Posts Tagged ‘irony’

It’s just too easy

Posted: March 29, 2009 by datechguy in catholic, opinion/news
Tags: ,

You know I was going to do a post on Mrs. Clinton’s gaffe in Mexico but you know what. It’s just too easy.

I suspect that if she had been president however she would have had a team that knew what they were doing, however since we have a lot of Clintonista’s in the Obama administration I don’t know if that is true.

I do wonder however if Mrs. Clinton is being ill served to remove a rival in 2012?

The American thinker notices something odd, that is unreported:

Rude and shaggy punk rockers who sneer at their president as “a fraud and an a**hole!”, who diss their national icons as “pr*cks” and “murderers!” have recently been arrested for attempting to visit a black civil rights activist who is being tortured in prison for quoting Martin Luther King in public.

And the reaction of the arts community is…

“Should’nt all hip people be outraged by this?..How come I haven’t heard about this in Rolling Stone Magazine, MTV, VH1, Time, Newsweek, Entertainment Weekly, People, Vanity Fair, OK, InTouch, InStyle, ABC, CBS, CNN etc. etc. etc. etc. etc. etc. etc.??

One guess why

It’s very simple. The insulted “president” is named Fidel Castro, the dissed national icon is named Che Guevara, and the black civil rights activist was jailed and tortured for campaigning for civil rights in Cuba for Cubans.

Need I say more?

This is my problem with the left. They will protest the US, they will attack George Bush but they would sooner shoot themselves then dare say a word about Fidel. This is the nasty secret the reason why I don’t respect so many on the left. Their answer to this outrage will be America is worse or its all America’s fault.

The guy who is imprisoned and tortured by Castro, the actual real thing? Can’t touch it. The whole Anti-anti business all over again.

When it all falls then our friends on the left will pretend that they were against it all the time, we were “all” against it. It never fails.

Hey remember Bill Ayers?

Posted: March 24, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news
Tags: , ,

…his compatriot Mark Rudd does as Ronald Radosh explains:

After the Columbia strike, when seeking to up the ante, Rudd and his comrades transformed SDS into the group first known as The Weathermen, and later, as The Weather Underground. Unlike his comrade Bill Ayers, who is both unrepentant and who distorts and lies about the Weathermen’s goals and activities, Rudd is reflective and truthful. He does not depict himself, as does Ayers, as someone who was part of the broad peace movement.

Back then, Rudd, Ayers and his wife Bernardine Dohrn favored “the necessity for violence in order to end the war and also to make revolution.” They were fighting “a revolutionary war from within the United States,” Rudd explains. When successful, the Weathermen would then build a new revolutionary army staffed by young defectors from the US armed forces.

To achieve these ends they adopted “armed struggle,” as the only way to achieve their revolutionary goals.

Rudd’s book is Underground My Life with SDS and the Weathermen but don’t worry, Radosh’s review informs us that he still thinks the US is evil and he explicitly states that his Dorn’s and Ayers goal was to kill hundreds of US soldiers and their women at Ft. Dix. So honesty hasn’t changed him as much as it could.

It does however have him a mere 29,433 slots behind Mark Levin today at Amazon.

via Powerline. What’s always bothered me about this stuff is how people are so willing to gloss over Ayers attempts at mass murder and make excuses for it? Would do the same with these fellows? If not why not? Both were terrorists and both used the law and system at the time to avoid murder charges.

It’s the same thing, but its Paul Kengor’s anti-anti-communists gone wild..

I second this motion but…

Posted: March 23, 2009 by datechguy in opinion/news, tech
Tags: ,

…it doesn’t absolve the voter’s responsibility:

Hello, children, you elected this guy. Take some responsibility!

No, don’t go complaining the people did that. You did it. Obama is your man, your hero. You never vetted, never examined him in any depth at all, even though the candidate had hardly any experience other than running for office. (Oh, yes, he was a “community organizer.” So was I, in a sense. You want to elect me?)

He notes the rats jumping ship after only two months

But what we have instead is an orgy of finger-pointing. The four New York Times columnists referenced in the Politico article above are simultaneously ganging up on the man they thought, only eight weeks ago, was a combination of the cat’s meow and the bee’s knees. Nary a word of self criticism in their attacks. No surprise there – and don’t expect it in the future, any more than you will get an honest apologia from Messrs Frank and Dodd over Fannie and Freddie. Just like the politicians, these columnists are men and women (Dowd) who are concerned first and foremost about their jobs and power. They won’t do anything to jeopardize that. They’ve had that power for a long time, thinking it was permanent; but now that they see it might not be, they are holding on to it for dear life. Their jumping off the Obama bandwagon so early is a sign of what deep trouble he is in. And they desperately don’t want to be blamed for it.

But they will be blamed – by us and by other people. They deserve to be. Their day is over.

I have to disagree at this point. If it was even 10 years ago you might be able to make this argument but today we have the internet, and blogs, and fox news and people online who will not only fact check you but will have loud debates over who is saying what. If somebody barfs in bolivia you can’t hide it from the net.

Yet we the people with a vast amount of information at our fingertips. More info than the most powerful kings of yore or of FDR or even Reagan just 30 years ago, choose to watch youtube videos, play pogo or look for hot chicks online, play fantasy baseball or World of Warcraft. Plenty of vetting information not filtered by the press was out there for the people, they either choose to ignore it, discount it or most likely not bother to view it.

The press didn’t do their job in the last election that much is clear but did regular Americans. I can respect a person who knew this stuff but decided either his positions or their agenda was better served by candidate Obama vs candidate McCain, but I have little respect for those who didn’t even bother to check. They had access to all the stuff Roger is talking about but it just wasn’t important enough to check.

Like I always said we get the government we deserve.