Posts Tagged ‘War on Terror’

I know I’m beating a dead horse here, but never forget that in a representative republic we always get the government we deserve.

We as a nation let ourselves be taken and voted for President Obama when his voting record, beliefs etc were all out there. In an information age we decided to ignore the info.

Conservatives sat on their hands and decided to teach the republican party a lesson, well here is a lesson for you, congress will still get first rate health care, it is you conservatives who decided that John McCain was too liberal who will see your care change, but you are not alone. You republicans who considered Sarah Palin’s populism so bad for the country that nothing could be worse, try socialized medicine on a grand scale.

David Frum’s idiocy
not withstanding (I guess he hasn’t recovered from the free beer party at CPAC yet) only the conservative Tea Party movement prevented this lemon from passing a year ago but even that awakening is likely not going to be enough to make the difference.

As a nation we elected these people to make our laws. As a nation we will live and die (literally in this case) with this decision. We are responsible and we are going to pay.

Like other great changes it will take a generation for the full impact to be seen but it will be, and our current issues with the healthcare system will be a walk in the park compared to this.

Update: I disagree with Phil Klein. I don’t blame Bush. His primary issue and duty was victory in the war and he provided it. I suspect that a lot of the reason he let some of this spending through was to provide victory in the war.

With Iraq safely won it is easy to through rocks and George Bush, but let me tell you, although I don’t think this will be repealed it is a lot better to have a bad bill to repeal than to have to recover from a lost war.

He wrote the op-ed demolishing the fallacious John Adams analogy that the left has been using concerning Gitmo etc when I just thinking about writing about it:

For starters, Adams was a British subject at the time he took up their representation. The Declaration of Independence had not yet been signed, and there was no United States of America. The British soldiers were Adams’ fellow countrymen — not foreign enemies of the state at war with his country.

as for the 6th amendment argument

the Sixth Amendment “guarantees the accused — that means somebody who has been indicted or otherwise charged with a crime — a right to counsel. But that right only exists if you are accused, which means you are someone the government has brought into the civilian criminal justice system (emphasis mine) and lodged charges against.”

Or to put it another way, during the war when not in formal negotiation with England John Adams actions when in the presence of officers of the crown consisted of shooting his musket at them and convincing others to do the same. It doesn’t surprise me that the left twists Adams to their own ends, then again I suspect John Adams would not recognize the contortions that the Massachusetts supreme court has put the Constitution he wrote for our state through either.

Let hope Lawrence O’Donnell was not near any sharp objects when he read Marc’s piece.

Today we are going to start a new feature called around the blogroll where we take a look at three posts from blogs on my blogroll:

At Adrienne’s Corner (It will always be Adrienne’s Catholic Corner to me) she has the: “Are you a Democrat, Republican or a Redneck?” test:

You’re walking down a deserted street with your wife and two small children.

Suddenly, an Islamic Terrorist with a huge knife comes around the corner, locks eyes with you, screams obscenities, praises Allah, raises the knife, and charges at you.

You are carrying a Colt 1911 cal. 45 ACP, and you are an expert shot.

You have mere seconds before he reaches you and your family

What do you do?

Even my wife found it funny and she hates politics and blogs (Good thing she likes me more).

HotMES goes after that abomination called Jersey Shore:

These kids are such chumps I don’t even know what to say half the time. The guys think that they represent what it means to be Italian? That’s the worst joke I’ve ever heard. I know plenty of Italians and they don’t consider tans and hair gel as representative of their heritage. The best part about the show was when that one girl, who I find to be repulsive on too many levels to list, gets punched in the face.

I don’t know who raised these idiots but if they are not ashamed of themselves the ought to be. They wouldn’t last 5 minutes with my Sicilian mother, she’d straighten them out.

and finally Riehl World View also focuses on New Jersey but with a more substantive issue, namely the old Raaaaacist cry being directed at Tea Party People in Bob Menendez’s name:

several prominent NJ Democrats are playing the race card, actually labeling the movement as raaaacist. This is an issue for Menendez now. If he doesn’t step up, denounce these statements and tell NJ Democrats to chill, he may soon find himself the target of Tea Party and grassroots activists from around the country, not just his home state!

There are no more motivated voters these days than the tea party guys. Menendez goes after them at their peril and it will end badly for him.

Tune in tomorrow for another look at the blogs I look at.

But I’ve met Pam Geller, one of the most fearless foes of Jihad there is. I’ve met the people she has associated with and I’ve seen what they have gone through to protest us.

Beck has the right to his opinion but Pam knows the facts and I trust her.

However Stacy bottom lines it best:

If the protesters against Wilders are “anti-fascist,” then what does that make Wilders? He’s a “fascist” in the same sense that Mark Steyn is a fascist — which is to say, someone the Left hates.

Yup that’s about it.

If Fox is suppressing the video that mean they know they just walked into a minefield. Will any other cable network take advantage?