Archive for the ‘politics’ Category

Today at Hotair we see that CBS has provided proof that Donald Trump’s assertions about Baltimore

are in fact true

Charm City ended 2018 with a total of 309 murders, according to the Baltimore Police Department. So far in 2019, police report 196 homicides have occurred. Using the U.S. Census Bureau’s July 2018 population estimate for the city of 602,495, Baltimore’s 2018 murder rate is 51.3 murders per 100,000 residents.

The article ends with two simple words. CLAIM: TRUE.

The real significance of this piece is that it is NOT from CBS news, but from CBS Baltimore the local affiliate.

What does this mean, it means DaTechGuy’s 3rd law of Media outrage is at work.

The MSM’s elevation and continued classification of any story as Nationally Newsworthy rather than only of local interest is in direct correlation to said story’s current ability to affirm any current Democrat/Liberal/Media meme/talking point, particularly on the subject of race or sexuality.

Because of the confirmation of the White House assertion is diametrically opposed to the Democrat/Liberal/Media meme/talking points concerning the president they can not be safely reported on the national level.  They can however be safely reported on the local level by CBS Baltimore because the people in Baltimore already know how dangerous their city.

More importantly it allows them CBS to counter any claim they that they are hiding the fact by stating they in fact covered the story, they just did so without raising said coverage to national level, after all there are only so many minutes in a CBS news broadcast you know.

If I was the White House I’d have President Trump shout from the rooftops that CBS has confirmed their claims and if I was his campaign I’d have a bunch of blogs along with a bunch of people on twitter not only tweeting out CBS CONFIRMS WHITE HOUSE ASSERTION ON BALTIMORE, but I’d have a dedicated crew of bloggers searing the local CBS, NBC, ABC and PBS affiliates for stories like this that get burred on the local level.

But that’s just me.

At the main site I have a post up with a summery of the debate but I think it can be better explained in two tweets.

or as I put it.

 

———————————-

As I noted there are those like Joe Scarborough who are shocked, Shocked that the Democrats are arguing how bad the Obama years were on stage.

But consider, if the Obama years had been good, if they had been prosperous, if they had advanced the future of Americans everywhere, then Hillary Clinton would have won 35 to forty states without blinking an eye.

the truth is Barack Obama won re-election for two reasons.

1. The GOP ran the worst possible candidate against him in 2012 (Mitt Romney)

2. Black Americans turned out in droves because even they could not bear the thought of the 1st black president losing re-election because he sucked so bad.

Every single democrat on that stage knows this.

—————————————-

 

I’m starting to figure out why Snoops is going after the Babylon Bee, I read my wife the two headlines from this post at Instapundit and asked her to guess which is the parody and which is the real one

HEH: Marianne Williamson Not Sure What She’s Doing Up Here With All These Crazy People.

Related: Marianne Williamson: I am not a ‘wacky new-age nutcase.’

She guessed wrong, and remember in my opinion she was, other than Donald Trump of course,  the biggest winner in the Debates this week.


 

Yesterday was Baseball’s trading deadline and there were a bunch of blockbuster trades made, particularly by Houston that bolstered an already impressive pitching staff.

The Red Sox on the other hand took my advice and did nothing.

While sports radio was screaming bloody murder they also quoted a stat that to me explained why any such deadline deal was stupid.  The Red Sox are 8-14 when their ace Chris Sale (5-10) starts,  9-11 when David Price (7-4) starts and 13-9 when Rick Porcello (9-8) starts this season.

With those numbers anyone who thinks for one minute a last minute one sided deal to add a bullpen arm is going to allow those three guys to lead them to another title this year is delusional.  Much better to see if their incredible offense can carry them, put it down to a bad year for the pitchers (everyone has them occasionally) and shore up the bullpen in the off season where they can get much more bang for the buck without dismantling the team.

That’s what a GM who recognizes his job is to give his team their best shot to win each year does as opposed to keeping loud voices on the radio happy.


 

Finally here is an update on the blog situation.

You’ll notice that there IS some new posts going up on the old site, a few were scheduled posts but some are new.  I’ve found a work around that allows me to post there but I can’t put in any links, add images or even embed tweets, it’s plain text only.

