Posts Tagged ‘still angry left’

R.S. McCain hits Frank Rich upside the head, which apparently is highly necessary for this man since he is acting like an idiot, except for the acting part:

Accusing opponents of dangerous insanity has become so commonplace in the Age of Obama that such discourse is now taken for granted. Frank Rich devoted the entirety of his Sunday New York Times column to insinuating that the Tea Party movement is a paranoid aggregation motivated by “frothing anti-government, anti-tax rage,” and thereby complicit in the Feb. 18 crime of Andrew Joseph Stack III, who piloted his Piper airplane into an Internal Revenue Service office in Texas.

Of course Stacy, my soft fedora in hand, is still recovering from my 20/40 parry of Rule 5, so he was a day late hitting Rich, but he is not the only one going after him:

Frank Rich of the New York Times retired as a drama critic in order to take up his new role as the paper’s full-time drama queen. As an op-ed columnist for the Times, his assignment, apparently, is to write in such a hysterical fashion that Paul Krugman seems rational by comparison.

Read the entire Fisking by Mr. Hinderacker and wonder what kind of readers the Times must have for this story to be recommended by anyone.

Now all of this is well and good but what does this have to do with the famous line from the Sherlock Holmes short story Silverblaze?

Well nothing but Morning Joe does…

Morning Joe often touches on Frank Rich’s columns. I had it on this morning from about 6:30. It is certainly possible that I missed something they said because I haven’t been just sitting in front of the TV this morning but as Rush would put it on the subject Zip Zero Nada.

It’s fair to say that the Healthcare bill and the McCain stuff is much bigger and maybe they can get to it tomorrow but Morning Joe is the dog that didn’t bark.

I suggest there is no way to look at the Frank Rich Column without concluding that it is one of the most idiotic pieces of writing that a person has ever been paid to paper or pixel. It has no basis in reality. The only reason why I don’t give him the Mike “Dishonorable” Huckabee treatment is because I expected better from the Gov.

I would very much like Joe and Mika to tackle this column this week. I suspect MSNBC would very much like them to stay away from it, I suspect the reason is because they are honest enough to call it the pap it is. This might be a bridge too far for their niche market.

Next year they should broadcast from CPAC.

Update: No sheeples here offers a restrained image of Mr. Rich, who in fairness has more hair than me, but no fedora.

after all we’ve already established that they can make up their own.

I was in the middle of writing another post when I heard Joe talk about the super-majorities and the nonsense of complaining about republicans. When the subject of republicans came up the words “Sarah Palin” came out of someone’s mouth and the first words that came in the background was “wrote on her hand.”

Not a word about the speech, how it was received, her popularity at Daytona, she wrote on her hand that’s all that matters.

but that wasn’t the amazing thing. Mika then went after Scott Brown saying the voters of Massachusetts don’t know him, he doesn’t stand for anything and voted for nothing. You ignorant Massachusetts rednecks!

I like Mika but I don’t remember seeing her anywhere that I went.

and that Kennedy seat nonsense from her? Maybe I should call her Mika Coakley.

If democrats want to know why they aren’t taken seriously, this is why. Contempt for the people.

…in 1989.

Sylvester McCoy, the actor who played Doctor Who for two years in the 1980s, has revealed that left-wing scriptwriters hired by the BBC wrote propaganda into the plots in an attempt to undermine Margaret Thatcher’s premiership.

Shades of the Adventures of Robin Hood circa 1955:

“The idea of bringing politics into Doctor Who was deliberate, but we had to do it very quietly and certainly didn’t shout about it,” said McCoy.

“We were a group of politically motivated people and it seemed the right thing to do. At the time Doctor Who used satire to put political messages out there in the way they used to do in places like Czechoslovakia. Our feeling was that Margaret Thatcher was far more terrifying than any monster the Doctor had encountered. Those who wanted to see the messages saw them; others, including one producer, didn’t.”

And the Doctor wasn’t alone in this belief:

Sophie Aldred, who played Ace, the Doctor’s feminist companion, said a shared contempt for right-wing ideology had inspired “a real bonding process” for cast and crew.

“Thatcher was our prime minister and we weren’t happy,” she said.

Well of course they weren’t, after all you had people like Sakharov repressed not to mention people shot trying to cross the wall. Thatcher had much to answer for, oh wait that was East Germany and the Soviets the people Thatcher was opposing wasn’t it?

Well it didn’t matter after all it wasn’t as if a leftist tilt would kill a British institution that had existed for 26 years…oh wait:

However, ratings slumped from a high of 16m, when Tom Baker was the Doctor a decade earlier, to 3m and the show was taken off air twice: in 1986-7 by Michael Grade, then the director of programmes — who said it had “no redeeming features” — and again in 1989, two years after Grade had left the BBC.

Ah the joys of the left managing to make a British institution so unpalatable that it could not survive. One interesting thing to note, You see that same tilt in a few of the 7th doctor audios such as The Fearmonger. I wonder if this will come up in some of the commentaries?


Update:
I just realized that I neglected to give the deserved hat tip to Life Dr. Who and Combom. Very much my bad.