Posts Tagged ‘pet peeves’

For three days Morning Joe has been tweaking Rush and then tweaking Republicans who don’t stand up to him. Yesterday they Mocked Michael Steele for backing off of his attack on Rush.

Yesterday Rush now that the White House has elevated him to leader of the Republican Party challenged him to a one on one debate on his show. Blog reaction has been strong. I was interested in seeing what Morning Joe had to say about this today.

They played the challenge that Rush issued up front but pooh poohed it in 30 seconds. They then played a clip of Michael Steele on Hannity and said the following. This caused Joe Scarborough to say the following about picking Steele for party chairman:

6:14 a.m. “Sometimes being black isn’t enough.

This is an amazing statement coming from a MSNBC show. The media has been grovelling all over Obama and the “historic” nature of his presidency. What is historic about it? His skin color. During the campaign the networks elevated him to messianic status, they proclaimed him JFK/FDR & Lincoln over and over again. CNN & MSNBC both have a first 100 days watch. And yet again today it is noted that no jokes are made about him. Meanwhile the economy continues to tank and in under 60 days more spending is proposed than for the previous two centuries.

All of this has happened and Joe Scarborough tells the RNC that Being Black isn’t enough for Michael Steele to lead them? And nobody says a word on it?

Let’s come out and say it: Being Black is apparently enough to immunize you from any critique serious or comic if you are this liberal president.

Being Black is NOT enough if you are a republican.

Being Black is enough if you are a liberal senator from Illinois who seems to have interesting connections to a disgraced ex governor or a liberal representative who keeps thousands hidden in his freezer.

Being Black isn’t enough if you would be the first Black Governor of Pennsylvania or Ohio and you are a republican. Or how about William Lucas:

A few years before, there was a black gubernatorial nominee in my home state of Michigan. His name was William Lucas. Not many said that he would be the first black governor since Reconstruction (he would have been). No one said that the election was a test of the racial maturity of Michigan voters. Nope — Lucas was a conservative Republican, and therefore he didn’t count, in liberal eyes, as black. He was denounced by all the usual forces, and in the usual ways: “sellout,” etc. And he lost — to a garden-variety white liberal (Jim Blanchard, who was later Bill Clinton’s ambassador to Canada). Ho-hum.

This is racism. Obama is their token who absolves them from their sins so he is celebrated. Steele, Sowell or Williams challenge them on their ideas, they are ignored or rejected.

If the media in general or MSNBC in particular isn’t ashamed, it’s only because they have lost the capacity to be ashamed.

Oh and BTW if anything happens because of Mr. Scarborough’s statement it will be because he is the sole Republican of any stature on MSNBC. He can be safely targeted. He is their token. They can always get another token.

Update: Like Meucci it’s not who is first it is who is quoted first.

The Curt Jester uses my favorite phrase in an article about another priest who needs a visit to his confessor:

The only reason to be Catholic is because it is true – that’s it.

He elaborates:

I just don’t understand what their ecclesiology can possibly mean other than just being a form of Catholic tribalism. If I believed what they believed of the Church I would denounce the Church as evil and would want no part of it. The Protestant so-called Reformers were at least honest in realizing their theology of the Church was quite at odds with the Church.

This is what drives me nuts about pseudo Catholics. When I sin I tend to know I’m sinning. It bothers me and my inability to conquer it is painful and embarrassing particularly when I’m trying to teach my kids. These guys along with people like Andrew simply re-define sin so they can have their sin without the guilt. I know I need confession, and I know I need the prayers of my fellow believers if I’m going to win the race. These guys are trying to convince themselves that they’ve already won. Madness.

But in the end it will be little comfort to me or anyone else if we all suffer the same fate. This is why we have lent to help us from that fate.

Now that I have your attention…

I was thinking of this post concerning file sharing and how it has been a pain to persuade people off of these sites. Mostly due to free music and porn.

I can’t tell you how many systems I’ve worked on that were loaded with porn or with explicit icons on the desktop. I’ve actually had to tell explain the risk difference between stuff you will download with limewire or torrents and “good” porn sites that have subscription walls and do not want to infect you because they want you to be paying your $10 or $20 or whatever a month to keep looking.

These are tough economic times as my own job search has shown. With this in mind consider old but very relevant article:

“The contributors, or amateur porn models, they target are between the age of 18 and 24.

“Often struggling students, young single mothers, or just underpaid young women.

“So they come to a site that seemingly offers them an opportunity to make money while expressing themselves as sexual beings in an environment they are told is pro-female and that their creations will be viewed exclusively by members.

Now many of those sites do have subscription walls for their material just like many songs have copy protection and we all know how that works out. Once that file is downloaded by a member and put on a torrent or on a system with any file sharing poof the wall is gone.

Do you remember this exchange from the Magnificent Seven:

Chris: Harry tells me you faced bigger odds during the Travis County war.
O’Reilly: Well, they paid me six hundred dollars for that one.
Vin: He said you got that Selena thing cleared up in less than a month.
O’Reilly: Paid me eight hundred dollars for that one.
Vin: You cost a lot.
O’Reilly: Yeah. That’s right, I cost a lot.
Chris: The offer is twenty dollars.
[O’Reilly keeps chopping wood. Chris and Vin turn to leave.]
O’Reilly: Twenty dollars? Right now, that’s a lot.

Consider this for a moment (content warning):
(more…)

That sounds right doesn’t it

Posted: February 27, 2009 by datechguy in local stuff, opinion/news
Tags: , ,

Was listening to the radio on the way home from picking up my son from school and heard an interesting story concerning fees at U-Mass:

Tuition and fees at the University of Massachusetts system will rise by an average of nearly 16 percent following a vote by the UMass board of trustees’ finance committee.

The committee approved the fee increase with a 7-2 vote today, although the increase still needs final approval from the full board of trustees, which meets next on Feb. 27 in Dartmouth. The proposal would increase the average annual tuition and fees for in-state undergraduates to $11,048 from $9,548 at UMass schools in the next academic year, an average increase of $1,500. The increase is aimed at partially offsetting an anticipated $102 million reduction in state funding in the coming fiscal year that starts on July 1.

An interesting tidbit follows:

The UMass committee approved language that would allow for a rebate, depending on the amount of federal funds the university receives from the recently-passed federal economic stimulus package.

In other words UMass is using the Stimulus package like every other Federal Package, as an excuse to increase its own fees and take the federal funds as their own.

The primary reason why college costs have gone up so much is that the taxpayer is footing the bill, as federal monies go up so do the fees. Instant liberal cash cow.

If you wonder why colleges are so liberal and so in favor of government spending, this is why.