Posts Tagged ‘joe biden’

Next week the NFL begins their season and there is as there always seems to be talk about the possibility of signing a woman as a kicker.

My thought on this is simple. As long as she doesn’t complain about being flattened by a 300lb man trying to block a kick, doesn’t hesitate to try to tackling a 250 pound mass of muscle returning a punt or blocked field goal and doesn’t mind be bruised when knocked on her ass by someone blocking her why trying to make that tackle, then I’m good with it.

But I don’t want to hear a single person complain if or when that woman is carried off the field after this.

—————-

On the subject of football is it just me or does nobody talk about James White?

I know that Edelman is spectacular, I know that Grok is well Gronk and I know that Gordon is a hell of a story but is there a player over the last few years who has been as consistent and as valuable as James White has been for the Patriots? Every time one or more of those other guys are gone White is still there and has come up big.

I think James White is the most underrated and underappreciated championship player on a championship team, not by Brady btw but by everyone else.

——————-

Is it just me or have the powers on high on the left decided that Trump will be elected thus Biden needs to be the sacrificial nominee to him?

———————

I think we shouldn’t be surprised at the MSM reaching the point where they are just making things up about Trump.

When you have a culture that is no longer Christian and is expressly Marxist and utilitarian you’re not going to be restrained by the standards of truth and facts.

I’m just surprised that so many on the left keep falling for it.

—————————–

There was a time when we were still a Christian Society and not split into a Christian and a post christian society with media, academic and cultural elites ruling the latter that the mothers of the girls mentioned in Stacy McCain’s piece would have given the warning he did about doing porn:

Well, of course, the video was circulated all over the high school — and who knows where else? The sharing of obscene photos and videos has become shockingly commonplace among young people, who don’t seem to understand the potential consequences. Parents have to warn their teenagers explicitly against this kind of behavior: No nudes, ever.

Don’t send such pictures of yourself, and don’t solicit them from others. If someone offers to send you such photos, tell them “hell, no,” block their phone number and avoid associating with them. Otherwise, you might “live your life in sin and misery,” and that’s a sad song you don’t ever want to sing.

The two sentence that follow are both truth. The first is a hard and cruel

Oh, the unbearable shame of it all! You were whoring around and thought nobody would ever find out what a nasty whore you are? Oops

But the 2nd is sadder because if the 2nd had been true very the number of young ladies that the first sentence would have been true about would have been dramatically increased.

What is happening, obviously, is that the parents of these girls have failed to warn them of the dangers, and probably most parents would not believe how common such behavior has become.

Given the devastation wrought by communism and Nazism in the 20th century it’s likely inaccurate to think of the 60’s generation as the single biggest win of the last 100 years for the Devil, but it easily makes his top five.

My post on Canon Turner’s 1st Mass got a lot of attention considering it wasn’t instalanched and I wanted to make a point that might have been unclear.  I have been to the Latin mass before just not a high mass of the type that was on display.  Personally I think it would be healthy for both the vernacular and the Latin masses to both be offered in all parishes.  It would be a perfect illustration of Christ as fully human and our brother while also fully Divine as our God.  I think it’s healthy to remember both.


I don’t see why anyone is surprised that Joe Biden got the decade wrong that RFK & MLK were assassinated.  Given the historical ignorance of the young who tend to vote democrat these days and the attempts to re-write history such a mistake makes perfect sense.  Of course, maybe 1968 identifies as a year in the 70’s


Speaking of re-writing history the NYT 1619 project attempt to reframe a false history as true has actually been going on for a long time by the left.  It’s been a full generation since Mary Lefkowitz Not out of Africa and the backlash she got for refusing to teach myth as history the only difference is now their bold enough to admit it and no amount of facts such as the Vice President of the Confederacy’s attack on the founding fathers for opposing Slavery and considering it evil will stop it.  What happened with Lefkowitz was the broken window theory of this type of thing


On a similar subject that’s a pet peeve of mine on twitter this week the subject of Transgenders altering their birth certificates to change their birth sex/name is something I think is very wrong.  A birth certificate is a legal document recording an actual event.  Namely a person was born of a particular sex to a particular set of parents on a particular date at a particular place.  These are all facts and are not subject to the whims or vanity of others.  Now if you wanted to create a document that was a “certification of live birth”  where a city can certify that a person who has a different legal birth name and a different legal birth sex was in fact born at a particular place on a particular year that would be a fair compromise but we have no business changing the written record.


Finally there is word that Dicks Sporting goods which made a big deal about being woke on guns is considering discontinuing guns altogether.  It actually makes perfect sense when you consider the reaction by gun owners to the company’s previous move:

“I’m not furious, not at all. They made a business decision. I get it. They want to step out of their non-political lane and become corporate activists. I can calmly step out of my lane, too. And given every chance I get, I will not use their products,” he said.

If buyers of guns with long memories are still angry and not going to your stores and you have no interest in getting their business back it’s a logical business decision to stop carrying items that might appeal to that customer base, the remaining guns and hunting items in this case,  and move to a set of items that appeal to the customers you still have.

It’s the same principle that MSNBC and the NYT is using when moving away from reality why give facts when your remaining base will only pay for propaganda?

