Posts Tagged ‘2010 elections’

…has been sworn in.

Just got back from the Alamo restaurant where I met a friend and mentor from my first computer job for lunch.

The food is good, not as spicy as I’m used to, but the portions were generous and the people pleasant and the ambiance enjoyable particular for a history buff. The tacos were less spicy but had a generous portion of meat and the Fajita was very tasty. I still prefer the Boarder Grille and Bar but I’d eat there again without hesitation.

During that very late lunch I told my friend the entire story of Stacy’s week here in Fitchburg. He was totally fascinated by it.

And then he told me about his Polling place in Sharon Mass. He is a very liberal man in a very liberal town that ended up going for Coakley. He and his wife shake their head when they know I watch Fox and listen to Rush:

When he went to the polling place there were a bunch of Brown supporters in the cold holding signs for their candidate.

There were a pile of Coakley signs leaning against the building facing down.

He was VERY surprised at the Brown win he couldn’t believe that he could pull it off. When I asked him if that’s because he thought democrats would turn out or because he thought it would be stolen if it was close, he demurred saying he thought national democrats wouldn’t allow it. Make of that what you will.

Because of the long story and a train cutting across Rte 117 on the way home I didn’t get to see the Brown swearing in on TV.

But now comes the time to govern. If he does so honestly and above board and makes sure people understand why he takes the positions he does, he will do fine.

Update: Oh and Robert Stacy is on the road again.

Yes, that’s right, folks. Despite the law-enforcement dragnet across Virginia and Tennessee — “Be on the lookout for a black 2004 KIA Optima . . .” – I have arrived at an undisclosed location in Birmingham. Political intrigue and shenanigans are afoot down here in God’s country, and I’ll be updating regularly.

While en route — 785 miles in 15 hours, including a two-hour nap in the car this morning at a rest area near Bristol, Tenn. – I had several phone conversations with Alabama political activists. I’m learning more about the scandals swirling around state attorney general Troy King. A parade of King’s aides have been called before a federal grand jury, and the “Truth On Troy” blog has more.

Down in the Wiregrass Country (2nd Congressional District), Tea Party candidate and Marine Corp veteran Rick Barber slammed the Obama administration’s proposal to repeal “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell.”

I met Rick Barber during the Brown campaign, he was up north volunteering to help out. He seems a decent enough fellow. I’d have no problem voting for him. I’m not familar with his opponents in the primary to make a judgement on them.

After all if Jay Nordlinger can be so insulted what’s to stop him? And will his listeners be ready to believe? After all he is appearing at a teaparty and appearing for a Republican!

Then again a man who has faced down actual evil and repression is unlikely to be intimidated by the likes of a MSNBC host.

Some things are worth repeating. Particularly when you see stories like this:

The White House is evaluating whether to take a breather on health care or try to push for passing legislation, but is not convinced Massachusetts voters were trying to block health insurance reform by voting last week to send Republican Scott Brown to the U.S. Senate, Press Secretary Robert Gibbs said Sunday. emphasis mine.

Oh really? Lets take the wayback machine to Aug 17th of last year:

Unless he knows about a special election that the rest of us don’t there are still only 40 Republican votes in the senate and the house has a very large democratic majority. Republicans can’t kill any bill the democrats are willing to pass.

What Mr. Carville wants is cover for his members and the ability to share the blame. If his people really believed this was the right thing to do they would do it. They want cover for this lemon, the Republicans won’t give it so he is trying to make lemonade.

Ironically 9 days later Ted Kennedy was dead and I wrote:

I think that Joe Kennedy or another one of the clan will be put in at that time, I can’t see them risking an election as the environment has never been better for a Republican.

I was wrong about Joe but righter about the environment than I knew.

At the end of August it was noted:

Anyone who thinks that blue dog house members are going to protect their seats by voting in memory of Ted Kennedy is insane…so naturally the New York Times and Washington Post will likely think so.

But the actual congressmen are not that stupid, they know their districts and can count. In 14-15 months Kennedy will still be dead, but the voters who oppose Obamacare will still be alive and voting.

And what is the story today?

Arkansas Rep. Marion Berry is expected to announce his retirement tomorrow morning, according to three sources briefed on the decision.

Berry will become the sixth Democrat in a competitive seat to leave in the last two months but the first to announce his retirement since the party’s special election loss in Massachusetts last Tuesday.

These blue dog dems see the writing on the wall and are heading for the hills. The only reason they were able to get the votes in November was the combination of Stupak (for pro-life cover) and the argument that the bill could be amended in conference. When the initial bill passed the House the last line of my oft updated post was:

Congratulations to the Republican Party for their almost certain election victory coming in 2010.

In the Senate it took breaking rules to get the bill passed (by exactly 60 votes) before Christmas.

