Posts Tagged ‘religion’

The Meat Rap is (kinda) back

Posted: April 23, 2009 by datechguy in catholic
Tags:

You likely remember George Carlin’s old joke about someone still being in hell on a meat rap.

What Carlin forgot and what most Catholic’s ignore is that the prohibition on meat WASN’T lifted. You are allowed to substitute some other kind of penance but you still can’t have meat on Friday’s if you don’t.

Well via American Papist it looks like the Diocese of Steubenville under Bishop Conlon has decided to go back to the old ways:

The resumption of year-round abstinence in the Diocese of Steubenville will begin after this coming Easter, one week after Good Friday (April 17). Although the practice will not be a requirement of law, and failing to keep it will not constitute a sin, I hope every one who is old enough to receive Holy Communion and well enough to come to church will take it seriously. Our parishes, schools and organizations should provide meatless food at their Friday activities.

Until 1966, Catholics around the world were required to abstain from meat on all Fridays. That year, Pope Paul VI determined that the rules for fasting and abstinence should be set by the various episcopal conferences according to local circumstances. At the same time, he reminded us that doing penance was commanded by Christ himself and is an important part of our spiritual life.

The bishops of the United States eliminated mandatory abstinence from meat on Fridays except during Lent. However, they insisted that all Catholics should observe some penitential practice on Fridays, in remembrance of the Lord’s passion and death, and they highly recommended continuing abstinence from meat.

So, the present challenge to the people in our diocese is not really radical. It is a call to what many if not most of us have put aside. And it is a way for us, like the apostles, to give up a little food and help Jesus feed the world.

The Papist approves.

What a wonderful idea – and it need not be limited to Catholics living in the diocese of Steubenville, either! Their fine witness, and the words of their bishop, can inspire us to do the same.

Hey that have great fish at the corner coffee shop every Friday.

Boy She REALLY gets it

Posted: April 21, 2009 by datechguy in internet/free speech, opinion/news
Tags: ,

Yesterday I titled a post And what profitith a woman if she gains Perez Hilton’s approval… but loses her own soul. Well in an interview with Fox Miss California had this to say:

FOXNews.com: How are you feeling today?

Carrie Prejean: Honestly, happy. This happened for a reason. By having to answer that question in front of a national audience, God was testing my character and faith. I’m glad I stayed true to myself.

Let me say very loudly this is exactly the type of woman I want my boys to end up with. (I suspect if they saw her picture they would 2nd the motion).

Update 2: Boy she REALLY REALLY gets it:

“I can only say to him that I will be praying for him. I feel sorry for him, I really do,”

What a woman!

Georgetown going Notre Dame?

Posted: April 16, 2009 by datechguy in catholic, opinion/news
Tags: , ,

I don’t have a problem with the president giving an economic talk at a Catholic University, it was certainly not inappropriate for Georgetown to welcome him for his speech but I do object to this:

Georgetown University says it covered over the monogram “IHS”–symbolizing the name of Jesus Christ—because it was inscribed on a pediment on the stage where President Obama spoke at the university on Tuesday and the White House had asked Georgetown to cover up all signs and symbols there.

National Review is not impressed.

What was that verse?

Everyone who acknowledges me before others I will acknowledge before my heavenly Father. But whoever denies me before others, I will deny before my heavenly Father.Matt 10:32-33

You know the more I read about Catholic Colleges the better Fitchburg State keeps looking.

Update: There can be only one!

Update 2: Don Surber notices and more importantly (Sorry Don) does Drudge.

Update 3: The Green Room notices and asks…

Imagine if Obama were to give a speech at the Islamic Center of Washington, DC. Would members of that community approve the covering of the Shahada?

The sin of Covetousness: a primer

Posted: April 14, 2009 by datechguy in catholic
Tags:

Inside Catholic has a first rate article on the 10th commandment and the sin of covetousness, an excerpt:

In a world filled with tremendous greed and the celebration of wealth amassed by wicked people using unscrupulous means, it becomes extremely easy to justify covetousness. But covetousness is perhaps the most fruitless form of sin there is. With greed, you at least experience possession (though not real enjoyment) of the thing you own. With lust, you at least get sexual pleasure now and then, though not love. With gluttony, you get the taste of food, though not the satisfaction. But with covetousness, you get only the raw envy of the other, with no compensation at all. A jealous man can at least use his jealousy to go out, work hard, and get the same car his neighbor has. An envious man sits there doing nothing, waits till it is night, and then slashes the tires on his neighbor’s car instead of lifting a finger to accomplish any good at all. Jealousy can be redeemed. Envy must simply be destroyed.

Hell is an equal opportunity landlord. As the article says:

The sin of covetousness is typically the sin of the poor and weak, just as the sin of greed is typically the sin of the rich and powerful.

Both are wanted down below. The good move is to decline the invitation.