Posts Tagged ‘media bias’

…to my knowledge they still haven’t read the links I suggested. Pat again hit them on the Milwaukee Case, but thanks to The Hermemeutic of Continuity we have yet another good link to offer them.

It is too good to simply quote, they and you should read the whole thing.

It’s as if his pastoral letter when he said this:

6. To the victims of abuse and their families:
You have suffered grievously and I am truly sorry. I know that nothing can undo the wrong you have endured. Your trust has been betrayed and your dignity has been violated. Many of you found that, when you were courageous enough to speak of what happened to you, no one would listen. Those of you who were abused in residential institutions must have felt that there was no escape from your sufferings. It is understandable that you find it hard to forgive or be reconciled with the Church. In her name, I openly express the shame and remorse that we all feel. At the same time, I ask you not to lose hope. It is in the communion of the Church that we encounter the person of Jesus Christ, who was himself a victim of injustice and sin. Like you, he still bears the wounds of his own unjust suffering.

and this:

7. To priests and religious who have abused children

You betrayed the trust that was placed in you by innocent young people and their parents, and you must answer for it before Almighty God and before properly constituted tribunals. You have forfeited the esteem of the people of Ireland and brought shame and dishonour upon your confreres. Those of you who are priests violated the sanctity of the sacrament of Holy Orders in which Christ makes himself present in us and in our actions. Together with the immense harm done to victims, great damage has been done to the Church and to the public perception of the priesthood and religious life.

I urge you to examine your conscience, take responsibility for the sins you have committed, and humbly express your sorrow. Sincere repentance opens the door to God’s forgiveness and the grace of true amendment.

and this:

11. To my brother bishops

It cannot be denied that some of you and your predecessors failed, at times grievously, to apply the long-established norms of canon law to the crime of child abuse. Serious mistakes were made in responding to allegations. I recognize how difficult it was to grasp the extent and complexity of the problem, to obtain reliable information and to make the right decisions in the light of conflicting expert advice. Nevertheless, it must be admitted that grave errors of judgement were made and failures of leadership occurred. All this has seriously undermined your credibility and effectiveness.

This is all from his pastoral letter from two weeks ago that apparently the Morning Joe crowd managed to miss.

Until they bother to try to get, you know facts, rather than the gospel according the the NYT they will be worthy of scorn. As they hit him with Eugene Robinson’s “me too” column (you can find it on the Washington post site, I’m not linking him on this) they display their astounding willful and deliberate ignorance. As for John Heilemann on the “crisis of credibility” I suspect there will never be a time when the Catholic Church does not have a crisis of credibility for him.

If these guys aren’t embarrassed then it’s only because they have lost the capability to do so on this subject.

Do you think that for one minute that MSNBC in general or Morning Joe in particular would have David Frum on if he wasn’t arguing against the Republicans and/or the Tea Parties that he would be prominently featured on Morning Joe?

Note that MSNBC is pushing his article of MARCH 21st. Gee I wonder why MSNBC wants to promote an article from 12 days ago? Could it be that the polls are so depressing for liberals that they need someone like Frum to buck them up?

The Irony of all this comes via hotair in the form of twitter from Frum on the 25th:

@jpfreire @alanarusso @mcmoynihan No, I am not going on Countdown tonight. They kindly invited me, but no. 2:08 PM Mar 25th via TweetDeck

What is the difference between now and then? The amount of invites he is getting these days I suppose.

And a link to this story when Frum takes on those conservatives who didn’t support the war:

The paleoconservatives have chosen — and the rest of us must choose too. In a time of danger, they have turned their backs on their country. Now we turn our backs on them.

Ironically one of those paleoconservatives he was talking about is sitting across the table from him this morning.

His argument seems to be that we should have worked with the democrats on this bill. Although he is correct in the sense that given the choice between having the house and/or the senate or stopping the healthcare bill I would have much rather stopped the bill, his take sounds like “This is a horrible and long term disaster for the country, and we should have helped them to it.” Good Plan!

