Posts Tagged ‘obamacare’

…let me spell it out.

All the different tricks and rabbits that these congressional idiots are trying to pull out of their hats to get this garbage bill passed are basically trial balloons to see if they can get away with them with the media and the public.

They do not have the votes, they know they don’t have the votes. The only thing they have is the hope that we will think that they have the votes and that we will back off.

The media will keep coming after this from a different angle, each one designed to trick us, to get our guard down. Don’t buy it.

Regardless of what people are saying these people know they have a tiger by the tail, if it wasn’t for pressure from the White House they would have dropped this nonsense by now.

The smart thing for the White House to do would be to cut their losses, admit that the public just isn’t stupid and uninformed enough to fall for this bit of graft ready to support “reform” in its current state and say ya caught us, oh well no harm in trying “Although this is and remains a priority for us, we hear the voice of the people that the jobs issue has to be handed first and decisively and this is a White House that listens to the people that elected them.”

Update:
Joe Scarborough is one of those who don’t get it. He actually said on the Today show that this bill passing is a “foregone conclusion”. If that was true it would have been passed a long time ago, they wouldn’t still be stalling. This administration wanting it passed doesn’t make it so, not when the president will have to go to Indonesia to find a place where thousands of Americans aren’t protesting his appearances.

…comes from Breitbart TV:

Sen Byrd is much older now. But that message is still what it is.

Perhaps it was this speech that convinced McCain & Graham that democrats could behave with honor.

My warning still stands.

about democrats not willing to bring back the gang of 14 in the words of Ben Nelson:

“It is not the same as it was before.”

Of course it is not the same, democrats are in power now, restraint and rules are only principles for our democratic friends if republicans are in charge.

I didn’t like the nuclear option before, I don’t like it now, but I repeat my message. If these are the new rules of the game, when we have power we will use them without restraint.

And we will have power very soon!

Lindsey Graham, you earn the Full You Fool moment!

I’m sure the media will come roaring forward endorse the gang of 14 concept that they embraced years ago…

…the day after Ahmadinejad visits Yad Vashem.

Before I go any farther let me stipulate that both Senator McCain and Graham have done yeoman service for the country. I supported John McCain proudly for president in 2008 and the country would be in far better shape if he had won.

A few years back Sens McCain and Graham were involved in a project called the “Gang of 14”. This was a bi-partisan attempt to break a logjam concerning judicial nominees without using what was then called the “Nuclear” or “Constitutional” option” to force said judicial picks through.

The results although annoying to conservatives resulted in two first class Supreme Court picks and some lesser judges making it through. It also preserved the rules of the senate from an attempt to play games with the rules. I didn’t like the idea on the grounds that if you play loose with the rules eventually when power shifts you have to deal with said rules yourselves.

The Senate is specifically meant to slow down the process of passing laws, to force sober thought. It is meant to be a drag on the will of the people in the sense that it’s deliberate nature gives folks the chance to think things through.

Which brings us today to reconciliation etc…

Sens McCain and Graham seeing the situation with the attempts once again to play games with the rules are trying again to re-create the “Gang of 14” to see if this can be prevented.

Imagine their surprise when the five democrats still serving seem unwilling to re-create said gang now that it’s purpose is to restrain Democrats from playing games with the rules.

Imagine their shock when the MSM who embraced the goals of the Gang of 14 when the job was to restrain republicans when it the majority show disdain when it can be used to restrain democrats.

The real shock is the idea that people who have been in the military, who have been in politics for decades, people who have seen the other side at work are naive enough to believe that they meant what they said about the sanctity of the rules and rights of the minority party.

The real shock is that the lessons of the last election where the media did not even pretend to be unbiased in endorsing an inexperienced Chicago Machine Pol because of the pigmentation of his father’s skin still have not hit these men. They still expect the media that can’t get basic things right to report fairly and be consistent in their opinions.

I am optimistic by nature, but I think the at best they will get Bird who is so sick it won’t matter much.

Granted I still don’t think the democrats will get their bill because the members of the house will not jump off a cliff because Speaker Pelosi says so. (You first Nancy) but one has to note the actions of the other side.

Of course democrats are also not considering that if they do this we Republicans will not bother to restrain ourselves when we take power (and it looks like this will be soon).

Sen McCain and Graham’s attempt to shame these people is not a bad thing per-se, but their unwillingness to recognize people and things for what they are seriously suggest that their primary challenges might be better choices for their states.

It will be interesting to see what the morning shows say tomorrow.