Posts Tagged ‘2010 elections’

…but when it comes to the health care bill she is one of the few people on the left looking at the political consequences with open eyes:

The DCCC was very good at getting not-so-savvy poll analysts to try and discredit the SurveyUSA polling. (Those same pollsters, ironically, didn’t see anything weird in the Research 2000 polls they were quoting authoritatively at the time, which many now find suspect — though Jerome Armstrong spotted it). Somehow Democratic members of Congress engaged in magical thinking and believed Rahm’s BS about the popularity of the health care bill increasing if it passed.

Rather than focus on jobs creation in a country with climbing unemployment rates, Obama spent the better part of a year focused on passing a health care bill that looks like it will play no small part in the Democratic Party’s upcoming electoral woes.

Well, we warned you.

I’ll go one step farther. The Election of Scott Brown was the real breaking of the dam and the thing that made the Brown Election was the chance to stop the Healthcare bill. Forgetting everything else, the morale factor that the Election of Brown had for the tea parties and the GOP can’t be overestimated. Without the Brown victory you don’t have Miller in Alaska you don’t have the GOP establishment defeats in Utah & NC.

Brown’s election Made the Tea Party and the election climate that we have this fall, and the Healthcare Bill made Brown.

Democrats did this to themselves, Hamsher & Co tried to warn them.

I should point out that legal insurrection dissents:

I’m not buying that spin. It is true that Hamsher had some of the most devastating critiques of Obamacare. But when I wrote my Open Letter in January 2010 to Hamsher asking her to join us in defeating Obamacare, there was no response, either directly or indirectly, in words or in action. Instead, Hamsher and others were focused on improving (e.g. public option) not defeating the legislation, an ultimately futiile quest which required a level of subservience to the Democratic leadership in the hope they would come through for you. They didn’t.

Fair point.

memeorandum thread here

Remember when everyone told us that democrats should run on their records supporting Obamacare and the president when the people were screaming otherwise in polls?

I’m sure the leadership said they would stand behind them.

Apparently as the Cyberleader once told Miss Hartigan “That would be classified as a lie” as politico reports:

Facing a perilous political environment that has left the House Democratic majority in jeopardy, Van Hollen told reporters in a briefing at the National Press Club that the party faces a series of difficult decisions about which candidates to invest in this fall — and whom to leave behind

“At the end of the day, the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee will look at races we can win,” Van Hollen said.

And in the same breath he insists the democrats will retain the house.

So to all you democrats who thought it would be a good idea to let Obamacare pass and to all you blue dogs who pulled a Fishbait Miller thinking that Pelosi and co would save you, I have one word.

SUCKERS!

A wheel of fish award for you!

Update: Who would have guessed the first death panel from obamacare would be a political one for ailing democratic members?

to make them accountable to the people?

Conservative activists are trying to oust three judges on the state Supreme Court whose unanimous ruling last year legalized same-sex unions. Their decision stunned opponents nationwide and delighted advocates who were eager for a victory in the heartland.

Why are supporters of Gay Marriage worried about this? It’s explained after the jump:

Gay rights groups have been less successful in the voting booth; in every state where the issue has been put on the ballot, voters have agreed to define marriage as exclusively between a man and a woman. emphasis mine

One can legitimately disagree on having elected vs appointed judges, both systems have advantages and disadvantages, but to get all in a huff because an elected official is being held accountable for actions in an elected office is just nonsense and highlights the disrespect and disdain the elites have with the voters in general and apparently our republican system in particular

Memeorandum thread here

and I’ve made it clear that I preferred J. D. to John McCain, but isn’t it a contradiction to drop the republican nominee in Arizona for the libertarian, while rightfully screaming bloody murder over Murkowski in Alaska?

I want that senate to be a Republican one. If the people of Arizona were not as wise as the folks in Alaska it doesn’t mean we should take such a risk when we need every possible seat in the senate for a shot at changing the leadership.

The NRCC is being foolish if they are playing games with the results in Alaska and the grass roots are right to withholding funds from such idiots if they are spending their dough to contest a finished primary rather than in places like Ma-03 or ma-03 or Ca-36 where the cash would be a godsend, but that doesn’t mean we should do anything to risk an admittedly imperfect senate seat when we can’t spare a single one.

And do you really want to give the NRCC an excuse to spend more on Arizona when we have races we are in a real position to win that can use the dough?