Archive for the ‘culture’ Category

Blogger on the left, as broadcast on WGN-TV Chicago during a Blackhawks game in Nashville in 2018

By John Ruberry

Oh, the things the left gets away with…

Unless you are consumer of conservative media, or news sources from Detroit–I’m both of those things—you probably missed a piece of awful offal from US Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-MI), a member of “the Squad.”

If you live in the Chicago area, as I do, you probably heard about the “racially insensitive” comments made by longtime Chicago Blackhawks announcer Pat Foley during a preseason game against a German team.

Tlaib, the first Palestinian-American woman elected to Congress, was touring Detroit’s Real Time Crime center, which utilizes facial recognition technology to identify criminal suspects. Tlaib has her issues with facial recognition forensics, She Tweeted in August, “@detroitpolice You should probably rethink this whole facial recognition bulls**t.”

In a tour last Tuesday of the center with Detroit’s police chief, James Craig, one that the Detroit News described as “tense,” the freshman congresswoman told Craig that only blacks should be employed as facial recognition analysists at the center. Yep. She said that. Her actual comments were, “Analysts need to be African Americans, not people that are not. I think non-African Americans think African Americans all look the same.”

Wow.

Craig, who is black, took the high ground by replying, “I trust people who are trained, regardless of race; regardless of gender. It’s about the training.”

Of course it is.

Craig later condemned Tlaib’s remarks. “If I had made a similar comment people would be outraged,” he told Detroit’s ABC affiliate, “they would be calling for my resignation.”

CNN.com covered the Tlaib facial recognition comments, as did Fox News, but the national media otherwise ignored her obnoxious remarks, although a Washington Post technology writer covered some practical issues with facial recognition in response to what she said.

In short, Tlaib got a pass because she is woke. She’s also a Democratic Socialist.

Not so Pat Foley, the television voice of the Chicago Blackhawks. I don’t know Foley’s politics. Perhaps he’s apolitical. But Foley, who is white, is not woke. He has not spoken of the glories of Bernie Sanders or Elizabeth Warren. He does not make large contributions to left-wing organizations. He has not apologized for his “white privilege.”

Oh, what did Foley say that got the left so upset? During that ‘Hawks preseason game against Eisbären Berlin, while opposing forward Austin Ortega handled the puck, Foley said, “Ortega, who sounds like he ought to be a shortstop.”

Yep, that’s it. A Chicago Tribune writer deemed Foley’s quip “racially insensitive.” The Blackhawks, in their apology stopped short of that, calling what he said only “insensitive.” Sports Illustrated covered the kerfuffle.

The Blackhawks in that statement noted that Foley, a recipient of the Foster Hewitt Memorial Award by the Hockey Hall of Fame, apologized to the Berlin team.

What appears to have ignited the controversy was a Tweet from an Hispanic hockey fan, Ghostchant, who distorted Foley’s words. “‘Ortega, sounds like he should be a shortstop’ instead of hockey.” Yep, “instead of hockey.”

But there is something else. Foley didn’t say “instead of hockey.” The Tweeter, who, if he has a sense of honor would place himself into his personal penalty box for a spell, added those words.

Here’s the entire Tweet along that “insensitive” comment from Foley.

In this split-second-glance-at-my-smartphone world, it’s easy to see why Ghostchant’s dishonest Tweet went viral. Many people look, get outraged, then re-Tweet or post on Facebook, without digging into the veracity of information on that puny screen, or, as I suspect in this instance, bothering to play the accompanying video clip.

Foley’s reputation has taken an undeserved dirty hit.

Tlaib, on the other hand, just keeps going.

What happened to Foley reminds me of a comment made by Nixon White House thug, Charles Colson, who later redeemed himself post-prison. “Anyone who opposes us, we’ll destroy,” he said, “as a matter of fact, anyone who doesn’t support us, we’ll destroy.”

That’s today’s left. Destroy first. Ask questions later. If at all.

There’s a lesson here. If you are a prominent person, unless you are deemed woke, you cannot comment on race or ethnicity, according to the rules of the high priests of the left.

John Ruberry regularly blogs at Marathon Pundit.

The Left Vs the Right in Two tweets

Posted: September 28, 2019 by datechguy in culture, Uncategorized
Tags:

Maxine’s in an online friend of mine and used to be one of the Liberal voices on DaTechGuy on DaRadio Panel. She’s a nice lady with a great family.

Every now and then however she illustrates the difference between left and right perfectly like in this exchange about impeachment

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

Hate crimes have been rampant under President Trump, amounting to a horrendous rate of 0.005 percent of the incidents tracked by the FBI.

