Posts Tagged ‘reality’

I would take it as Axiomatic that there are some advantages to dictatorship or absolute Monarchy, decisions and reactions are faster, the rules are simpler, (fail to follow them and you die or if you have an enlightened absolute exiled) Generally crime and punishment are more direct (see Saudi Arabia) and if you are one who is favored by the dictator or Monarch you are likely living pretty.

That being the case it doesn’t surprise me to read this article at the Guardian lamenting the death of East Germany:

Of course, unification brought with it the freedom to travel the world and, for some, more material wealth, but it also brought social breakdown, widespread unemployment, blacklisting, a crass materialism and an “elbow society” as well as a demonisation of the country I lived in and helped shape. Despite the advantages, for many it was more a disaster than a celebratory event.

This could have been written by any of our Castro loving left today, and they would justify it any sympathize with it. Just as they said that people were better in Iraq when Saddam was there or how it would be ok to let the Taliban have Afghanistan again.

They make a small currency of freedom since they take it for granted, but lets play a game. Lets say instead this was written by a white south African decrying the end or apartheid or a Plantation owner in 1870.

Our friends on the left would be (rightly) outraged at this idea yet as I look at the memeorandumlink I see a few blogs on the right but no outrage from the left.

Bill Jacobson says it best

What is remarkable about the philosophy of putting economic security over individual liberty is that it is such standard left-wing fare. And it sounds so familiar lately.

Ms. de la Motte should not be so sad. She could have a fine future ahead of her in Washington, D.C

Let me be blunt, this woman is either deluded or evil and I sure hope it is the former. She would press the button in that new movie to get the million bucks and as one of the elites she did. Her comfort was purchased with the lives and blood of her countrymen no differently than the slaves of the south or the oppressed of South Africa.

Learn from her or be prepared to repeat her mistake.

Update: The Anchoress as always finds the right way to put it:

I’m thinking Bruni de la Motte would not have much liked the “asocial” Ulrike Poppe. Possibly Bruni de la Motte would have reported her for not being happy that her life was being so efficiently managed for her.

If she doesn’t write for a living she should.

In case my conservative friends still haven’t gotten it let me say one more time. I dislike this healthcare bill and believe it should be defeated.

But lets look at something interesting:

One month ago it looked like Dede the angrysmug would be elected to congress. She would be the one republican vote for this bill. She would be lionized by the media and held up as an example of moderation and bi-partisianship. She would be interviewed on every MSM outlet and held up as an example saying that Republicans need to moderate on Abortion and Gay Marriage. For a year this would be shoved down our throats.

But by the efforts of Doug Hoffman, Sarah Palin and conservatives all over the country. Dede was dropped like a bad habit and may even lose her position in the NY Republican delegation.

Although Hoffman was not elected he was just about the only republican/conservative who wasn’t on Tuesday. The democrat who defeated him Bill Owens managed to compromise himself with the voters who elected him in under 24 hours (Hoffman 2010). The president was desperate for a victory and more importantly needed one NOW! As time passed the 2010 election would be coming closer and the vote would be more painful and costly for blue dog democrats.

Now comes Joseph Cao the man who replaced William (Refrigerator) Jefferson. His district is about as democratic as you can get and he squeaked through with 49% to win. The bill is very popular there but Cao wasn’t buying and I wrote about this in August:

You know that in a district where there hasn’t been a republican congressman since 1890 and is 64% black it might be politically necessary for a newly elected republican to support the president on some key issues. Even if Abortion is paid for in it..

But Don Surber reports that when congressman Anh Cao says he is a Catholic, unlike say a John Kerry or a Nancy Pelosi he means it:

Cho bluntly stated that he would rather lose his seat than to vote for a healthcare bill that supports abortion.

Obama needed a win and wanted at least one republican so places like Think Progress could have headlines like this:

House Passes Historic, Bipartisan Health Reform Legislation

So comes the Stupak amendment and the vote for it. ONE QUARTER of the democratic caucus votes for the pro-life amendment, Pro-Abortion democrats hold their nose and vote for the final bill anyway.

Now the media has a dilemma: There is a Republican who voted for the bill. He is the first Vietnamese congressman, he has a great story and now he has been the vote for healthcare, one would expect that he would be lionized all over the place…

…however he is a DEVOUT Catholic and only was willing to vote for the bill because the Abortion provision was included and has made it clear that re-election campaign if the Abortion language goes so will he.

What is the MSM to do? Can they lionize an anti-abortion republican? Can they praise him on the talk shows? Will Obey, Maddow, the today show, the view and all the others dare to push him and praise a believing catholic who practices what he preaches?

If they don’t then they lose their bi-partisan meme if they do then they lionize faith. I think they will ignore him, I think in the end the media is so far left that even supporting Obama and this bill is not enough for them to go against their sacrament.

God works in mysterious ways, but I don’t see this as very mysterious. Bills come and go, parties rise and fall but Sin is Sin and God is constant.

I still hope the bill will fail but I’m going to enjoy watching the media squirm over the next two days over Cao.

As I’ve already said the passage of the Health Care bill is a really bad idea, if the Senate plays along this will be disastrous for the country.

As any pro-life person can tell you however there was one bright shining star of a moment when over 60 democrats voted for a Pro-Life amendment that restricts federal funds for abortion through this bill.

That is nearly a quarter of the democratic caucus voting on a purely Pro Life measure.

The simple fact is the country has slowly become more pro-life over time, this is not a big surprise as the people who are most likely to support abortion have been demographically outperformed by those of us who don’t.

In addition Planned parenthood has disposed of millions of their voters with their parents consent. (Given the choice of losing elections or having those kids alive there is no contest. Give me live people!)

Add to this an increasing Central and south American Catholic presence in the land and the numbers do not look good for abortion.

I’ve said and I maintain that Abortion is a sacrament of the left but ironically it is the need of president Obama to get a bill, ANY BILL passed that forced democrats to make this deal.

If the democratic party learns this lesson and becomes if not a pro-life party but a party that embraces pro-life candidates it could become a paradigm shift. Abortion is the single biggest issue for religious people, particularly Catholics.

The very liberal base will be furious but where else will they go?

Americans should be scared, VERY scared over the passage of Obama care, but republicans should be scared VERY scared over this development.

Me I’m a Republican over a lot more than Abortion but I’ll take the hit to my party if it helps prevent an intrinsic evil. No single issue is more a question of good and evil than abortion and if the democrats are willing to come down on the side of good, I’ll be very happy.

Yet another ad that can’t attack Windows 7

Posted: November 7, 2009 by datechguy in tech
Tags: , , ,

The newest Mac vs PC ad is out mentioning Windows seven and it has something in common with the first one…

…it can’t find anything bad to say about Windows 7. It plays the fear card but nary a word about the actual windows 7 operating system. And about that great customer service

If I’m Apple I’m afraid but not too afraid after all Microsoft needs them that’s why they invested 150 million in them. Microsoft does have anti-trust issues and if Mac dies those issues surface.