Archive for the ‘doctor who’ Category

Ouch! There goes the exchange rate again

Posted: February 9, 2009 by datechguy in doctor who, employment, hobbies
Tags: ,

Was looking at some items at eBay and noticed the British Pound exchange rate had gone back up to about 40% rather than the 30 it had been. Went to the Big Finish site to check and sure enough subscriptions in US dollars for a year went from $192 to $208 for the main series and about $6 higher for the companion chronicles.

It’s a tad frustrating when you think that you could have gotten it cheaper if you just gave it and purchased when the price is lower but then again $5 when you are unemployed is a lot more expensive than $10 when you are working.

Time Lord Truther?

Posted: February 7, 2009 by datechguy in doctor who
Tags: , ,

Did a search for “Doctor Who” in google news and found some amazing things:

First he supported the 9/11 attacks:

Ynetnews: Doctor who slammed Gaza violence supported 9/11 attacks

We now know how his 8th to 9th regeneration happened:

Uk Express: DOCTOR WHO KILLED WITH INJECTION, ESCAPES JAIL

And the Superbowl day marathon on BBC America? His idea:

Selby Times: Doctor who prescribed marathons

He’s still full of self doubt:

Philadelphia Inquirer: Doctor who checks credentials faces questions over his own resume

And I know there is a lot more snogging on the show these days but he is getting positively randy

Mail Online: Doctor who had affair with depressed patient’s wife escapes being struck off

I blame it all on the Dalek conditioning.

Dr Who and the Pirates Amazon Review

Posted: January 30, 2009 by datechguy in amazon reviews, doctor who
Tags: ,

My review of Big Finish Adventure # 43 Dr. Who and the Pirates or the Lass That Lost a Sailor is now available at Amazon here.

The 3rd CD part turns the story into a musical. A YouTube version of the rather cute song: Gallifreyan Buccaneer is below:

Minor Gyp

Posted: January 30, 2009 by datechguy in doctor who
Tags: ,

The Sci-Fi network has a regular run of Doctor Who at 5 a.m. EST on Friday mornings. Normally I only watch it if I happen to wake, but I expected the season finale, and instead got Partners in Crime. A very good episode but not what I was waiting for. I guess I’ll have to wait for Saturday Night at BBC America.

Oh well at least there is a new page up at Rich’s Blog.