Posts Tagged ‘religion’

Lets see what the Bishop does

Posted: March 24, 2009 by datechguy in catholic
Tags: , ,

I haven’t posted on the Notre Dame scandal because frankly if you read this blog at all you know what I’d be thinking and why. There is plenty of loud Catholic outrage on that subject (all likely better Catholics than me) so other than signing the petition I haven’t posted on it, but today the American Papist states that Bishop D’Arcy will be putting out a statement on the subject.

Now that I would like to comment on when it happens.

This article states that Vatican insiders think the pope is a disaster. Damion Thompson doesn’t proclaim it a false it just defines “insider“:

We learned this morning that “Vatican insiders” consider Benedict XVI “a disaster”. It’s true. They do think that. He’s a disaster for them, and their determination to turn the Catholic Church into a touchy-feely forum in which uncomfortable teachings and traditions are “modernised” to impress non-Catholics.

He elaborates for those who might be unclear on the concept:

Actually, Professor, if you’re a Catholic you should know that Benedict can be God’s spokesman and hold views unaccaptable to the religion page of the Washington Post… but there’s no point in arguing.

The point is that Benedict’s most relentless critics, the ones who are determined to extract every last ounce of rhetorical advantage from his predicament, are liberal Catholics. These days, for example, I can hardly bear to visit Andrew Sullivan’s brilliant website because he has constructed a caricature of a gay-bashing fundamentalist Pope that collapses as soon as you read what Joseph Ratzinger has actually written.

That’s the think about arguing against truth, it’s very hard. Much easier to argue against a pseudo truth than the real thing. It’s the favorite tactic to combat the church.

An interesting stat

Posted: March 19, 2009 by datechguy in catholic
Tags: ,

While people line up to hit the pope the Curt Jester puts up an interesting set of numbers:

Mark Shea posted this a couple years ago.

The West’s commitment to sexual promiscuity is a religion that people will both kill and die for.

AIDS victims in 1987: Philippines 135 / Thailand 112

In 1991 the WHO predicted the Philippines would have 80,000 to 90,000 cases and Thailand 60,000 to 80,000 AIDS victims.

Thailand promoted the use of condoms in massive campaigns where Catholic Philippines promoted ‘Abstinence’ and ‘Be faithful’.

The prognosis of the WHO was wrong for both countries:

1999: Philippines 1,005 / Thailand 755,000 AIDS victims

Source: British Medical Journal, volume 328, April 10th 2004

How ’bout that!

At Newsbusters Tim Graham touches on “catholic” Bob McEvliane’s attempt to flog his new book at the Washington Post by attacking the Pope.

There’s a word for people who do not recognize the Pope as an authority: they’re called Protestants.

And that is the point that needs to be made over and over again. If your book is ranked 178,178th on Amazon it might be useful to get a page on the Post to hit the pope. Hitting the pope is almost a guarantee to get space on any liberal paper these days, but if you want to be a Catholic rejecting the church’s teaching on birth control and abortion in print isn’t the way to go.

As much as foes of the Church would like to pretend otherwise, this isn’t Saudi Arabia and nobody is going to behead you if you want to leave the Catholic Church. Feel free to do so, sell as many books as you like, enjoy the talk show circuit. I’m sure you will be feted and respected by the right people for the rest of your life…

…after that you’re on your own

Update: The American Papist talks Excommunication.