Archive for the ‘culture’ Category

A few days ago I attended the 1st Mass of Canon Edward Turner of the Institute of Christ the King Sovereign Priest who was ordained in Rome on July 4th as a Catholic priest.

The Mass was a solemn high mass of the 1962 rite held at St John the Guardian of our lady Parish at St. John the Evangelist Church in Clinton Ma.  I had been invited by his mother who I know from Eucharist Adoration at my parish and attended with my wife.  It’s one of the most visually incredible churches in the area and was the perfect setting for the type of mass we were attending for the 1st time.

It was a very long mass, done entirely in Latin chant with a full Gregorian choir singing responses.  Only the homily and some remarks by Bishop McManus near the end were in English and when the two hours plus of the mass were complete it took another full hour for all who wished to gain the plenary indulgence granted by decree from Rome to receive the personal blessing of Canon Turner at the alter rail.

Now given the title of this post you might ask:  DaTechGuy, what does a very long Latin mass have to do with Election 2020, Donald Trump or even optimism?  Well the answer comes from something my wife said to me while there.

The church was not only packed but it was packed with large families this post and I don’t mean cousins etc, I mean moms and dads with five six and seven young kids.  The people sitting in front of us had seven and my wife noted not only the number of such kids but her amazement at how well behaved they all were during a two hour service in a language that I presume most of them don’t know well.

Then I remembered the story about the Hippie dippy parish in Portland Oregon that’s so upset that their new black pastor is God forbid is doing the sacrifice of the mass (the regular mass not the Latin mass btw) as it is rather than as they want it.  What I most remembered about the story was thumbnail of the protesters in this video

Not a kid or even a young person in sight! That’s the image of the dying liberal orders not only in the church but everywhere. How many prominent liberals can you think of with even TWO kids?

Now you might see a lot of big liberal in the news and talked about on social media but they never have a large brood with them do they?

In contrast how many of you are hearing about this mass and the people at it for the 1st time from me?

Now think of election 2020 and President Donald Trump, think of the states he won, think of the successes he is having, think of the extra money in your pocket, look at all the “help wanted” signs everywhere and ponder how hard the MSM tried to suppress that news and their current attempts to create a recession out of the whole cloth.

Don’t you think people working now who weren’t working before will notice?

Or consider all those who reluctantly voted for Trump, how many of those people seeing what he did on Life, on the courts on taxes can’t wait to vote for him the 2nd time around.

Also consider all those the left is trying to intimidate. What do you think will happen once they are in a voting booth with nobody to see them?

And don’t forget the left can’t just hold what they have, they have to expand what they got last time, sure they’ll be stealing more votes since they know they need them but Trump isn’t an establishment republican, he’s a street fighter and he’ll be ready for it.

And you expect me to be worried?

OK in fairness once Trump is out of office I expect to see some hard times, but hard times are not the end times. Think of the last century. We had the 1st world war, world war 2, the cold war, epidemics that killed tens of thousands and yet Evangelicals are worried about the end times based on the last few years, Seriously?

Are there reasons to be worried about the future, of course. The Devil and the left always fight hardest when they’re in trouble and I’d not be surprised to see some horrible violent things come out of the left post Trump or even during a Trump 2nd term.

But I remember that mass and know one thing, in 20 years all those kids at that Mass and many like them will have grown up and perhaps started to have kids of their own vastly outnumbering their counterparts on the left while a lot of those liberal baby boomers will not.

Perhaps i’ll still be here to see it perhaps not but to our evangelical friends who are so worried about the future I would remind them that, as Mark Steyn says the future belongs to those who show up.

That’s why I’m certain that future will be glorious.

As a general rule it’s not a good idea to blame others for the actions of an individual.  For example when Maurice Hill decided to shoot a bunch of police coming to arrest him, it was likely not a political statement on police, had nothing to do with folks like Senators Kamala Harris or Elizabeth Warren falsely claiming the Michael Brown was murdered by a policeman, and did not originate from the general attempt by the left to paint police officers as dangerous oppressors of blacks in America both on the campaign trail and on the various cable news stations.

However they DO own the fact that as a matter of policy Mr. Hill was in a position to commit these shootings as Stacy McCain explains:

Two years ago, left-wing billionaire George Soros wrote a $1.45 million check to Larry Krasner’s campaign for district attorney of Philadelphia. This is a gigantic sum to spend on a local election, and enabled Krasner to defeat six rivals in the 2017 Democrat primary, then coast to a landslide victory in the general election. Krasner ran as the anti-police candidate, and has made it his official policy to turn dangerous criminals loose on the streets of Philadelphia. One of the beneficiaries of Krasner’s policies, Maurice Hill, had an extensive criminal record — drug charges, aggravated assault, perjury, fleeing and eluding, escape and weapons offenses — before he engaged in a shootout Wednesday in North Philadelphia that wounded six cops.

