Both Kathleen and the commentators at Amy Siskind post seem to be asserting that Sarah Palin was asking for it.
I’d like to ask how I’m supposed to teach my sons respect for women when stuff like this is defended even by women?
Both Kathleen and the commentators at Amy Siskind post seem to be asserting that Sarah Palin was asking for it.
I’d like to ask how I’m supposed to teach my sons respect for women when stuff like this is defended even by women?
…as does Donny Deutsch on Morning Joe. Oh she should have known that he meant the 18 year old daughter. She should have never had put her kids out, she is trying to divide us blah blah blah blah.
Looking at Mika I think she was about to explode she has one again had to defend Gov Palin but does it with the preface “lets forget who she is for the moment”.
In the middle of the back and forth Willie points out that e-mailer are informing them it was Willow that was with Palin and not Bristol. This is MSNBC. This story has been out there for two days now and they are only finding this out via an e-mailer? Then again they don’t know that Levin’s book exists when it has been #1 on the NYT list for 10 of the last 11 weeks and #1 at Amazon for months. Deutsch tries to roll back, Arianna says nothing.
I guess supporting the niche left market on MSNBC trumps all.
You know I think when it comes to the Governor she has to bite her tongue a lot because she is on MSNBC. I really think she wants a reason to vote for her in 2012, but that’s just my ample gut talking.
…it’s because of posts like this
Unfortunately, Letterman is still alive. And people were writing me because of his misogynistic “jokes” about Sarah Palin and her daughter. But unlike my jokes, Letterman’s aren’t funny (and let that serve as notice that the humor portion of this post is now officially over).
The entire post decries Letterman and the rest of the left for it’s silence on this now and last year:
This stuff metastasizes. Behavior begets behavior. As I wrote last year — one of many, many posts:
The haters don’t care about Palin’s political positions. They’re driven by some inchoate impulse to crucify the woman herself. To rape her with words.
She closes with a warning:
That’s how it works. Sexism isn’t selective, and misogyny isn’t something that only applies to certain women. The dudes can’t tell the difference.
Every joke about raping Sarah Palin or her daughter is a joke about raping you.
We are going to disagree about abortion, religion (hence the Godbag bit in the title) Gay marriage and a whole lot of other things, but this woman is an honest voice and I’d trust her opinion over someone who beats their breast over Imus’ Nappy headed ho’s but is silent over the Letterman remarks.
Watching Mike Barnicle and the Morning Joe crew this morning I was struck by their exchange over Palin.
When Sarah Palin was brought up the crew immediately brought up how she marginalizes the party among moderates. They said Newt was right to complement McCain but saying Palin would have been better than Biden was a bridge too far.
This is mind you after the fine showing that Joe has managed so far.
They then covered the interview on Hannity and the “I told ya’ so” business. They were obliged to ask, forgetting who is saying it does she have a point? They all agreed she did…
…then proceeded to refer to her as the next Dan Quayle and called her marginalized.
This is why I say they are still afraid of her. They know she still draws more than any republican in America. They know that she is telegenic and that ratings soar whenever she appears, they know that she is still very popular in Alaska, They know she has not been shy about going after president Obama and when given the chance to say she was wrong, there were unable to do so.
This is why the media is not trusted. Morning Joe is the most honest show on MSNBC yet they HAD to dismiss Governor Palin before and after conceding she was right.
They understand that unless she is marginalized she WILL be elected Obama or no.
This takes priority over everything else, but what really disappoints me is Barnicle. He knows real people and how regular guys think. When Mika pointed out the contradiction Barnicle dismissed her again. If anyone recognizes Palin for what she is he should, but I guess some things trump others.
Will they be able to keep this up after 4 years of Obama? We’ll see.
Update: And there’s another one.