That’s right. Despite the narrative that this administration has ushered in a climate of hate, the number of crimes is almost statistically insignificant.

Although every hate crime is abhorrent, I think it’s important to keep such incidents in perspective.

The most recent statistics from the Department of Justice and the FBI from 2017, an estimated 1,247,321 violent crimes occurred nationwide, a decrease of 0.2 percent from the 2016 estimate.

Of these incidents, hate crimes represented about 8,000 cases. Murders across the nation were double that. Rapes were 20 times higher. Burglaries were forty times worse.

A hate crime is a traditional offense like murder, arson, or vandalism with an added element of bias. For the purposes of collecting statistics, the FBI has defined a hate crime as a “criminal offense against a person or property motivated in whole or in part by an offender’s bias against a race, religion, disability, sexual orientation, ethnicity, gender, or gender identity.” Hate itself is not a crime—and the FBI is mindful of protecting freedom of speech and other civil liberties.

Although anti-Islam/Arab incidents rose after 2001, the numbers are relatively small. Moreover, blacks and Jews faced more attacks. Following are the statistics:

In 2017, law enforcement agencies reported that 4,832 single-bias hate crime offenses were motivated by race/ethnicity/ancestry. Of these offenses:

 48.8 percent were motivated by anti-black or African-American bias.
 17.5 percent stemmed from anti-white bias.
 10.9 percent were classified as anti-Hispanic or Latino bias.
 5.8 percent were motivated by anti-American Indian or Alaska Native bias.
 4.4 percent were a result of bias against groups of individuals consisting of more than one race.
 3.1 percent resulted from anti-Asian bias.
 2.6 percent were classified as anti-Arab bias.

Hate crimes motivated by religious bias accounted for 1,679 offenses reported by law enforcement. A breakdown of the bias motivation of religious-biased offenses showed:

 58.1 percent were anti-Jewish.
 18.7 percent were anti-Islamic (Muslim).
 4.5 percent were anti-Catholic.

Simply put, the data don’t back up the narrative presented by the media and Democrats that hate is running rampant in the United States, But neither group has ever let the facts stand in the way of a bad story, particularly when the target is Trump.

There has been a rash of injuries in the NFL at QB this season, which is slightly surprising as the rules protecting that position have increased over the years, but no matter the oddity of it you are seeing a lot of new faces behind center early because of it.

This has led to some speculation that Colin (Castro is great police are evil) Kaepernick might find himself approached by a team for a backup position or maybe even more.

Now there are some advantages to such a signing, he is an experienced QB, he has played in a Superbowl and has now had several years of not being hit by 300 pound masses of muscle which can do wonders for the body’s healing process, however I suspect that he is doing much better financially as a professional martyr, which doesn’t involve 300 pound masses of muscle hitting you so I suspect that even if a team did come calling he would say no.

But let’s, for the sake of argument say that if a team in need, perhaps one that’s doing well but has already lost a QB loses another and convinces him to sign, say by appealing to his pride and he decides to go on the field, then things get complicated, now with the outraged fans, BUT WITH THE PLAYERS.

Now suddenly Colin Kaepernick is behind center and the whole, black lives matter, SJW network has everything riding on his success. If you are a black player on defense, WHAT DO YOU DO?

Remember if you hit this guy, or sack this guy or lead to this guy’s failure, do YOU become the target of SJW wrath? Are you considered a “race traitor?” are you going to be blamed because Kaepernick didn’t make it. Were you REALLY against him all the time? If you defend that pass as a black LB or Corner or Safety are you trying to let the bad guys win? And don’t get me started if a white defender sacks him. Were you out to get him because you’re gulp a TRUMP supporter? Did you hit him hard because you hate him?

It’s just as bad on offence. Say you are a white player either on the offensive line and somebody beats you on a play and gets to Kaepernick, are YOU going to be targeted by the SJW crowd, are people going to claim that you let these guys through just because you wanted to let Kaepernick get hurt? Are they going to say the same any time a white receiver drops a pass he throws or misses a block? Is your entire performance going to be about race. And it’s just as bad for a Black player on offense, will every dropped pass, hole you fail to rush through or block you fail to make be a betrayal of the cause?

People think that the fan reaction is why Kaepernick will never get on the field and early on that might have been true, but with the passage of time and the increase in crazy by the left in general the implication of being on the football field with Kaepernick have become so dire for players, that even though there might actually be sound reasons why a team might consider him for their roster I suspect many players of are quite content to do without him, even if they dare not say so.

Update: I didn’t mention the possibility of a defensive player lying down deciding he’s not going to make that play, or knock away that pass either because he’s down for the cause or because he’s afraid of being called racist.