Posts Tagged ‘irony’

You can find it here:

When he first talked to me about working on the show, Bill Prady told me that I’d be playing a “delightfully evil version” of myself. This sounded like a lot of fun to me, but it was more difficult to find that character than you’d think. When I’m playing Fawkes on The Guild it’s easy to slip into his kilt and be a jerk, but wearing my own clothes and essentially playing a stylized version of myself made it a real challenge to hit “delightfully evil” without veering into “not committed to being delightfully evil” or “just plain evil.” Keeping that twinkle in my eye, and knowing that Wil Wheaton (The Big Bang Version) is planning to scam Sheldon from the moment he sits down, was essential to this particular characterization working out, and I didn’t completely find it until we’d run the episode a couple of times.

The episode was very funny and the semi cameo was really good. I’d love to see him as a semi-recurring character.

Take a peek at it here:

It is very hard to be depressed when you have stuff like this to laugh at, that is why no matter politically insane they get I’ll always owe the python’s a debt of laughter. Amazingly they can still surprise me with things I haven’t heard:

The others remembered how, when in Germany to perform their stage show, And Now for Something Completely Different (in German!), they decided to make a day trip to visit the concentration camp, which had been converted into a Holocaust museum. They arrived to find the gates closed. Standing outside, Chapman puffed on his pipe and blurted out a suggestion: “Tell them we’re Jewish.”

They were let in.

I’m sorry but who else could make a joke like that?

Behold the Flemish menace!

Behold the Flemish menace!

If these guys are Fascists then Il Duce and der Fuhrer are spinning in their graves:

Vlaams Belang Senator Hugo Coveliers, together with his son Roel Coveliers and an Israeli lawyer, have lodged a complaint with the European Commission on behalf of 15 EU citizens who are living in Israel. The EU failed to sufficiently protect its citizens against Qassam rockets from Gaza.

Apparently the Alinsky methods will work against the left on the other side of the pond too, but I’d be careful after all look at that guy on the left do you think he can be trusted?

Update: If you aren’t fooled by this then use this handy field guide to identify the insidious Flemish menace.

yes I admit it I stole that line from Tim Blair’s commentator surfmaster of down south and in a bit, however it perfectly encapsulates the excellent poem on religious freedom that I am now stealing from Tim Blair main post:

The Pope’s a total Nazi
What’s the deal with those Hindus?
Judaism’s not so bad
Except for all the Jews

Hey, Buddha! Would it kill you
To wear a frickin’ shirt?
I can say most anything
And I’m never getting hurt

But let’s not mention Islam
We’ll play it safe instead
It’s hard to make religious jokes
When you don’t have a head

 

To say I wish I said that is the understatement of the year and perfectly encapsulates the problem with Radical Islam and it’s defenders. As for the rest I submit that God has a sense of humor, after all he created man.

As for the supports of Islam, if you don’t want to be laughed at and called a bunch of barbarians, I suggest you stop acting like a bunch of barbarians to wit:

A Somalian Muslim group reportedly has started whipping women in public for wearing bras that violate Islam, the Daily Mail reports.
Residents claim insurgent group Al Shabaab sent gunmen into the streets to round up women who appeared to have a firm bust. The women are inspected to see if their suspected firmness is natural or from a bra. Officials reportedly make the women shake their breasts after removing their bras.

Can a fatwa against Meagan McCain and Rule 5 Sunday be far behind?

And Yes Radical Islam deserves a Nelson every day of the year.

A: There is something important about it?

Look as an old married man heading toward 50 I have plenty of admiration for particular parts of the female anatomy and Miss McCain is an attractive young woman but she simply has the misfortune to have been born in the age of digital camera and twitter so the small jokes and fun pictures that get shared are going to be well, everywhere.

Yeah I know she should know it would get out there but who cares? She was having fun, I’m still young enough to remember fun, I liked it. Fun was and is good. It’s a dumb fun picture, no drugs, no sex tape, no drunkenness. Lets all get a life here.

Yeah her politics are a bit off and the direction she thinks the republican party should go is off so what? We’ll address that topic when it is relevant it’s not here, cripes you’d think she was in a girls gone wild video.

Are guys going to look at the shot? YES! Are they going to “admire it” YES! Should she have realized this? Well DUH! Does that make her a slut? Nope!

Now if decide you are going to have a privileged attitude be prepared to be hit for it. That is Kosher and Robert Stacy has fun with it.

Whatever. Meghan McCain not a victim. She the heiress to a fortune and the daughter of a powerful U.S. Senator. She is also spoiled rotten and arrogant, lecturing the world at Tina Brown’s Daily Beast without any more qualification than her family name and an Ivy League diploma.

For someone like that to play the victim card — “Boo hoo hoo! people said mean things about me!” — is absurd, and reminds me of what I wrote at the Green Room today:

Nothing is quite so annoying as fake victimhood: Overprivileged people trying to elicit sympathy in the Oprah Age by claiming they are victimized by something that doesn’t actually harm them at all.

“Sticks and stones,” OK? Grow up.

In fact his is having a LOT of fun with it.

He will doubtless send her thank you notes for the hits he will get from the: Megan McCain boobs, Megan McCain tits, Megan McCain breasts, Megan McCain pics et/al google bombs that will produce a ton of hits for him. Will it match the Mika Brzenzinski bikini pics hits? Perish the thought!

I’m reminded of the line from Happy Days:

Fonz: I have one thing to say to you shortcake, If you put out an advertisement someone is going to answer that ad

Hey she’s a nice looking young girl who has a lot to learn about life, hopefully sooner or later she’s find the right guy and will settle down. If my sons were older I’d recommended them, but until then I have some bits of advice for her:

#1. Hey enjoy life, have fun. I remember fun, fun is good. Enjoy your youth responsibly.

#2 Remember count your blessings, particularly when you have a ton of them, instead of complaining about stuff and people. That makes you seem petty.

#3 If you are going to engage in the market of ideas you have to be prepared to defend them and take the hits. That’s part of the job description. If you can’t do so then find something else you want to do.

and finally

#4 My father always told me this and I’ll repeat it to you:

“Profanity is the attempt of a weak and feeble mind to express itself forcibly”

That should do it.

Profanity for the sake of profanity isn’t cool, particularly from a young lady. (Yes that opinion dates me, I don’t care).