Posts Tagged ‘pet peeves’

Tax = invest. Invest Invest Invest!

Posted: February 27, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: ,

It really burns me when the refer to taxing Americans and spending it foolishly as “investing”.

When people play with language it is usually to decieve.

So in that spirit I think we should change the way we phrase things:

Tax cuts should now be called INVESTMENTS.

Lets Invest in the American People directly, Lets cut taxes! It has been a winner every time it has been tried. This is one investment that will pay off.

Every time a republican calls for tax cuts they should refer to them as investments in the most productive people in the world. An investment in the most creative, inspired, innovative and successful population history has ever seen!

Lets see the left attack that!

Might as well just give the money

Posted: February 11, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags:

Watching all the Valentine commercials they have a single message:

Buy your woman X and she will have sex with you

Let me give my fellow guys a clue. If your lady isn’t willing or interested to give you sex a stuffed Bear, set of pajamas or a rock isn’t going to make her interested.

If you are going to pay for it, pay for it. Craig’s list is full capitalists people who will put out for money without cluttering the house. If you want to give your lady something do so because you love them.

Promoted from Hotair Jumping ahead

Posted: February 10, 2009 by datechguy in catholic
Tags: , , ,

Was going to wait on this since today I was going to write on the existence of Christ but this link at Hot Air annoyed me. It is one of my pet peeves The idea that indulgences are “returning” is nonsense, they never left.

Like the Latin Mass and meatless Fridays, the indulgence was one of the traditions decoupled from mainstream Catholic practice in the 1960s by the Second Vatican Council, the gathering of bishops that set a new tone of simplicity and informality for the church. Its revival has been viewed as part of a conservative resurgence that has brought some quiet changes and some highly controversial ones,

There is a method to all of this, to encourage the sacrament of confession:

Getting Catholics back into confession, in fact, was one of the motivations for reintroducing the indulgence. In a 2001 speech, Pope John Paul described the newly reborn tradition as “a happy incentive” for confession.

“Confessions have been down for years and the church is very worried about it,” said the Rev. Tom Reese, a Jesuit and former editor of the Catholic magazine America. In a secularized culture of pop psychology and self-help, he said, “the church wants the idea of personal sin back in the equation. Indulgences are a way of reminding people of the importance of penance.”

“The good news is we’re not selling them anymore,” he added.

To remain in good standing, Catholics are required to confess their sins at least once a year. But in a survey last year by a research group at Georgetown University, three-quarters of Catholics said they went to confession less often or not at all.

Under the rules in the “Manual of Indulgences,” published by the Vatican, confession is a prerequisite for getting an indulgence.

The mocking of the church in comments let to the following rant that I repeat here… I will go in to more detail when the time comes later in my writing on Christianity. (more…)

Illegal Aliens. The Mafia parallel

Posted: February 9, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

Can you find a parallel between illegal aliens and the mafia? I see one that should exist.

One things you notice about mafia or any large organization is the acceptance of the threat of organized crime and jail. This is one of the dangers of the job. The mafia guys all know that arrest and jail comes with the turf, they try to avoid it but they know that it is the price for the money.

It’s not a source of whining it is the way it is.

One of the things that hit me about illegal immigration and angers me is the idea that the risk of arrest and deportation is unfair. That we are somehow wrong in enforcing the existing laws.

I’ll say this bluntly: If I was in Mexico and had kids I’d do everything i could by hook or crook to get here. If I had a pregnant wife I’d do all I could to get my kid born in the US and be a US citizen. Particularly with the violence and drug wars that are going on now. The laws of the US be damned! I’d also take advantage of anything or anyone that kept me here too. I don’ blame them.

But likewise they shouldn’t blame us for having and enforcing the laws. This is part of the risk. If you are going to do this don’t expect us to be celebrating you for breaking the law. Don’t expect bailout money and don’t expect things to change at home when people run away from it either.

If you want the rewards then you have to accept the risks that come with it.

Update: Was this post timely or what:

An Arizona man who has waged a 10-year campaign to stop a flood of illegal immigrants from crossing his property is being sued by 16 Mexican nationals who accuse him of conspiring to violate their civil rights when he stopped them at gunpoint on his ranch on the U.S.-Mexico border.

Roger Barnett, 64, began rounding up illegal immigrants in 1998 and turning them over to the U.S. Border Patrol, he said, after they destroyed his property, killed his calves and broke into his home.

What a crock.