When you have a policy of not enforcing the law, folks like Mr. Hill are on the streets breaking it with impunity.  The US attorney’s office had something to say on the matter that is quoted by both Stacy & Ace:

The alleged shooter last night, Maurice Hill, is a previously convicted felon with a long rap sheet. We have plenty of criminal laws in this City — but what we don’t have is robust enforcement by the District Attorney. Instead, among other things, we have diversionary programs for gun offenses, the routine downgrading of charges for violent crime, and entire sections of the criminal code that are ignored.

The criminal laws in this City — and especially the existing gun laws and drug laws — should be aggressively enforced in order to protect the public and the police. My Office is doing all that we can. We have prosecuted 70% more violent crime cases this year than we did last year, in response to the District Attorney’s lawlessness. But it is now time for the District Attorney and his enablers to stop making excuses for criminals. It is time for accountability. It is time to support law enforcement and to put the good people of this City first.

Now it doesn’t matter that George Soros spent a fortune on this DA’s race, the people of Philadelphia could have rejected him and his policies and voted GOP however the last republican mayor of Philly left office in 1952 more than a decade before I was born.

So the Democrats own this city, they own it’s DA, they own its Mayor and they own the Policies that made sure Maurice Hill was not behind bars.  And they certainly own the folks who were riding the police during the standoff while Hill was shooting them.

Two closing thoughts.

Democrat candidates for president will do their best to ignore this event on the stump and during interviews as it not only undercuts their gun control message (imagine a criminal illegally having a gun!) but forces them to thread the needle of “Cops are killers and oppressors” which is the message that their radical base wants to hear and “our hearts go out to the families of the wounded officers” which the still sane parts of the party and swing voters would demand of them.  Much easier to let the story die.

If I’m Donald Trump I bring this up at every single rally and every single stop to make sure the story doesn’t die.  I’d force them to try to thread that needle every single day.

I’m completely confused.

When leftists were harassing people like Sarah Huckabee Sanders instead of universal condemnation there were huge debates on TV justifying these actions.

People well known to the public, people in media, in entertainment and who hold office were out there suggesting that she had it coming and that such people were to be driven out of the public square.

Now apparently these same rules that the folks on the left have been proudly advancing are being used on Chris Cuomo and suddenly people are shocked SHOCKED that such a thing could happen when a man is out with his wife and daughter.

As Kurt Schlichter said apparently the left doesn’t like the new rules they’ve propagated, frankly neither do I but I’m a Jacksonian so until these rules are no longer applied to folks on the right, folks on the left should not expect to eat a meal in public in peace.

As I said, I think these rules suck, I further think that such a person bugging a man out with his wife and kids is an ass and a disgrace and that if Cuomo or any person in such a situation felt that his family was in physical danger, he or she would be justified to use force, even deadly force to protect them.

But if a guy’s just being an ass, then as long as these new rules are in effect then Cuomo and anyone else on the left needs to be willing to take it and has no business complaining about them.

Of course if they are willing to drop these new rules and go back to the idea that people should act with civility, even to their political foes, and call off their thugs then I’ll happily agree to suggest the same.

Closing thought, I understand that Chris Cuomo played the race card equating “Fredo” as a racial slur against Italians equal to the the use of “nigger” as a racial slur against blacks (I don’t play these “N-word” games). I find the comparison incredibly offensive on two levels.

Firstly there is a long history of dehumanization, murder and oppression associated with the word in question when directed toward not just American blacks but black folk worldwide.  To equate hundreds of years of Murder and oppression associated with this phrase with being tagged with the name of a character in a movie from the 70’s by some ass in a restaurant is so asinine so tone deaf and frankly so beyond the pale that I can hardly believe any sane person would attempt to make such a comparison and am shocked that the black community is not up in arms over it.

Secondly and personally offensive to me, is Cuomo is an Italian American, so am I.  I’ve spent all my life around Italian Americans and I have never in my entire life seen any Italian so weak as to whine at being called a name.  Since when does any Italian give a damn what any non-Italian thinks of him?  Since when do we wilt and cry “racism”?  I’ve never seen any Italian I know be so craven. but in fairness most of the Italians I know are Sicilians and we don’t bend to anyone except God.

What a disgrace to the Italian race!

The AG has ordered an investigation of the death of Jeffrey Epstein. Thanks to James Comey and the Obama administration almost nobody trusts the government to conduct an honest one.

—————-

In a thread on Twitter Popehat made a pretty good point about incompetence in organization in order to counter those like me who assume Mr. Epstein was murdered. I must confess that any argument that presupposes the incompetence of those who work for government is a pretty strong one.

———————

While it might be the right financial decision for the shareholders for Universal to scarp the move Hunt I don’t like it. My thought was let the movie be released and let those who don’t want to see it not go to it, but then again my concern is the 1st amendment not profit here.

————————-

There has been a lot of shock and snide comments about a lioness eating her newborn cubs in a zoo in Germany. I’m not shocked at animals acting like animals, I’m only shocked when supposedly civilized people do.

—————————

Finally I noticed this piece at bearing arms

I know with God all things are possible but I’m not sure it includes the MSM promoting this story.