Archive for the ‘politics’ Category

As you might have heard Joe Biden, true to form, made a rather stupid gaffe on the campaign trail.

Now it’s not unusual for an old man born in a different era, even if they are not named Joe Biden, to say something impolitic in public but for the leading presidential candidate of a national party to so do, and do so on video meaning it can be easily disseminated, that type of story is one that would be normally considered “newsworthy”, particularly in an era of “trigger warnings” and in fairness there has been some coverage.

Time magazine gave it a whole five paragraphs the strongest being:

Biden has been criticized for his tendency to say awkward, sometimes surprising, things. When his future boss, Barack Obama, was running for president, Biden once remarked that Obama was “clean” and “articulate,” a remark that raised eyebrows.

Ooh Burn!

The Washington Post’s piece was a bit longer. Here are the key bits:

She [Biden’s deputy campaign manager] also fired back at the Trump campaign for having promoted the video.

“As we approach the two year anniversary of Trump calling neo-Nazis and Klansmen ‘very fine people,’ Donald Trump is desperate to change the subject from his atrocious record of using racism to divide this country,” Bedingfield said, referencing Trump’s comments following the deadly confrontation in Charlottesville in 2017 between self-proclaimed white nationalists and protesters.

New York Mayor Bill de Blasio, another Democratic White House hopeful, also sought to draw attention to Biden’s comments — as well as his campaign’s response.

“To quickly dismiss @JoeBiden’s words as a mere ‘slip of the tongue’ is as concerning as what he said,” de Blasio said on Twitter. “We need to have a real conversation about the racism and sexism behind ‘electability.’ ”

So they hit Biden with a line from one of the weakest candidates in the Democrat field and not only allow Biden’s spokes person to spin his gaffe away but one again spread a false meme about Trump.

Talking Points Memo included this tweet from the today show:

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

“Raised Eyebrows” wow that’s tough. How about the article itself:

While the remarks were seemingly a slip of the tongue, Biden’s been criticized for his record on race in recent weeks, particularly his past views on busing as a means of desegregation and his remarks about working with segregationist lawmakers in the past. Sen. Kamala Harris (D-CA) called out Biden during the first round of Democratic presidential debates, in an exchange that went viral and boosted Harris’ polling numbers significantly.

and USA today via Yahoo:

Speaking about his education plan, which would triple federal investment in lower-income school districts, Biden said the country should challenge students and increase the number of advanced placement programs in those schools.

“We have this notion that somehow if you’re poor you cannot do it. Poor kids are just as bright and just as talented as white kids,” Biden said, before adding: “Wealthy kids. Black kids. Asian kids. No, I really mean it. But think how we think about it.”

“They can do anything anybody else can do, given a shot,” Biden added.


It’s as he never said a thing.

finally there is the daily beast, also via yahoo which not only included a quote from the Trump campaign:

President Trump’s re-election campaign was quick to seize on the slip-up and share a video of the remarks. “Yikes… have fun mitigating that one,” Andrew Clark, rapid response director for the Trump campaign, wrote on Twitter.

but actually noticed the irony involved

Biden, who has dubbed himself a “gaffe machine” for his well-documented history with verbal blunders and embarrassing slip-ups, has yet to comment on his remarks, which came just hours after he said President Trump “encourages white supremacists.”

Mind you this is the roughest coverage that anyone in the MSM has given Biden on this story. It’s as if they had bought themselves a RonCo Gaffe-scratcher guaranteed to remove Gaffe’s or your money back!

All of this coverage is designed to make this a one day story that doesn’t even make it below the fold which objectively it would be and should stay as long as nobody of consequence in the Democrat field touches it.

In a time when news media was interested in reporting news that would be perfectly fine, but re-read that coverage again and ask yourself this question.

If the speaker at that Iowa event was Donald Trump or even Mitt Romney instead of Joe Biden how would that story have played in those stories.

They would have been full of statement from prominent Democrats deploying them and calling him to step down, there would be journalists asking every republican in congress to comment on the statements. Panels on the cable news networks would be discussing it daily and till election day it would be a theme of the coverage.

And if you don’t believe me do a search of the phrase “Binders of women”

Now it only remains to be seen if President Trump decides to have fun with it the next time the Democrat / Media falsely quote him on Chancellorsville.

