Posts Tagged ‘2010 elections’

….has it’s uses.

Does the left actually understand how they look when they decide the Delaware election should turn on WitchCraft and masturbation as opposed to say….jobs and the economy?

The fact is the left would likely actually approve of the witchcraft business, the idea is to convince people who might vote for O’Donnell on the right that she is unsuitable for support, electoral or financial.

The problem here is that their vision of the right and the tea party is a parody of what they think the right is.

As long as that parody is their vision they will continue to fail, so more python moments please.

Oh and Mr. Soros, whatever you’re paying your guys, it’s much too much.

Update: It’s Michelle for the defense

Update 2: Instalanche thanks Glenn (love the Taft line). Hi people, nice to have you around. Got a lot of new entries (including gateway pundit) in DaTechGuy’s field guide to Bloggers, livebloged from WCRN this weekend (might be able to get a show of my own if I can get sponsors hint hint), I covered the 9/12 rallies extensively (the most important interview is here) Check out my interview with Jim McKenna whose successful sticker campaign has set him up to beat Martha Coakley and Bill Gunn who will send John Olver home in MA-1. Learn why Christine O’Donnell is a leader and I invite you to join me in defying murderous barbarians.

This afternoon I interviewed Jim McKenna (R) who ran an successful write-in/sticker campaign to get on the ballot to face Martha Coakley in the fall elections:

DTG: A write in campaign is tough, in a primary doubly so and would be considered impossible for a Massachusetts republican before this year. What happened?

JM: Experienced political people told us we couldn’t do it but the people got involved, there seemed to be more homemade signs and individuals pushing the candidacy than we ever expected. Between myself and Guy Carbone another fine write-in candidate we know at least 20k went to the polls motivated for this race. I’ve never seen people so involved.

I think this is the most significant event from election day INCLUDING the O’Donnell victory in Delaware.

I’ll explain in some detail later today on WCRN 830 AM between 4-6 p.m.

…for a couple of reasons.

1. I personally think the rules as written are a bit weird, If I make a call from this room but not that room it is legal or illegal. I understand the principle but I think it’s a question of having a lawyer smart enough to define the hoops. It’s not the location but the selling of favors that matter.

2. The idea of a congressman hitting up lobbyists for money is about as shocking as the concept that John Kerry & John Edwards combined spend more on their hair a year then I do on clothes (including Fedoras).

3. I actually disagree with this statement at Big Government

The call could be examined to see if it breaks House ethics rules, and could not come at a worse time for Democrats trying to maintain their majority in the House and Senate in November midterm elections. Ethics violations by Republicans helped get Democrats elected in the last two election cycles when House Speaker Nancy Pelosi vowed to “drain the swamp.”

I actually think this is the absolute best time for the Democrats to let every crooked deal and unethical thing dump out. This election cycle is lost, and not just lost, SPECTACULARLY lost. The MSM is pinning their Nov 2nd storyline on hopes of Senate victories in Delaware and Alaska two states who’s combined have the same amount of seats in the house as Rhode Island. and have less combined representation in congress that Connecticut.

If you are going to lose anyway make it big, that way any pickup in 2012 can be spun as a “return to moderation”.

But I guess if it’s your seat in danger it’s hard to see the big picture.

I personally think a less restrictive but more open set of rules would be best. As long as the people who vote you in know what you are doing and who you are getting the dough from I don’t have an issue.

…until it isn’t any more apparently.

Bonnie Jack, who was a Murkowski campaign elections observer for the count of absentee votes, sent out an email this morning. “Join us at the Kick-off of Senator Lisa’s campaign — with a theme of “write in her name in and fill in the oval.”

“Denai’na Convention Center, third floor and hopefully out on the sunny deck, 5 pm. Bring your family including children, friends and business associates. We plan to make history!”

I am dying to see Karl Rove, Charles Krauthammer et/al going after Murkowski in the same way they were so anxious to go after Christine O’Donnell.

One of the things I found last weekend when interviewing Tea Party activists is they DO NOT trust the Republican Party. It is stuff like this that earns their distrust. Stacy McCain says this:

Lisa Murkowski is as consumed with pathological narcissism as her worst enemies said?

Jonah Goldberg gives an excellent analysis and concludes with this Zinger!

How is she anything more than Arlen Specter in a dress?

To Lisa I say this. I know it is hard to lose a race but you’ve got a family and a life. Don’t define yourself by an office. It looks really REALLY bad.

This is the first shot that will cumulative in the nomination of 2012 that will determine if the republican party becomes the majority party or dies. From what I’m seeing of the reaction of the establishment it doesn’t look promising.

Update: Jim Geraghty (who I didn’t get a chance to introduce myself to at the blogcon debate) said this:

the RINO-hunters have a point that the moderates never seem to be willing to compromise or put the party’s interest first.

and from HotAir reports from her announcement:

This is one woman who won’t quit on Alaska

Earth to Lisa, you didn’t quit, you were fired by the voters.