Posts Tagged ‘morning joe’

actually two class acts one them from the Ump and the other from the Pitcher.

The pitcher Armando Galarraga when the call was blown didn’t explode, didn’t make a giant fuss, pointed out that we are all human.

The umpire Jim Joyce admitted his mistake, showed regret and remorse.

If pols showed this much sense then their mistakes would not be as fatal.

And as for those who are so outraged I’m with Chris Murphy, get over it.

One of the mistakes of the Obama administration was the “I’m in charge” mode on this, taking ownership on the BP stuff early. Now he owns a mess.

Matthews just compared it to the Iranian Hostage Crisis in terms of political cost. That is exactly right and depending on the long term effects of this spill (BP will eventually get it fixed maybe even this week.) it will bleed him the same way the Iranian Hostage Crisis did.

The ultimate Arthur vs Carter experience!

And they agreed with me that it wasn’t something to critique

Apparently he should say the same thing to CBS and Sally Quinn:

When it comes to things that caused Al and Tipper Gore to lose sleep and ultimately their love for each other, it turns out that George W. Bush was higher on the list than chlorofluorocarbons and Twisted Sister — at least according to a “family friend.”

I’m more than a little ashamed of myself that in my first post about the Gore separation that I didn’t think to blame Bush for Al and Tipper’s marital breakdown — but fortunately CBS News and Sally Quinn were there to pick up the slack:

Smitty meanwhile offers a particularly Baptist take on the subject.

On Morning Joe today they are going the whole “Bring them to justice” mode.

Everybody seems to be acting as if BP was just dying to release oil into the Gulf, but what really annoys me is the suggestion that BP isn’t trying to fix this.

Does anyone seriously doubt that from Day 1 BP has been trying to plug and/or stop that leak. Is there anyone who seriously thinks that they WANT oil spilling into the gulf?

Naturally there are going to be lawyers and suits and that is a cost of doing business, that’s cool. When you get you get the type of accident that happens once every two generations like this one is going to be expensive, that’s cool and fair but lets not forget that the goal isn’t to break the company, lose the energy it produces or the jobs it creates.

Actually that is a goal for some but it shouldn’t be a goal for us.

Update: The Anchoress Tweets along those lines:

Good thing about BP Oil Spill: it’s got Obama talking about “jobs.” I wonder how many will lose jobs w/ drilling stopped?

Yup that’s it.