Posts Tagged ‘irony’

…is New York Times reporter Stephine Strom.

I sent an e-mail through the times feedback system this morning asking about her opinion on the current stories, how it jibes with her reporting from last year and if she plans on further reporting.

I think she is the real loser of this whole story. As Michelle mentions today she was breaking story after story on this when the Times shut her down.

Instead the times decided to ignore this and other stories (read Van Jones) at the cost of their credibility with the public.

A lot of other places ignored it too, but the times actually had an “in” and threw it away, what kind of Newspaper does that?

I’m not a reporter but I’m sure a professional reporter could appreciate how it must just twist your guts to lose a scoop like this.

I’ll let you know if Strom replies and what she says.

Update: Don Surber says aloud what I’m thinking:

I am convinced now more than ever that the unindicted Racketeer Influenced Corrupt Organization known as ACORN was the spine of the campaign to elect Barack Obama.

And THAT is why the Times had to repress the story.

Update: Misspelled her name, that’s why she is a pro and I’m not.

Morning Joe (morning shows) what will they cover?

Posted: September 16, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , , ,

I didn’t hit the sack till way after 1 and couldn’t fall asleep right away but I HAD to know what people was saying.

Fox is covering Acorn of course…

CNN is opening with the awful murder in Connecticut. Very legitimate story and important to cover and heading straight to Carter.

Morning Joe is leading with Carter but unlike MSNBC in general they are not liking what they hear. Mika is calling Carter not only wrong but irresponsible. Barnicle is saying race is playing a part but Carter is overstating it and Joe is with Mika and says that the hatred Obama is seeing pales before what he saw in the 94 campaign concerning Clinton.

The top 6 stories don’t include the Acorn news.

Morning Joe is calling the attacks on Wilson racism and mentions bigotry against the South. R.S. McCain would agree and so would I.

Update:

6:21 Politico is covering the media coverage on Acorn and Van Jones and is on the air over it. Nothing on the new tapes yet, they are making the story the MSM story more their story rather than what Acorn is doing. The MSM angle is a legit one but the most interesting point is the statement that if we don’t cover the stories they will lose viewers.

They admit that if the Christian Colition was covering this story it would have been front page. Scarborough is hitting them on ideology saying it was because it was a Fox story. Mike Allen is saying there is just too many other stories to cover too.

But news executives argue that they have limited staff and resources, and there is a lot more to cover on a daily basis than a handful of controversies stirred up primarily on the right.

“For Glenn Beck to devote 45 minutes of his show to ACORN and Van Jones says more about his news judgment than mine,” said Dean Baquet, Washington bureau chief of the New York Times.

“He’s not a newsman and that’s not a news show,” Baquet continued. “He’s not trying to cover the economy, two wars, health care, the aftermath from one administration to another, negotiations with Iran or North Korea.”

What was that line from the Godfather? Your foes grow strong on what you leave behind.

Update: 7:44 a.m. They are directly covering the Acorn story with Lisa Myers doing a full NBC story. This should be good.

Sen. Shelby is on now and pointing out the taxpayer dollars that they are getting. The Irony that a senator from Alabama is on directly after Dyson is huge.

Barnicle: How many other groups out there are also getting money and not being checked on.

Obama a Jihadi Must read

Posted: September 10, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

I’m sorry just can’t make this stuff up:

So we now know the most popular read material among the Guantanamo prisoners. The three most requested book, followed up by a string of Muslim religious volumes, are apparently:

1) The Harry Potter novels

2) Cervantes’ Don Quixote

3) Barack Obama’s Dreams from my Father

Make of that what you will.

Marc Ambinder says this:

So here’s a challenge to the media: if you want to do justice to conservative ideas and find some balance in your coverage tomorrow, book serious Republicans with original ideas on your programs. If you don’t, Palin is giving herself a voice at your expense and through little effort of her own.

He claims that Sarah Palin doesn’t have expertise in that area so she shouldn’t be quoted. As President Obama only had expertise in community organizing and Mr. Ambinder hasn’t declared him too experienced to talk on national health care, this can’t be true.

Therefore I must assume he actually means this:

Please please please don’t report on her! I know she is the most popular republican with their base and I know that she makes news and brings ratings, but we don’t want to risk engaging her and making fun of her isn’t working so please keep her from as many eyeballs as possible, because if they read her themselves they might discover that she is not the nut that we want to people to believe that she is.

You had Mika on board this morning but that’s not going to be enough.

As was said last month, if she was as irrelevant and as unserious as claimed she is they would have ignored her from the start.

I guess since the left has such a fear of her maybe if they just avoid the name they can manage not to wet their pants. Might I suggest they refer to her as “She who must not be quoted”.

If nothing else you can save on the depends.

Update: Riehl shakes his head in disbelief.

Update 2: The White House releases talking points specifically directed toward “She who must not be quoted!“, Sarah Palin counter-punches.