When Barack Obama was elected I was making $20 working mostly from home with excellent Benefits, sick and vacation pay.

When Barack Obama left office eight years later I was working as a temp with no vacation or holiday pay at $9.50 an hour and that only because I worked 3rd shift and got a differential

When Donald Trump was elected I was still a temp making $9.50 with no benefits, no vacation pay or holiday pay.

Today 30 months into Donald Trump’s 1st Term I have a full time permanent 2nd shift job with good benefits, vacation and holiday pay at a wage over 50% higher than the day he took office.

I strongly suspect I am not the only person in this position.

Well shortly after we made our goal to cover the quote I was given to move the site and pay for a years hosting (thanks all) and authorized the folks who will be our new hots to start the wheels rolling on the move our site rather than just being a pain crashed and burned.

I was told by our current host that the site should be back up within 24 hours, that was 12 hours ago. I’ve been told by our new host who will be also looking to clean things up a bit that they have done nothing that should have brought the site down. IT people at work suspect a hack but I have no evidence to support that theory so I’ll see where things are tomorrow and go from there

Tomorrow I should know more but the are few things more depressing that to have two instalanches wasted on a site that’s down.

——————————–

The only thing crashing worse than my site right now are the Boston Red Sox who were unable to hold a lead against Kansas City on Wednesday. As I write the game is in the top of the 10th but it’s amazing how far the team has fallen in just a few months. But in fairness having lived through 40 years of the curse and having seen them win 4 World Series in 15 years I have a hard time going nuts over a bad season.

In fairness to the Red Sox I did advise them to stand pat. It was good advice as they weren’t going to win anything this year anyways.

————————–

I’ve been spending a lot more time on twitter than I usually do lately and I got into an interesting debate yesterday. The Washington Post put up their piece about how it’s up to 2nd amendment supporters to solve the shoootings problem, my suggestion was brief

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

What was really funny was I had been challenged on the idea that armed citizens could stop shootings. Apparently leftists had never heard of such a thing but an instapundit search for “good guy with a gun” produced so many results that I could have tweeted them to the fellow who objected all night.

The real story of course is he never heard of any of those stories because the national media doesn’t consider them newsworthy. See DaTechGuy’s 3rd law of media outrage for why.

(I still think it’s all because of the post Christian era as I said here)
—————————–

Speaking of stories the MSM doesn’t consider newsworthy the small scale cleanup in Baltimore was a great success that impressed residents and apparently pissed off the Editorial page of the Baltimore sun which seems to consider picking up trash in bad neighborhoods racist.

Of course if they really want all that trash gone fast the easiest way is to hold a Tea Party rally there. History tells us that Tea Party members always leave such places cleaner than when they got there.

——————————–

Finally as the main site is down here is a quick FYI as to what will happen that was about to go up there before everything died.

Assuming the main site goes back up tomorrow the plan is to do the move over the next several weeks and hopefully fix some site issues in the process. Primary posting will be done here and assuming the main site returns tomorrow there will be some text only posts going up there too. There were in fact 3 I was going to schedule when everything blew up.

Some of my writers will be posting here (like Christopher Harper) some at the other site (once it’s back up) and a few may take some time off, but I still have a lot to say so you’ll be seeing me daily hopefully at both sites but at least here till the move. Once the move is done this will again become the backup site until I can convert it into DaTechGuy’s home for retired bloggers.

Update: The site is back up (still with the problems it had before going down) and there is a lesson there about listening to your guardian angel.

Once upon a time nearly a decade ago in a New England State where Republicans never won national office and whose senior member of congress was considered the liberal Lion of the Senate even though he had run away and left a young lady to die (but nobody talked about that until years after his death because to do so might hurt Democrats) there was a state senator in a Republican district. He was a nice guy a soldier who had a beautiful wife and two lovely daughters. His seat was pretty secure and while he would have liked to have advanced further, the nature of the state made it unlikely he would ever be more than a state senator.

One day the Senator died and there was a special election to fill that seat and the Democrat managed to get into internal squabbles and nominated a candidate even worse than Hillary Clinton.  At the same time Democrats were trying to push through Obamacare and that Senate Seat turned out to be the 60th seat which would allow Democrats to break a filibuster and get any bill that the Democrats in the house and senate could agree on passed.

