Posts Tagged ‘conservatism fights back’

Ok we can safely say that the attendance at the 9/12 rally was between 500,000 and 2 million people. Either way that an awful lot of people.

The MSM will see this sign

The MSM will see this sign

Charles Johnson has seen some signs he didn’t like, and also pointed out that the John Birch Society planned to attend. He didn’t mention the Ron Paul guys but from the Tea Party in Boston I attended a few months ago there were a few Ron Paul guys there so I’d be shocked if there weren’t thousands of Paulians there.

I didn’t like the signs he pointed out either, the John Birch Society are a bunch of nuts and I’m already on record referring to Ron Paul as a Crazy Uncle.

On that subject lets talk about crazy uncles:

It’s not so odd that 1% of any population might be off its rocker, the problem is in a country of 300,000,000 that is 3 million people. Even if 1/10 of one percent is crackers that’s 300,000 people. To give you some perspective that’s more troops than we have in Iraq or Afghanistan.

Based on the 1% theory that would put the number of absolute nuts there between 5,000 and 200,000. If you use the 1/10 theory that makes a range of 500-20,000

Now if I’m the MSM and I’ve ignored the buildup to this story I’m going to highlight those crazy uncles and their signs and dismiss the movement altogether.

A promoter of the parties might choose to totally ignore the crazy uncles altogether.

As I proclaim myself a normal reasonable person I’m going to notice between 499,500 and 1,980,000 normal American with legitimate complaints about the moves this government has made without forgetting also that there is going to be a smattering of crazy uncles in the mix.racism anyway

Oh and I suspect like the Boston Tea Party I attended there will be practically no arrests (if any) and no damage. After all these are the taxpayers, they would be paying for repairs.

I submit that the last sign and the stuff you will see posted by Vodkapundit and Glenn (where 12,000 showed up in Illinois) are much more typical. And I’ll also bet that all the adults know what their signs say.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion but based on what I’ve seen both from the net and personally 99% or more of these are regular people who have just decided they’ve had enough. There will be hangers on who want attention and the movement should take note to keep the fringes on the fringe. Pointing that out is just being honest, but attempts to make this something this movement something is not that’s either an agenda or Sullivan’s syndrome.

Update: More signs via the corner

…that the census bureau is taking action:

WASHINGTON – The Census Bureau on Friday severed its ties with ACORN, a community organization that has been hit with Republican accusations of voter-registration fraud.

“We do not come to this decision lightly,” Census director Robert Groves wrote in a letter to ACORN, which was obtained by The Associated Press.

In splitting with ACORN, Groves sought to tamp down GOP concerns and negative publicity that the partnership will taint the 2010 head count.

“It is clear that ACORN’s affiliation with the 2010 census promotion has caused sufficient concern in the general public, has indeed become a distraction from our mission, and may even become a discouragement to public cooperation, negatively impacting 2010 census efforts,” Groves wrote.

Stephen Buckner, a census spokesman, confirmed the letter, but declined additional comment.

Hey how is that ignoring Glenn Beck and Fox stuff working out guys?

Meanwhile CNN can’t get an interview with the man of the hour, here’s why:

Here’s what I have noticed from your coverage: You brought in the damage control crowd to FRAME the story. Before even airing our damning Baltimore video. You know your audience would turn on ACORN if you showed them the evidence. So instead you put your competitors in journalism in the crosshairs instead of airing a blockbuster report making massive waves elsewhere.

You even trotted out shameless Clinton era apologist Joe Conason to challenge the ETHICS of our expose. Unreal.

What about the ethics of those at ACORN caught on tape trying to help create a brothel featuring illegal immigrant age range 13-15 from El Salvador?

What about the countless laws broken on tape from a group that stands to get billions from President Obama’s “stimulus” package?

Why don’t we wait to have the Columbia Journalism School debate on “journalistic ethics” after you do actual journalism.

When you air the raw ACORN footage that is now viral on the Internet, and being played on FOX NEWS and countless talk radio shows, then and only then — when America can see, hear and smell the stench we have exposed — will I subject myself to a CNN hit job.

Well they have been showing clips today. The times they are changing.

You know the constant refrain about the lack of “death panels” saying there is nothing in the bill that calls for death panels brings back memories.

It brings back memories of the South’s argument on the Jim Crow laws. There was nothing in the Jim Crow laws that called for lynching or for jury nullification if a white man was charged for lynching a black man.

It was just the logical consequence of the laws and the attitudes of the people enforcing it.

Marc Ambinder says this:

So here’s a challenge to the media: if you want to do justice to conservative ideas and find some balance in your coverage tomorrow, book serious Republicans with original ideas on your programs. If you don’t, Palin is giving herself a voice at your expense and through little effort of her own.

He claims that Sarah Palin doesn’t have expertise in that area so she shouldn’t be quoted. As President Obama only had expertise in community organizing and Mr. Ambinder hasn’t declared him too experienced to talk on national health care, this can’t be true.

Therefore I must assume he actually means this:

Please please please don’t report on her! I know she is the most popular republican with their base and I know that she makes news and brings ratings, but we don’t want to risk engaging her and making fun of her isn’t working so please keep her from as many eyeballs as possible, because if they read her themselves they might discover that she is not the nut that we want to people to believe that she is.

You had Mika on board this morning but that’s not going to be enough.

As was said last month, if she was as irrelevant and as unserious as claimed she is they would have ignored her from the start.

I guess since the left has such a fear of her maybe if they just avoid the name they can manage not to wet their pants. Might I suggest they refer to her as “She who must not be quoted”.

If nothing else you can save on the depends.

Update: Riehl shakes his head in disbelief.

Update 2: The White House releases talking points specifically directed toward “She who must not be quoted!“, Sarah Palin counter-punches.