clear ideas about how wars should be fought, how enemies should be treated, and what should happen when the wars are over. It recognizes two kinds of enemies and two kinds of fighting: honorable enemies fight a clean fight and are entitled to be opposed in the same way; dishonorable enemies fight dirty wars and in that case all rules are off.
Our friends on the left tend to use jacksonian tactics against us on the right while trying Wilsonian tactics abroad. We tend to do the opposite because frankly we see our countrymen as…our countrymen.
Politically this can’t continue as Hawkins notes:as Hawkins notes:
For example, look at the media jihad that was shamelessly launched against Sarah Palin’s family. There was a not-so-subtle message being sent: if you’re a Republican woman, you better stay in the shadows or we’re going to destroy your family to get you. The left gave the same kind of intrusive, public scrutiny to “Joe the Plumber,” a private citizen who merely asked an inconvenient question to Barack Obama. While conservatives defended both Sarah and Joe as we complained incessantly about the way they were treated, the reality is that the Democrats paid no price whatsoever for the out-of-bounds attacks.
Instead of continuing to complain, here’s a better idea. Why don’t conservatives do opposition research on the journalists endlessly running stories about Bristol Palin and Joe the Plumber? Have they ever been arrested? Whom do they own property with? Have they ever been paid to do a speech for someone and then run a favorable news story about him? Certainly Keith Olbermann’s personal life is just as newsworthy as Joe the Plumber’s, and the details of Maureen Dowd’s life are just as noteworthy as those of Bristol Palin — are they not?
I think Hawkins is right it’s time for us to be a lot less Captain America politically and a lot more Conan. Otherwise we are going to get a sword in the arm.



