Posts Tagged ‘morning joe’

Do you think that for one minute that MSNBC in general or Morning Joe in particular would have David Frum on if he wasn’t arguing against the Republicans and/or the Tea Parties that he would be prominently featured on Morning Joe?

Note that MSNBC is pushing his article of MARCH 21st. Gee I wonder why MSNBC wants to promote an article from 12 days ago? Could it be that the polls are so depressing for liberals that they need someone like Frum to buck them up?

The Irony of all this comes via hotair in the form of twitter from Frum on the 25th:

@jpfreire @alanarusso @mcmoynihan No, I am not going on Countdown tonight. They kindly invited me, but no. 2:08 PM Mar 25th via TweetDeck

What is the difference between now and then? The amount of invites he is getting these days I suppose.

And a link to this story when Frum takes on those conservatives who didn’t support the war:

The paleoconservatives have chosen — and the rest of us must choose too. In a time of danger, they have turned their backs on their country. Now we turn our backs on them.

Ironically one of those paleoconservatives he was talking about is sitting across the table from him this morning.

His argument seems to be that we should have worked with the democrats on this bill. Although he is correct in the sense that given the choice between having the house and/or the senate or stopping the healthcare bill I would have much rather stopped the bill, his take sounds like “This is a horrible and long term disaster for the country, and we should have helped them to it.” Good Plan!

The only effective way to stop and/or reverse this would be to first take back congress and then take back the presidency in 2012. Unless these two things take place this election cycle this will not be repealed. The odds are still bad but it should be tried.

It is the “David Frum republicans” like Bob “we can’t repeal this” Corker that are doing their darnedest to throw this possibility away.

Mr. From et/al have argued against social conservatism in the party, now he is arguing against the fight on the single biggest fiscal issue.

Maybe it’s just me, but a party that consists of only Susan Collins and Olympia Snowe and Andrew Sullivan just doesn’t sound like one that makes a majority.

Oh BTW did anyone notice that the only time Tucker “he’s not worth $800 a week” Carlson was when he broke a story hitting the GOP? It was a legit story but wishful thinking until the MSM bothers to pick up the actual pro-conservative stories there the daily caller is going to be just a larger than avg blog that preaches to the choir.

Let’s close with one more Frum quote from that article above:

America has social problems; the American family is genuinely troubled. The conservatism of the future must be a social as well as an economic conservatism. But after the heroism and patriotism of 9/11 it must also be an optimistic conservatism.

The easiest way to lose a fight is to not fight it.

I would really like to see what “experts” are saying the Catholic Church is in turmoil. It is not for nothing that the story has a big correction at its head.

I submit that cafeteria Catholics and the media are seeing and trying to make turmoil where it doesn’t exist. As Bishop Nicholas DiMarzio… said

called upon the priests and people of the Diocese of Brooklyn to stand up with him and “besiege The New York Times. Send a message loud and clear that the Pope, our Church, and bishops and our priests will no longer be the personal punching bag of The New York Times.”

Bishop DiMarzio’s spirited defense of the Holy Father was based on the decision of The New York Times editors to, “Omit significant facts,” and ignore the reality that the Congregation for the Doctrine of the Faith, which Cardinal Ratzinger headed up, did not have competency over Canonical Trials in 1996. Moreover, Bishop DiMarzio continued “…the priest in question, Father Murphy was in the midst of a Canonical Trial. He died before a verdict was rendered.”

via Brutally Honest.

If the media bothered to look they would notice the huge attendance at events like the Catholic men’s conference among Catholics who actually believe and attend mass.

If Catholicism is so weak why was such a fuss made when dissenting nuns supported it? If Catholic opinion doesn’t matter why fund pseudo Catholic groups? In my opinion it is no coincidence that the scandals that struck the church were at their height as the church walked away from traditional practices.

I would suggest going to the Anchoress site and reading the whole thing as opposed to say Morning Joe trumpeting the BS class action case against the pope is a great example of this nonsense propagating the “big lie“:

Which brings us to Crimen sollicitationis. The document was crafted to ensure that if a Catholic were solicited to commit a sexual sin by a priest while going to confession, he or she could denounce that priest without being exposed to public scandal. Sinead O’Connor (and many, many others who have been flogging this particular Big Lie) have it precisely backwards. Crimen sollicitationis was not written to protect sexually abusive priests from punishment; it was written to enable the Church to get to the truth about predatory priests without embarrassing their victims or breaking the seal of confession. In fact, the protections required by Crimen sollicitationis encouraged victims of abuse to come forward. By requiring secrecy of the bishop and priests who handled any complaint about a priest-confessor who was a sexual predator, the Church tried to protect the confidentiality of the confessional and the privacy of the victim, not to prevent the crime from being reported to the police by the victim, who was never under any obligation of secrecy. The appropriate analogy is not to some Mafia-like international criminal conspiracy, but to the secrecy of those newspapers that choose not to print the names of rape victims.

The ignorance of American Catholics concerning their own faith in criminal, ironically foes of the church are using that ignorance to allow the former Bishops in Milwaukee to pass onto the pope their responsibility for turning a blind eye to their own problems.

Any Catholic who uses the New York Times in general and Maureen Dowd in particular as a source for their opinion of their church has real problems. Perhaps if they talked to the actual priest who served as the Judicial Vicar in the Milwaukee case they might learn something, oh sorry the NYT didn’t bother to even ask for an interview.

The fact that I presided over this trial and have never once been contacted by any news organization for comment speaks for itself.

My suggestion to Mika and Barnicle is to read the whole thing until they have done so their comments on the case are simply uninformed gibberish. Perhaps they should try talking to or interviewing Fr. Thomas Brundage themselves before they jump on the Dowd bandwagon.

Update: I of course meant the “Dowd” bandwagon rather than the “Down” in the last sentence. I’ve corrected it.

Jon Meacham on Morning Joe insisted that the lack of evidence despite people actually filming and recording that somebody called John Lewis a Nigger is totally irrelevant to if it actually happened. He, in his words believes American saint John Lewis. For some reason Andrew Breitbart’s $10,000 (now $100,000) offer to anyone who can prove it not withstanding. Mika to her credit challenged him on that. This produced his statements. Kudos for her.

I wasn’t aware it was the job of an American Journalist to accept things on faith.

I say that the lack of evidence that Jon Meacham is deeply involved in efforts by the planet Vorslat to conquer earth and turn all humans into their sex slaves it totally irrelevant to if it actually happened.

If you want to know why the main stream media is dying, this is it.

…on Morning Joe. I presume he hasn’t read this post either.