Author Archive

As you might know yesterday was a very good day for Boston Sports. The Red Sox came back from a deficit to defeat the 1st place Phillies to get their record back to .500 2 games behind the Twins for the last wild card spot. The Boston Celtics held on against a furious 4th quarter attack by the Mavericks to go up 3-0 against Dallas and put then one win away from a title.

And finally Tom Brady’s number was retired by the Patriots in a big event which competed with game 3.

The Brady event is very significant. Before the coming of Brady no Boston team had won a title since the days of Larry Bird. After Brady won that first title everything changed. Brady won six titles in Boston and in between those six titles the Celtics and Bruins both won titles when they had not won since the 1980’s and 1970’s respectively and the Red Sox who had not won a title since 1918 won four titles three of them on the back of David Ortiz who is the closest thing to Brady we’ve seen in Boston since Bird and Russell.

Brady won his last title in Boston (but not HIS last title) on February 19th 2019. That was the last title any Boston team has won in any major sport.

While some in Boston sports complained about the clash of this event with game 3 I think it’s very appropriate that it takes place when it did. As I noted Brady brought titles back to Boston and he furthermore won the last title that Boston has seen. It’s great to celebrate him as a team in on the verge of winning the first post Brady title for a team in Boston in the 21st century.

Although in fairness Dallas will have a say on if this happens or not.

I’m Sorry But Isn’t that a good thing?

Posted: June 12, 2024 by datechguy in Uncategorized

I saw this headline at Hotair and my reaction was a tad different than you might expect:

Depressing: US Soldiers More Likely to Die by Suicide Than in Combat

and a bit from the piece:

One of the most alarming statistics reveals that U.S. soldiers were more likely to die by suicide than from combat industries. And it wasn’t by a small margin. Soldiers were nine times more likely to die in that manner.

Now maybe it’s just me, but if your soldiers are dying from suicide at a greater rate than by combat that means that you either:

  1. Are not fighting large scale wars when heavy combat causalities
  2. So effective at fighting wars that your troops are unlikely to get killed

I suspect that if you look at any major war from Vietnam back to the Revolution you won’t find a ratio like that.

What IS worrying is this figure from the same piece:

That still doesn’t come close to explaining the situation with the Army, however. Looked at based on per capita figures, the overall suicide rate for Americans went from 10.4 per 100,000 to 14.0 over the 21-year period measured. By comparison, the rate in the Army was 36.1 per 100,000 in 2021, and last year it reached 36.6. That’s not a minor difference. That’s more than two and a half times greater than what is seen in the general population. It’s also far more than should be written off as a coincidence.

If I may be so bold as to suggest I think this is yet another example of the costs of a post-Christian society. Once you remove the love of Christ from an equation, particularly a tough one and you’ll be surprised how a society, particularly a subset of a society engaged in dangerous work, reacts.

Thinking of the Boston Red Sox, after watching this version of the team play I’ve decided that they are one of the most interesting teams in the league for two simple reasons:

  1. They have a lot of young players with great futures ahead of them.
  2. They are good enough to beat the best teams on any given day, and also bad enough to lose to the worst team on any given day (They split series with the Braves AND the White Sox who had lost 14 straight.

That means it’s always worth watching because you never know what’s coming up on any given day.


Watching the left go absolutely ape-shit over Israel rescuing four of their hostages has been one of the most interesting spectacles I’ve ever seen. I suspect it has been an eye opener to a lot of folks who didn’t recognize what they had become.

The Obama (oops I mean Biden) administration’s determination to not only save Hamas but to avoid any credit on this point is rather astounding, well given as I said the fact that it’s the Obama team running the show perhaps it’s not.

But all of this makes a great backdrop to Bibi’s speech before congress coming up.

That will be quite a spectacle complete with insurrectioney leftists outside and perhaps inside, who will of course not be prosecuted.

Unexpectedly of course


A long time ago my former radio co-host John Weston told a story about Obama that I won’t repeat without evidence but I will say two things:

  1. All of the actions of this and the first Obama terms are consistent with said story
  2. Just about unthinkable things that has happened in our culture over the last 10 years was predicted by John 15 years ago

If he knew stock futures like he knew America’s future he’d be rich today


Unlike the Redsox the Celtics have been less interesting to watch as they have pretty much rolled over everyone they have played lately.

So far the Boston Celtics have been unstoppable in the finals. Dallas is going to need to go 4-1 against the Celtics over the next five games to take this title.

While this is possible in theory the Celtics have not gone 1-4 or even 2-3 over any five game period this entire season.

At this point the only real danger to the Celtics are themselves and you can see that both Tatum and Brown have bad memories of their last trip to the finals and are determined not to repeat it.

That’s a good sign for the team but bad for talk radio who are running out of things to say.


The fuss about Catlyn Clarke being left off the US Olympic teams has made for an interesting dynamic.

The US woman’s team has won seven straight goal medals at the Olympics in fact their winning streak is seven years older then my 1999 LeSabre. They have not lost a game in the lifetime of my youngest son who was born in 1993.

Given these facts it’s safe to say they are a better bet to win the Gold then the Celtics are to win the NBA title up 2-0 already. The team doesn’t need Clarke to win and I suspect not a woman on that team wants her straight white untattooed ass on the court with them. But Clarke’s omission does create one problem for their team.

With the length of this 32 year winning streak it would be only natural that sooner or later they would drop a game as the rest of the world slowly catches up. Under normal circumstances such a loss on the road to Gold would be no big deal.

But can you imagine what the reaction will be if they finally lose a game the year Clarke is left off the team?

I think the reaction of fans would be humiliating for the team and the coaches and this is going to mean extra pressure for that team to win and win big.

Well you asked for it.

..but at work yesterday a Hispanic Gent who has like me survived all the layoffs came up to me and suddenly volunteered in broken English: “Trump no good, Biden no good I vote Kennedy he good.”

Now I’m figuring that he knows I did some reporting so that’s why he decided to just volunteer this so I dug a little deeper with him and found that of four voters in his family 3 were with Kennedy and one with Trump, but not a single one with Joe Biden.

I have talked to a lot of people at work, and a lot whose first language is Spanish. Four years ago I could find a mix of voters, some for Trump some for Biden. So far I have not found a single person who has a good thing to say about Biden. There are still the folks who like Trump and the folks who don’t but so far those who don’t all seem in the Kennedy camp.

Now this isn’t scientific but I think the Dems made a big mistake booting him from their primary.

Again this might mean nothing but that’s what I’m hearing at work at least so far.

Update: Talked to Jose again and asked him if he knows anyone who likes Biden, he answered: “Biden no good, last time I vote for him, now Bah!”

Then I approached another Hispanic fellow at work younger than Jose (who is mid 60’s) a fellow in his late 20’s early 30’s who also speaks fluent English. I’ve heard him talk politics before and asked him: “Of the people you’ve talked to in Spanish here, does anyone support Joe Biden?” He could not name one, some were for Trump others not but not a one had a good word for Biden.

Now these folks don’t run in white liberal circles so they don’t have to worry about being excluded or shunned if they are not sufficiently in the tank for old Joe and I STRONGLY suspect that this is being repeated in the working class non-white communities.

If my gut is right and this is true, this is going to be a whopper.