So here is the plan.  While I price my alternatives (likely between $500-$1000 up front at least) to preserve the old blog at an alternate location without taking a week off from work to do it I’ll be posting at both sites. Anything that needs linkage I’ll put here.  If I can get away with just text then it will go there, and perhaps I’ll kill a photo or two from my gallery to free up some space for an image or two.

As I recently did a direct non-public fundraiser  (that fell far short of my goal but did pay for pintastic coverage and provide a cushion thanks all) I’m not really in a position to do it again just a few months later, but if anyone wants to kick in to help pay for this stuff.  Datipjar on both sites DOES work.

As for my writers they can either post there sans links and graphics or post here during the transition or if they want they can take a few days off and wait for everything to work again.  I’ll leave it entirely up to them..

After watching yesterday’s Democrat debate with a strong performance by Marianne Williamson and a lot of shouting by Bernie and Warren and the reactions from it I have come to the conclusion that the winner of tonight debate will be the same as the winner of last nights debate:

Namely Donald Trump

First of all I see no reason why we will see anything different in terms of positions from these folks than we did last night.

They will all endorse the idea that students who foolishly borrowed a fortune to pay for majors like women’s studies, transgender studies and Aqua Team Hunger Force studies while spending must time partying should be excused from paying back their debts while people who never owned slaves, whose parents never owned slaves and who grandparents weren’t even in this country when slavery was legal are obliged to pay billions to people who never were enslaved and whose parents never were enslaved.

They will argue that people who have never committed a crime with a gun bought legally must be placed in legal jeopardy for the acts of people who violated laws already on the books.  That the NRA an organization of legal gun owners is responsible for violence while the drug gangs that Democrat pols in Chicago count on for muscle is not.

They will claim that the economy that has put more blacks, women and Hispanics to work than any other time in our history is only benefiting the rich, that National Healthcare systems that lead to long waits and drive many people to America for live saving care is wonderful and will insist that pointing out that the city of Baltimore, a majority black city is a disaster is racist, but letting that city fall into that state and keeping it and the mostly black community that lives there in that state is not.

For these reasons Donald Trump can’t help but win tonight’s debate but there are several people who might make it to 2nd place.

If Joe Biden can come out of this debate without looking like an inept fool he might come in 2nd.

If Kamila Harris can come out of this debate with another bounce she might come in 2nd.

If any of the mid tier candidates like Corey Booker can manage to make a blgger splash than either, they could come in 2nd.

And if any of the bottom tier candidates like Tulsi Gabbard can get enough oomph out of the debate to qualify for the next round they could come in second.

And of course a bad performance by Biden, Harris, or Booker has the potential to make them a big loser with only the 2nd tier candidates who do not break out raking possibly below them.

But you can take it to the bank.  Tonight’s big debate winner will be Donald Trump.  Count on it!

 

 

“Here’s the tennis game, Donald Trump kissed a woman in a bathing suit. Trump hits back: Tell me about the president’s relationship with a guy named Jeffrey Epstein. That’s your tennis match.”

Donny Deutsch: Morning Joe 8:12 AM May 16th 2016

Yesterday Instapundit linked to this piece at the Hollywood Reporter on how the A-List crowd mixed with Jeffrey Epstein after his conviction and Stephen Green speaks thus:

I’d take their apparent umbrage more seriously had they covered the story with this much energy any time from, say, 2009 to last Friday.

This highlights a truth that a lot of people on the left know but are unlikely to say. It is this:


If Hillary Clinton was elected President of the United States in 2016 not a person in the media would have dared to write or say a word against Jeffrey Epstein him and the state of New York, run by Democrats would certainly not not have touched him because they would have known that Jeffrey Epstein was under the protection of the President of the United States.

just like Harvey Weinstein was.

I have a question for the left that is essentially same one I posed at the time of the Weinstein revelations (which were only revelations to the public, not to the leftists in the know) and it’s this.

How many of you would gladly and without hesitation deny justice to the victims of Jeffrey Epstein (and Harvey Weinstein) if it meant reversing the results of last presidential election?

Given what we’ve seen I suspect that the answer is practically all of them.