Posts Tagged ‘still angry left’

Well I did like her in CopLand

Posted: April 21, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

At Big Hollywood Tom Shillue not only defends Janeane G. as a nice person but point out that she is only saying outloud what people on the left actually think but tend to say in “coded” ways.

Here’s the thing; everything Janeane said is what people on the left already think. They have been saying it right to your face, in creative ways, for years. Remember when the candidate Obama repeatedly spoke about his being a long shot for the election because “he has a funny name” or because he “doesn’t look like those other presidents on our money,” what do you think he was saying? He was saying that a large portion of our country is racist. He was talking about you. He was trying to shut his critics up even before they started. And it worked. Almost no one called him on it.

So don’t get upset when someone says it out loud. You should be glad someone finally said it-now you can answer the charge. You don’t want to have to answer the charge? Why not? It’s out there.

Conservatives will even buy into this. They will say, “Well, I know that there is still a lot of racism out there, but…”

That’s the problem. People are unwilling to declare that it’s over. It’s done. The number of Americans who believe one race is inferior to another is so small that they are not worth discussing. They are silly people. And they have no power.

This is an excellent point. It’s an argument we will win every time but only if people are willing to make the argument in public. She is willing so we can engage.

As for the personal stuff as I’ve said I have plenty of friends who are very left (hey it’s Massachusetts). There are plenty of people I would be willing to trust with my life and the lives of my family that I wouldn’t want to see in the White House or Congress. I’m glad she is nice on a personal level. I like nice people.

And yes you should see CopLand. It is one of the best movies you’ve never heard of.

Update: Commentators at HotAir don’t agree.

Yesterday many blogs took MSNBC and CNN to task for using crude oral sex jokes to refer to the tea party protests. The idea that a major media network would do this was unthinkable just a little while ago.

Now today hot air complains about Janine Garofalo appearance on Olberman.

These complaints are irrelevant, as are the ratings numbers. I think that MSNBC has made a business decision and is sticking with it.

I think that MSNBC believes that it would take too much time effort and money to overcome Fox’s lead. If a new personality manages to get a following then they will give them a shot but that’s it.

By catering to the far left they have a ready made audience base that if not a majority is solid. We are talking real true believers. The only attempt they are making to get any kind of non-liberal base is in the morning drive and even then you might notice the most conservative segment always seems to be a 6 a.m. hour.

It doesn’t mean MSNBC will not make a profit it just means it won’t make as much as fox. Long John Silvers doesn’t make the money that McDonald’s does but they make a living and a profit. Their primary customer base is fish based. It is not as large a base as a burger based one but it is a profitable customer base.

Fox is right leaning although it will give some voice to the left to play off of. Their willingness to give that alternate voice a shot and their respect for religion is the reason why they will always outperform CNN and MSNBC. (I think the decision to go full Hannity is a mistake.)

This actually puts the squeeze on CNN. They have always leaned left but are not as unabashedly left wing as MSNBC. That means the “true believers” on the left won’t choose them over MSNBC and the people on the right like myself don’t trust them. The arguement that most people are in the center may or may not be true, but even if it is true that center aren’t news junkies. News junkies have beliefs and opinions. The moderate center would rather watch something else.

So that leaves CNN with the people who believe the “Fox is evil” hybe but are not far left enough for MSNBC. That also include the people who have watched CNN for decades (they were first you know) and watch it out of habit. That is not a growing market.

So we can get angry at MSNBC it won’t matter. This is their business decision that is where their profit comes from.

Our anger will just increase their ratings. The people who would get offended have already left.

…so Janet Napolitano can be assured that those potential terrorists are neutralized.

I am very disgusted.

Well I’m against abortion, against illegal immigration and against mortgaging our kids future.

According to the report that makes me a right wing extremest.

And I am going to a tea party protest tomorrow so that clinches it.