The only effective way to stop and/or reverse this would be to first take back congress and then take back the presidency in 2012. Unless these two things take place this election cycle this will not be repealed. The odds are still bad but it should be tried.

It is the “David Frum republicans” like Bob “we can’t repeal this” Corker that are doing their darnedest to throw this possibility away.

Mr. From et/al have argued against social conservatism in the party, now he is arguing against the fight on the single biggest fiscal issue.

Maybe it’s just me, but a party that consists of only Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe and Andrew Sullivan just doesn’t sound like one that makes a majority.

Oh BTW did anyone notice that the only time Tucker “he’s not worth $800 a week” Carlson was when he broke a story hitting the GOP? It was a legit story but wishful thinking until the MSM bothers to pick up the actual pro-conservative stories there the daily caller is going to be just a larger than avg blog that preaches to the choir.

Let’s close with one more Frum quote from that article above:

America has social problems; the American family is genuinely troubled. The conservatism of the future must be a social as well as an economic conservatism. But after the heroism and patriotism of 9/11 it must also be an optimistic conservatism.

The easiest way to lose a fight is to not fight it.

Jon Meacham on Morning Joe insisted that the lack of evidence despite people actually filming and recording that somebody called John Lewis a Nigger is totally irrelevant to if it actually happened. He, in his words believes American saint John Lewis. For some reason Andrew Breitbart’s $10,000 (now $100,000) offer to anyone who can prove it not withstanding. Mika to her credit challenged him on that. This produced his statements. Kudos for her.

I wasn’t aware it was the job of an American Journalist to accept things on faith.

I say that the lack of evidence that Jon Meacham is deeply involved in efforts by the planet Vorslat to conquer earth and turn all humans into their sex slaves it totally irrelevant to if it actually happened.

If you want to know why the main stream media is dying, this is it.

…not in terms of entertainment, Willie and Savannah are entertaining, (I really think the show is a good influence on younger journalists in the sense that it keep them from taking themselves too seriously, that will pay dividends, both personal and professional, for decades) but in terms of balance.

Item: The Wet sloppy kiss stuff continues, Pat was outnumbered 3-1 and discussing the poll without not pointing to the skew of the poll sample. It’s not hard to get a 53% approval when you have a 10 point democratic vs republican sample.

Item: They have talked about Sarah Palin only 4-1, O’Donnell gets props for pointing out that without Palin there would not be a strong counter point. Unfortunately for some reason although they’ve talked about her appearing for McCain (calling it uncomfortable). Not a word about the “dozens” in Searchlight.

Item: We are about to have our second hit on the Pope with Pat outnumbered 3-1 this time (Norah O’Donnell has joined the table along with Mark Penn), they are quoting Maureen Dowd, always an unbiased source on the church. O’Donnell is of course talking about “bringing down the church”. Pat brings up yet again that the liberal Milwaukee diocese role and the fact that the case came to the then Cardinal Ratzinger two months before the priest in question died. It was also very dishonest to suggest that the Pope reference to “gossip” was about the abuse in Milwaukee rather than the allegations people are trying to make against him.

It is not quite 8 a.m. yet EST so maybe we will see something different but it would be nice to see at least one more Conservative sitting at that table. I think it can be done without too many MSNBC viewers going Kryten.

Oh boy 8 a.m. and the Kelly O’Donnell joins the table creating as Savannah put it an “O’Donnell sandwich”, (I shudder to think what Stacy & Ace will do with that image.) that will add to the media balance, I do give Kelly full marks for pointed out how the Democrats managed to avoid recess to keep President Bush from doing recess appointments during his last term.

Update: Did I just hear Norah O’Donnell call the tea party people “good hard working Americans”? Did she point out the number of women as leaders? And then she goes and spoils it by repeating the Pope BS. Oh well. You take what I can get.