As you might have heard Joe Biden, true to form, made a rather stupid gaffe on the campaign trail.

Now it’s not unusual for an old man born in a different era, even if they are not named Joe Biden, to say something impolitic in public but for the leading presidential candidate of a national party to so do, and do so on video meaning it can be easily disseminated, that type of story is one that would be normally considered “newsworthy”, particularly in an era of “trigger warnings” and in fairness there has been some coverage.

Time magazine gave it a whole five paragraphs the strongest being:

Biden has been criticized for his tendency to say awkward, sometimes surprising, things. When his future boss, Barack Obama, was running for president, Biden once remarked that Obama was “clean” and “articulate,” a remark that raised eyebrows.

Ooh Burn!

The Washington Post’s piece was a bit longer. Here are the key bits:

She [Biden’s deputy campaign manager] also fired back at the Trump campaign for having promoted the video.

“As we approach the two year anniversary of Trump calling neo-Nazis and Klansmen ‘very fine people,’ Donald Trump is desperate to change the subject from his atrocious record of using racism to divide this country,” Bedingfield said, referencing Trump’s comments following the deadly confrontation in Charlottesville in 2017 between self-proclaimed white nationalists and protesters.

New York Mayor Bill de Blasio, another Democratic White House hopeful, also sought to draw attention to Biden’s comments — as well as his campaign’s response.

“To quickly dismiss @JoeBiden’s words as a mere ‘slip of the tongue’ is as concerning as what he said,” de Blasio said on Twitter. “We need to have a real conversation about the racism and sexism behind ‘electability.’ ”

So they hit Biden with a line from one of the weakest candidates in the Democrat field and not only allow Biden’s spokes person to spin his gaffe away but one again spread a false meme about Trump.

Talking Points Memo included this tweet from the today show:

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

“Raised Eyebrows” wow that’s tough. How about the article itself:

While the remarks were seemingly a slip of the tongue, Biden’s been criticized for his record on race in recent weeks, particularly his past views on busing as a means of desegregation and his remarks about working with segregationist lawmakers in the past. Sen. Kamala Harris (D-CA) called out Biden during the first round of Democratic presidential debates, in an exchange that went viral and boosted Harris’ polling numbers significantly.

and USA today via Yahoo:

Speaking about his education plan, which would triple federal investment in lower-income school districts, Biden said the country should challenge students and increase the number of advanced placement programs in those schools.

“We have this notion that somehow if you’re poor you cannot do it. Poor kids are just as bright and just as talented as white kids,” Biden said, before adding: “Wealthy kids. Black kids. Asian kids. No, I really mean it. But think how we think about it.”

“They can do anything anybody else can do, given a shot,” Biden added.


It’s as he never said a thing.

finally there is the daily beast, also via yahoo which not only included a quote from the Trump campaign:

President Trump’s re-election campaign was quick to seize on the slip-up and share a video of the remarks. “Yikes… have fun mitigating that one,” Andrew Clark, rapid response director for the Trump campaign, wrote on Twitter.

but actually noticed the irony involved

Biden, who has dubbed himself a “gaffe machine” for his well-documented history with verbal blunders and embarrassing slip-ups, has yet to comment on his remarks, which came just hours after he said President Trump “encourages white supremacists.”

Mind you this is the roughest coverage that anyone in the MSM has given Biden on this story. It’s as if they had bought themselves a RonCo Gaffe-scratcher guaranteed to remove Gaffe’s or your money back!

All of this coverage is designed to make this a one day story that doesn’t even make it below the fold which objectively it would be and should stay as long as nobody of consequence in the Democrat field touches it.

In a time when news media was interested in reporting news that would be perfectly fine, but re-read that coverage again and ask yourself this question.

If the speaker at that Iowa event was Donald Trump or even Mitt Romney instead of Joe Biden how would that story have played in those stories.

They would have been full of statement from prominent Democrats deploying them and calling him to step down, there would be journalists asking every republican in congress to comment on the statements. Panels on the cable news networks would be discussing it daily and till election day it would be a theme of the coverage.

And if you don’t believe me do a search of the phrase “Binders of women”

Now it only remains to be seen if President Trump decides to have fun with it the next time the Democrat / Media falsely quote him on Chancellorsville.

There was one constant from yesterday’s Democrat debate. Joe Biden was under constant attack for a really horrible crime in the eyes of his opponents.

It seems that according to the Democrats on the stage that Barack Obama, who is the greatest president who ever lived and is above even the slightest criticism, apparently make a bunch of very bad decisions during his eight years of office,.

And all of these bad decisions from Obamacare, which every single democrat on that stage (with the possible exception of Yang) thought was the greatest bit of legislation ever passed, to his handling the border and putting kids in cages, which again nobody on the stage had the slightest problem with before, was NOT the fault of Barack Obama, the first black president and the greatest president who ever lived according to those on stage, but instead can be laid at the feet of Joe Biden as a white male who was unable to convince the president to do all of those things differently.

In other words “The Obama years sucked and the electorate knows it but we can’t say that because he’was the 1st black president so we’re going to blame it on you Joe”

That’s pretty much it.