And yet last night on his radio show I heard Jimmy Myers say this:

Scott Brown’s election will not stop a Healthcare bill. Healthcare is not dead. Republicans passed all kinds of bills with 55 votes in the Bush years (this is a paraphrase I was driving and couldn’t write it down exactly)

Let me say it one more time:

The democrats KNOW both health care bills are Lemons that serve their own special interests groups over the people they claim to be helping. If they thought for one moment that these bills were good or the country and/or a political winner, they would have passed them and eagerly took the full credit.

If it wasn’t for their initial desire to give the president a victory it never would have managed an initial vote. Now that the president’s numbers are nosediving political survival has overridden President Obama’s needs. Anyone who thinks Nancy Pelosi is going to give up her decreasing chance to retain the speakership for this president is delusional.

As long as Republicans stay united and realize that the worm has turned and the WhiteHouse doesn’t discover my unsaid strategy this is not only going nowhere, but every day they keep this in the news they undercut themselves politically and emphasize their own impotency.

Update: Allahpundit is wrong, Gingrich should know better than this.

Update: And another one bites the dust:

Delaware Attorney General Beau Biden, son of Vice President Joe Biden, e-mailed supporters on Monday morning to say that he will not seek his father’s Senate seat.

Barack Obama is the gift that keeps on giving…to republicans.

But don’t worry democrats; Mr. Sullivan insists you pay no attention to the failures of the man behind the teleprompter.

Brockton: Talked to a voter: Very long lines at the polls, an even split between Brown and Coakley signs and people holding them.

Revere: My contact tells me that Brown is the subject on everyone lips. Martha is not. He informs me that for a Republican candidate to generate this much buzz in the city is unknown.

Jamaica Plain: Looking solidly for Martha.

Talked to a gentleman from Boston who voted for Brown, he has known the family for years and is delighted with the candidate, I asked if he would have considered voting republican if another candidate with Brown’s positions had been running. He was not sure, but he expressed no excitement for Coakley.

Update: 2nd report from Leominister from a different polling location. Long lines of voters no Coakley signs, several people holding signs for Brown.

Grafton: Strong Republican town and tonight will be no different, voters excited that they will be making a difference.

Randolph: Normally strong democratic, trending Brown, “she is not personable”

WBUR and the Globe report that the Coakley campaign is alleging fraud. I’m so glad I wasn’t drinking when I heard about that.

Talking to Carl Cameron from Fox now about what we have both seen. Barney Frank loudly proclaimed Ms. Coakley’s faults across the room with no attempt to keep anyone from hearing. This doesn’t happen when you have a chance to win.

Leominster again: Two different precincts. For the first time I have reports of Coakley people holding signs, at City hall it is dead even, at ward 4 one more Coakley person that for Brown. And a heads up to the Right Wing Gammer these are reports from guys you know.

South Boston: Not a sign in the window for either candidate, told that if this was a Kennedy Election there would be no question what would be happening. Southie being Southie people are not saying it aloud when I asked a man in a bar this morning (1:20 a.m.) who he supported, another fellow next to him told me it was none of my business although he used more “colorful” language however the people who have talked to me suggest it will be going Brown.

7:59 p.m. The crowd is just dying for 8 p.m. I’m wondering how fast the media will call it.

8:01 p.m. I think the lack of sleep is finally starting to hit me, I think I’ve had less than 14 hours sleep since Friday.

The main web guy is talking in front of me all about what they did right on the web.

8:12 p.m. I hate to disappoint my pal in Leominster who insisted that the “Brown Vote Fraud” nonsense was real but this report puts the kibosh on what I already laughed about. Wishful thinking on the media’s part doesn’t make it so.

8:15 p.m. The food was pretty good and the band is very loud, these people are having a lot of fun.

8:21 p.m. How loud is the band? I have ear candy in my ears, Dr Who the Mutant Phase playing and I can’t hear it over the band, on the plus side the Band is pretty good.

8:25 p.m. BTW did I forget to mention that I was introduced to Pam Geller a couple of hours ago (charming lady) and that Ace of Spades grabbed a spot between me and Dan.?

8:38 p.m. Net went down snarfing a nearby one. I normally wouldn’t do that, but I just interviewed Scott Brown’s brother Bruce and I want to get it it up.

8:57 p.m. Net is back up but believe it or not it was down while I questioned Scott’s brother Bruce and then Mitt Romney.

8:58 p.m. The crowd is cheering for a 5 point lead so far, I can’t get excited for something that I’ve already decided has happened.

8:59 p.m. I asked Gov Romney if the republicans can exploit the victory tonight, he didn’t like the word exploit but said that republicans can win if they support lower taxes, less government blah blah blah… Reasked the question saying how do we make this Berlin 1991 instead of Hungary 1958, same generic answer, before I could press on how to recruit candidates etc the national media started to swarm.

9:02 p.m. I asked about the dangers of the exceptions game due to the victory (that I’ve already claimed has happened we just don’t “know” it yet) he maintains that Scott is down to earth enough to not over promise and has the willingness to work very hard to achieve the goals he has set.