Posts Tagged ‘reality’

To explain why this is so all you have to do is look at the White House and Olympia Snowe and the MSM.

Of course most people understand the basic fact that whenever Dede Scozzafava votes with the democrats that will free one Blue Dog vote to help protect their re-election chances. That’s the thing everyone notices, but what is everyone missing.

The moment Dede votes with Pelosi that bill becomes “bi-partisan” by definition. The fact that it is only one republican will make no difference, the MSM will trumpet it as “bi-partisan”. When ABCCBSNBCCNNMSNBCBET wants to talk to a republican on an issue SHE will be the one they call. She will become the face of the republican party that will be pushed and lionized. She will be the reason why “conservatives need to back off”.

The reality of all of these things will not matter, the media will push them as if it was true. If you don’t believe me look at how they treat Olympia Snowe, Look how they treated Chuck Hagel, Look how they treated Chris Shays and of course look at how they treated McCain when he wasn’t running for president. Republicans who attack republican positions are always welcome in the limelight.

And even better they don’t have to have actual conservatives on, they already have a republican to talk to.

This is the trap that the NRCC is falling into. If we fall for it we have nobody to blame but ourselves.

Vote Hoffman

He IS the party chairman. Rightly or wrongly Dede IS the party candidate, even if everyone else supports Hoffman (even if HE supports Hoffman) he can’t publicly not support Scozzafava. Morning Joe may bait him but that’s the way it has to be.

Now he can decides how resources are spent to support her and can try to talk her out of the race or offer her a carrot to leave, but he can’t do any of that publicly. I think in reality he doesn’t mind the Hoffman Miracle too much.

BTW: As party chairman he is the ONLY republican who gets this pass from me.

Vote Hoffman!

A: Because he provides cover for democrats.

As we have said over and over again and as I had to argue with my liberal nephew on the way home from game night last night, Democrats KNOW what “Obamacare” is. They KNOW what it will do and they KNOW who it will benefit and it isn’t the people.

Most importantly they understand that if no republicans support them they not only don’t have the fig leaf of pseudo bi-partisan. So democrats would have to be the people responsible.

Lieberman give him a non-democratic excuse for failure and most importantly makes the villain the person the nutroots hates the most, so no blame goes to the party.

In the midst of writing this post Harold Ford said the same thing. Great minds think alike.

I don’t know if this is due to Lieberman’s actual beliefs or his Insurance connections or if he is doing Reid a favor. (Remember he COULD push Lieberman out of any Committee chairmanships or sub committee chairmanship to give pressure) but there are two winners in Lieberman’s move.

1. Harry Reid it gives him Plausible deniability.

2. The American people because every day that this doesn’t pass is good for us.

Newsweek et/al may not understand it (or maybe they DO and are playing along) but stories like this:

If Harry Reid were Jerry Seinfeld, he’d probably be snarling the name “Lieberman” through gritted teeth right now, in true Newman-esque fashion. The Connecticut senator announced this afternoon that he’ll join a Republican filibuster of the health-care bill unless the public option provision is changed.

Are music to his ears, and I note that when you search that part of the story comes up without the click but the next sentence:

In doing so he’s effectively cleared the way for other fence sitters, like Evan Bayh, Ben Nelson, and Blanche Lincoln to do so as well, and avoid taking as much heat.

Doesn’t. Maybe they do get it. Just look at the liberal blogs, Bayh, Nelson and Lincoln aren’t the villains. (Sorry about the potty mouths but they are liberal blogs)

Hey guys you are being punked, and it isn’t by Lieberman, it’s by Reid.

Update: Legal Insurrection has a longer list of better known liberal blogs who are angry. They are being punked and don’t know it either.

…as the latest gallup poll (via memorandum) shows that those tea-party conservatives are onto something.

Conservatives continue to outnumber moderates and liberals in the American populace in 2009, confirming a finding that Gallup first noted in June. Forty percent of Americans describe their political views as conservative, 36% as moderate, and 20% as liberal. This marks a shift from 2005 through 2008, when moderates were tied with conservatives as the most prevalent group.

Even more important are the trends:

The 2009 data are based on 16 separate Gallup surveys conducted from January through September, encompassing more than 5,000 national adults per quarter.

So we aren’t dealing with just a single poll we are dealing with a bunch of em.

Lets put it another way. Assuming that conservatives won’t persuade liberals or vice versa conservatives only need to persuade just over one out of every 4 moderates to get to 51% they need to persuade slightly over 1 out of every 4 moderates.

And lets look at the other side of the coin, liberals need to persuade better than 3 out of every 4 moderates to vote with them in order to get 51%.

And even if moderates are turned off by a conservative candidate liberals STILL need to persuade 1 out of every two moderates to support them in order to get to 51%!

One of the great victories of liberalism and the MSM over time has been their ability to persuade Republicans that they desperately need moderates when in fact it is democrats who need them. Sheer math tells us that it is much more productive to solidify one’s base.

This is the Lesson of NY-23. If they don’t learn it then Republicans will continue to lose and deservedly so. As the Jammie Wearing fool says:

if only the Republican Party would wake up and start supporting conservative candidates instead of these weak-kneed RINOs. Much of the promising news from this polls shows a trend of independents moving to the right, which does not bode well for the Democrats as we enter the 2010 election cycle.

Meanwhile the NRCC continues to back Dede, when asked about it the quote of the day is:

Asked why so many prominent Republicans had thrown their support to Hoffman, the official responded, “We’re dealing with data, not hopes and dreams.”

You want data, there’s your data!

Vote Hoffman

Update: If the republicans aren’t careful they will be playing Captain John Earle to the tea party’s Lt. Kaminsky.