Posts Tagged ‘irony’

Funny you should ask via Fr. Z links to an article at the LOGIA that describes themselves as a quarterly journal of Lutheran theology in it John Stephenson looks at the attacks on the Pope and has this to say:

The secular press has had it in for Joseph Ratzinger for going on three decades. Before his election as Pope in the spring of 2005, he was routinely derided in his homeland as the Panzerkardinal (“tank cardinal”) and caricatured in North America as the “Enforcer” or even the “Rottweiler.” The roots of this negative reputation stretch back at least as far as the book-length interview he granted to the Italian journalist Vittorio Messori that catapulted him to global fame when published as The Ratzinger Report in 1985. Prior to that juncture, as a heavyweight German academic who had leapfrogged over a major episcopal see (Munich-Freising) to become a leading official in the Roman curia (as cardinal prefect of the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith) under the still new John Paul II, Ratzinger’s was hardly a household name.

But shrewd observers must wonder about the startling disproportion between the enormous hue and cry artificially whipped up by the media and the softly spoken real life figure who seems always to have avoided hyperbole like the plague.

Let me reiterate that this is from a Lutheran journal. A denomination that refers to the Roman Catholic Church as, in the words of one Lutheran priest: “that institution that is rightly labeled as Antichrist in our Lutheran Confessions”. How bad must things be if the media has these guys defending the Pope? They have their own issues, big ones, yet they have at least eyes enough to see this for what it is. Here is the big finish:

As Easter of 2010 approaches, though, if for no other reason than that we remember Martin Niemöller’s post-war regret at not having spoken up for the Jews in due season, we might fitly major in sympathy, understanding, and prayer for the courteous and learned aged prelate who is right now a walking target for innumerable hellish darts launched by theological Modernists and by the unbelieving world that have between them zero tolerance for any crisp, clear, and confident confession of Christ Jesus our Incarnate God.

If any protestant church proclaiming Christ thinks that the media is their friend their errors are more than simply theological.

Exit question for professed Christians: Do you think it is an accident that the Roman Catholic Church is primary target of the secular media? And if it is not what does that say about the Church as opposed to other denominations that do not seem so worthy of their scorn?

Do you think that for one minute that MSNBC in general or Morning Joe in particular would have David Frum on if he wasn’t arguing against the Republicans and/or the Tea Parties that he would be prominently featured on Morning Joe?

Note that MSNBC is pushing his article of MARCH 21st. Gee I wonder why MSNBC wants to promote an article from 12 days ago? Could it be that the polls are so depressing for liberals that they need someone like Frum to buck them up?

The Irony of all this comes via hotair in the form of twitter from Frum on the 25th:

@jpfreire @alanarusso @mcmoynihan No, I am not going on Countdown tonight. They kindly invited me, but no. 2:08 PM Mar 25th via TweetDeck

What is the difference between now and then? The amount of invites he is getting these days I suppose.

And a link to this story when Frum takes on those conservatives who didn’t support the war:

The paleoconservatives have chosen — and the rest of us must choose too. In a time of danger, they have turned their backs on their country. Now we turn our backs on them.

Ironically one of those paleoconservatives he was talking about is sitting across the table from him this morning.

His argument seems to be that we should have worked with the democrats on this bill. Although he is correct in the sense that given the choice between having the house and/or the senate or stopping the healthcare bill I would have much rather stopped the bill, his take sounds like “This is a horrible and long term disaster for the country, and we should have helped them to it.” Good Plan!

The only effective way to stop and/or reverse this would be to first take back congress and then take back the presidency in 2012. Unless these two things take place this election cycle this will not be repealed. The odds are still bad but it should be tried.

It is the “David Frum republicans” like Bob “we can’t repeal this” Corker that are doing their darnedest to throw this possibility away.

Mr. From et/al have argued against social conservatism in the party, now he is arguing against the fight on the single biggest fiscal issue.

Maybe it’s just me, but a party that consists of only Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe and Andrew Sullivan just doesn’t sound like one that makes a majority.

Oh BTW did anyone notice that the only time Tucker “he’s not worth $800 a week” Carlson was when he broke a story hitting the GOP? It was a legit story but wishful thinking until the MSM bothers to pick up the actual pro-conservative stories there the daily caller is going to be just a larger than avg blog that preaches to the choir.

Let’s close with one more Frum quote from that article above:

America has social problems; the American family is genuinely troubled. The conservatism of the future must be a social as well as an economic conservatism. But after the heroism and patriotism of 9/11 it must also be an optimistic conservatism.

The easiest way to lose a fight is to not fight it.

Wasn’t it just a few years ago that Mustard Gas shell and dual use chemicals didn’t count as Weapons of Mass Destruction?

the only thing that would have satisfied the left that Saddam had WMDs would have been discovering a giant SPECTRE-sized Ken Adam-styled laboratory with men in white lab coats hard at work caught in the act.

Well lo and behold the same day that islamic terrorists slaughter a bunch of people in Moscow we pick up a Christian Militia group and apparently what they have is suddenly considered WMD.

I must also say that it’s interesting to see that Improvised Explosive Devices with Explosively Formed Projectiles, which, according to the indictment are “weapons of mass destruction.” That blows a big hole in the notion that there weren’t weapons of mass destruction in Iraq.

Via Glenn. I eagerly await the retraction of all the stories about no WMD in Iraq by all the sources on the left who attacked the Bush Administration.

…if Fidel Castro is endorsing his healthcare plan?

Isn’t that awesome? We’re finally “catching up” to the oppressive, poverty-stricken, third world ashtray of Cuba! Wouldn’t it be awesome if we just ended up like Cuba? I can’t wait to see the utopia that’s surely just around the corner!

Maybe we can eventually have a tyrannical murderer and blustering anthropoid “leader” like they do – one that cares about “the poor.” An Obamacrat can dream

And Hotair points out asks a relevant question?

Say, I wonder if that’s why Castro’s happy — because he knows where “common sense, middle of the road” reform in this case is likely to lead.

Val Prieto provides some links to what it leads to in Cuba, not for the faint of heart.

Well if we can’t call him a socialist perhaps there is another word we can call him:

In an editorial that the Obama Administration surely wishes had not been written, American communist newspaper People’s World issued a ringing endorsement of President Obama and the Democrats’ actions in muscling Obamacare through Congress over bipartisan opposition, with the editorial board of the communist newspaper claiming that the “enactment of this bill is an enormous victory for the broad progressive movement in our country” while oddly claiming that “almost every sector of American society” and “ordinary people from throughout the country applauded President Obama” and Pelosi for passing Obamacare.

Hey if it walks like a duck…

BTW props to Mika Brzezinski on Morning Joe for asking Claire McCaskill about this today.