Well to everybody’s surprise thanks to the special election, the bad democrat nominee and the unpopularity of Obamacare the GOP candidate a state senator nobody had heard of by the name of Scott Brown won the special election and became a US Senator.

While he was a good US Senator and had time even for those who disagreed with him during his re-election campaign his consultant told him that the only way to win re-election, even though he was one of the most popular pols in the state was to run away from the activists who had showed up to vote for him. So he did so doing his best to compromise on issues dear to those tea party activists and when election day came he lost to a Harvard Senator who pretended to be an Indian.

After narrowly losing re-election and getting his pick for GOP chair rammed though the state convention he decided not to run in a 2nd special election made open by the new Senior Senator replacing Hillary Clinton in the Obama Cabinet even though his pick for state chair was picked specifically to help him win.

Instead he began considering running for Senate in New Hampshire.  He thought that his combination of being a “moderate” on social issues would be a good fit for election in the granite state but in addition to his positions on abortion that troubled many activists he took a soft line on Guns being open to gun control measures.

Gun rights activists in the state took notice and even before he announced his candidacy protested his appearances in the state and a blogger who covered the protester (who outnumbered those viewing the speech) in the freezing cold noted:

If you are drawing 300 people standing out in the cold on Dec 19th to protest Scott Brown how many are going to show up when the weather is warmer and they don’t have to stomp down the snow to make room for people to stand.

And that very year when a gun control measure came up for a vote in the state the overwhelmingly Democrat legislature voted against it and the blogger in question noted:

I’m confused:

Didn’t Democrats take the NH in an incredible landslide in 2012 winning over 110 seats from the majority republicans?

Didn’t everyone tell us the state was turning blue permanently and Senators like Kelly Ayotte were doomed unless they changed their tune on guns?

Didn’t Scott Brown himself come to NH and ignore a pro-gun rally of 300 people in the ice and snow emphasizing his support for gun restrictions.

I mean it’s one thing for Wendy Davis to flip on guns but Texas is about as far from NH as you can get, how do you get a totally lopsided victory for the pro 2A forces drawing over 60 democrats to their cause in a state in NE that we are told is turning blue.

The explanation will sound familiar to anyone who read the blog yesterday and saw the votes switch at the last minute.

A source in the state tells me NH Democrats wanted to pass this bill but with an election year that is looking poor they needed members of the house willing to bite the bullet & risk their seats.

And later on when covering Brown at the NLRC event notedNLRC event noted:

Nominating Brown takes the gun issue off the table that the GOP should be able to beat the Democrats over the head with and will put Kelly Ayotte who voted on the right side of the bill on the spot two years before her re-election campaign.

Well the NH party apparatus didn’t listen to those voter and that advice and nominated Scott Brown as their candidate in the US Senate and in a year where GOP senators won all across the country Scott Brown was the exception losing his election and ironically giving the Democrats the extra vote they needed to save Obamacare and Planned Parenthood funding during the early days of the Trump presidency and the former state senator from Massachusetts never held public office again.

Why am I telling the GOP this tale, because of this headline at Drudge:

REPUBLICANS COALESCE AROUND GUN CONTROL

Which links to a NYT story saying that the GOP is considering supporting new gun control laws:

Gun violence has been one of the most divisive and intractable issues in Washington, and even gun control advocates conceded that getting the House bill through the Senate would be a heavy lift. Senator Patrick J. Toomey, Republican of Pennsylvania, said Monday that he was reviving his background checks bill, which fell to a filibuster in 2013, and that he intended to press Mr. McConnell to bring it up if Republicans were convinced they had the votes.

“I think we need Manchin-Toomey,” Mr. Toomey said, referring to Senator Joe Manchin III, Democrat of West Virginia, his co-sponsor. “I think it’s overdue. This is a common-sense, very broadly supported measure that would fully respect the rights of law-abiding citizens, fully respect the Second Amendment.”

This has been the siren song of Democrats anxious to disarm their political foes for 40 years and every time the GOP members fall for this nonsense pushed by the left and the MSM it costs them elections, which is exactly why the left is so anxious for the GOP to go along with it.

I urge the GOP not to fall for this nonsense and leave them with this tweet…:

https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js

and this warning. If you manage to win a primary when you run on gun control don’t expect 2nd amendment voters to turn up for you in the general election.